currently.

{note: this is an update post on my ridiculously crazy life. all of my creative energy seems to be spent on polishing my novel and, well, you’ll see. i’ll be back with thought-out posts soon, i promise.}

reading: Gemina by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff. I’m like a third of the way through it, but still feeling “meh” about it because no one told me that it doesn’t have the characters from Illuminae in it. So I’m slightly irritated. Next on the list are Ready Player One, This Savage Song, and Wonder. Oh, and I’m also reading Before You Meet Prince Charming. *sigh* If you follow me on Goodreads, you already know my thoughts on it, but, to sum up, I’m pretty “meh” about this, too. The ideas in this book are so close to truth (and some of them are), but then they’re taken to the extreme. (For instance, did you know that “watching TV is like dating the world”? I quoted that verbatim – you can find it in the book yourself if you don’t believe me.) So yeah. My thoughts on that book will probably take at least one post, so look forward to that at some point when I’m done slogging my way through this book.

watching: Band of Brothers. Oh. My. Gosh. So amazing. It’s now one of my favorite war movies (or mini-series, I guess). I was so emotional on July 4th this year because my siblings and I watched that, and then Hacksaw Ridge, the week before. Talk about feels. I’m also watching a few of Chris Evans’s lesser-known movies, and they’re great! My sibs & I also watched Robin Hood: Men In Tights for the first time the other night (the first in our Mel Brooks marathon), and I loved it! Speaking of marathons, I’m also on a John Hughes kick as well. The Breakfast Club is one of my favorite movies now, and I can’t wait to watch the rest of his films. I watched Sixteen Candles the other night and marveled at the fact that the director of Spider-Man: Homecoming (another EXCELLENT film, btw; definitely a favorite as well) wanted to give Homecoming a Hughes feel, so the cast had a marathon one day. The result is pretty obvious!

listening: Anything by AJR (esp “Weak” & “Come Hang Out”) and Jon Bellion (esp “Maybe IDK” & “Human”). I’m obsessed with both. I’ve also been on an Idina Menzel kick lately because I saw her in concert on Saturday night and I’m still not over it. She’s amazing, y’all. Towards the end, she sang the beginning of “For Good” without a mic or accompaniment, and it was flawless. Literal queen. If/Then is a current go-to soundtrack if I need something fun to listen to (provided I skip some feelsy songs that make me cry).

writing: The Art of Letting Go, obvs. I’m still working through my beta-readers’ critiques, and it’s actually been going VERY well. The fourth draft (post-critiques) is better than anything I ever thought I could write, and that’s 100% due to my amazing readers who have given me feedback and helped me shape it into something amazing. Someone even went so far as to give me nine pages full of questions to answer, and that’s making the most impact. (You know who you are and I love you.) Also, recent events have gotten me PUMPT for my next novel (Pinterest board to be revealed soon *cue fanfare music*), so I’m pretty psyched about that.

celebrating: OH and I got my first rejection letter the other day, so that was actually pretty great. I got myself some ice cream after I got the email (which was so sweet, btw!). I was a little disappointed, sure, but I was more excited than anything else. After all, an actual agent read the first ten pages of my novel, and if that’s not cool, I don’t know what is. (Well, having someone actually ask for the whole thing would be pretty cool, too, but we’ll cross that bridge when we come to it.)

working: I’ve had some pretty extensive time off my nannying job this month, so I filled it first with going to my grandparents’ house for a week with my cousins (we had a Clue night where we dressed as the characters as we played the game, and it was a highlight of my life). I also did a temp job as a saleswoman that I absolutely fell. in. love. with (and may or may not have applied for a full-time position because I loved it so much), so that was pretty cool. The pay ain’t too shabby, either. Plus, that incredibly adult feeling of being a productive member of society and having a purpose and something worthy to fill the day with was pretty great, too.

acting: Oh and I’m in a play. That’s been the biggest thing that’s happened lately and it’s honestly filling my life with so much joy. It’s a kids play at a local theatre, and one of my best friends is in it, so I went about a month ago to listen to her read and ended up being given a part after someone dropped out. Long story short, tech week starts tonight and we open on Friday. After wanting to be in a play for literally ten years, it’s so amazing to finally have it happen, even if it’s a play for kids. (Which is even better because experience is experience!) I’m bonding with all of these amazing people and it’s been so much fun. I’m already dreading closing night! (My life has revolved around theatre lately and I don’t hate it. Saturday, I went to rehearsal, then came home, took a nap, and then went to see Idina. Then, Sunday, I hung out with friends who were in town before seeing my brother steal the show as the Tin Man in a local production of The Wizard of Oz before bringing another friend home to work on makeup for our show! Like I said, theatre life isn’t too bad.)

So, yeah. All of my creative juices seem to be taken up by this novel and this play. I swear I’ll be back soon with posts more worthy of your time (and less self-focused, GOSH, but I wanted to tell you guys all of these things that didn’t warrant entire posts), but for right now, I’ve gotta go back to writing before leaving for rehearsal early to find some glittery eyeliner and snake tattoos!

26 thoughts on “currently.

  1. Hello ❀ I've been lowkey "stalking" your blog for…six months or so now? But I'm really excited about the posts I've read because a) I'm also starting College Plus/Lumerit this September and looking at a Humanities degree b) I've also been in that dark place of 'the world is going to hell in a handbasket and Denim Skirts Only If You Please' and c) also a writer xp and d) did you happen to be the One Year Adventure Novel forum by any chance? There was someone named Eowyn on there at one point, but she aged out at twenty before I got a chance to meet her. and e) your posts on changing convictions. -bless-
    .

    • Hello! So glad to hear from you! I stalk people a lot, too, so it’s always fun to hear from someone who also does it. 😝 (a) Yay! Let me know if you have any questions on specific courses! (b) LOL yes (c) COOL! *high five* (d) Mayyyyyybe? I know I did a swashbuckling pirate OYAN that had something to do w a map leading to the lost scrolls of the library at Alexandria, but I can’t remember if I ever posted on the forum… HMMM… (e) Aww thank you!!! ❀️

  2. I’ve been hearing so much about Ready Play One. It’s like it’s calling to me.
    YAY for rejection letters!! The best advice I ever got (this was my acting teacher) was to celebrate your small successes- if you nail an audition, celebrate. Not just if you nail the role or achieve success- celebrate when you’ve done well, when you’re proud of something you’ve done. I love love love that advice.
    AND IDINA SINGING FOR GOOD?!?!!? My heart ❀️

    • Apparently it’s pretty good! I think I’m gonna start it this week. Yay! Thanks!!! And yes – it was AMAZING. Truly a once-in-a-lifetime experience.

  3. Your life is so exciting and fun right now and I’m so pumped for you! I can’t deny I’m most excited about the fact you’re still reading Before you meet Prince Charming and please please please for those of us who haven’t read it, include all the cringey quotes in your inevitable rant about it!!! πŸ˜‰πŸ˜
    PS you’ll totally rock in that play, I know it πŸ‘

      • The job will come! Took me 10 months after finishing my degree to find a full time position in what I actually studied and it was clearly through God (literally no other explanation fits) so keep applying for positions because He has it planned out πŸ™‚

  4. YOU SAW IDINA IN CONCERT!!!!??? #sojealous I didn’t find out until Sunday that she was even in the area. 😣

    Thanks for the update on life for you. Moving makes it hard to meet up (we need to fix this SOON!).

    Before You Meet Prince Charming……… ah, I remember reading this during high school. I’ll echo your ‘meh’. It was ok, but I’ve learned to read such books and take their advice with a grain of salt. Every one is different, and therefore, every circumstance is different.

    • I did! It was so much fun. I’ll have to show you my pictures & videos whenever I see you again!

      Thanks for reading it! I AGREE! Movie night/sleepover soon?

      Yessss. Same. I never really agreed with it to begin with, but I wasn’t about to tell anyone. (Completely agree w the grain of salt thing. Now Sarah is in her late 30s or early 40s and still unmarried!)

  5. Hello Ashley! (It’s so weird, because I have a sister with that name. :P)
    Confession time: I’ve been reading your blog for… uh… probably over a year now? And no, never once commented, I don’t think. *hides* So I’ll step out of the shadows. πŸ˜‰ I flutter around the blogosphere by the name of Miss Meg (March) but I don’t have a blog myself. (At least, not yet.) I’m 16, an Australian, an ENFJ, home schooler and a Christian. My 3 biggest passions are musical theatre, reading and writing (or you could just squish the last two together into ‘literature’ and make it 2). I find your posts are insightful and happy, and that’s why I keep coming back. Especially your beliefs about Christianity, courting vs. dating etc, and allll the stuff that goes with it. (I’ve certainly had my fill of books like “Before You Meet Prince Charming” and theological books and teachings that make me cringe.) I love to see that girls are asking questions and actually thinking about what they’re being taught. And I don’t mean to say that in a condescending way (you are quite a bit older than I, anyway!) but I’ve just been frustrated at how many girls DON’T want to talk about Deep Stuff and push to know the truth about what THEY believe.
    Anyways, rant over. πŸ˜› Lemme talk about your post now!

    I kind of really want to see Hacksaw Ridge, although apparently it was pretty violent?? I saw Dunkirk last week. Wowww. I’m so thankful I don’t have to go to war.

    Oh, you saw Idina Menzel?! COOL!! I’m jealous. (Although I would be 110% more jealous if you saw Laura Osnes. *siiigh*)

    I hope you get your story published!!! I’d definitely be interested in reading it.

    I think it’s neat that you are actually going to be in a play – I ssoooo want to do that!! But alas, I can’t drive myself yet (working on it) and also, I’m not sure how my parents would feel about my doing it by myself, and I don’t know anyone who would be interested in doing it with me. *sniffles* Right now, I’ve improvised and written my own plays to suit the number and abilities of the actors/actresses we have (which is a total of three – myself and younger sister and younger brother), and perform them in front of my family. It’s one of the most embarrassing + fun things I’ve done yet. (Why is it so much scarier when you do it in front of people you know??) Also, I’m so curious as to what your play would be if it involves snake tattoos and glittery eyeliner, haha.

    • Nice to meet you! Always glad to hear from my readers, especially if they’ve been hiding in the shadows for a while. ☺️ Do you follow Eva on Coffee, Classics, and Craziness? I might’ve seen you there… Anywho, awesome! If you make a blog, send me the link! I just met an Australian reader. And I’m an ENFJ too!!! *jump high five* And I used to be homeschooled too. We have all 3 passions in common! *jump high five again* Aww that’s so sweet of you to say! Thanks for coming back to hear all the crazy things I have to say. 😝 (SAME.) Me too! I love talking about deep things with my friends. I definitely thought about it when I was younger, but I didn’t want to “rebel” against it bc I disagreed with it. (I’ll go into that more in a massive courtship post – or series, probably – I’m planning.)

      Hacksaw Ridge is definitely the most graphic movie I’ve ever seen. It looked SO real. I haven’t seen Dunkirk yet (WANT TO, THOUGH), so I can’t compare, but yeah. Same.

      I diiiiddddd. Highlight of my life. (And yeah I met Laura Osnes once too. ☺️)

      Me too! Thanks!!!

      It’s been SO much fun. I just got back from rehearsal & took off my green makeup. I’m feeling very Elphaba. XD That’s so fun! You should definitely find a local theatre & audition! Aww that’s awesome! I used to do that too. (And I think it’s scarier bc the people you know – esp your fam – is honest about what they think. Plus, you’ll see them again after the play, as opposed to strangers.) Ha! It’s called Beauty of the Century, and it’s about a beauty pageant for monsters. We’ve got Grindel (the monster from Beowulf), a Yeti, Bigfoot, the Hunchback of Norte Dame, and Little Bo Peep (who’s a monster bc she lost her sheep *gasp*). I’m playing one of Medusa’s Gorgon sisters, Stheno. I get to glare at people & act bored the entire time. It’s super fun. ☺️ The tattoos were for our arms (although we ended up going with tons of real bracelets & rings & earrings & a glittery necklace), and the eyeliner is so we look like sea serpents. It’s coming along really well!

      • I only JUST followed Eva – I hang around Naomi’s blog “Wonderland Creek” a lot, and I think I’ve seen you there a few times? I’m not sure. We’ve probably seen each other somewhere. XD

        Oh, you’re an ENFJ too?!!! NEAT! *jump high-fives back*

        Wait, what?! YOU MET LAURA OSNES ONCE?!!!! WHAAAAAAAATTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT?!!!!?!?!?!?!?!?!? PLEASE TELL. For what show? Very long ago? Did you actually get to MEET her? What was she like? Oh wow, I’m SO jealous. πŸ˜›

        “And I think it’s scarier bc the people you know – esp your fam – is honest about what they think. Plus, you’ll see them again after the play, as opposed to strangers.” Yep, agree with every word. Sometimes they’re painfully honest. Ahem. πŸ˜›

        Ooohh, wow, that sounds funny, haha! Do you have any lines? πŸ˜€

        • Okay! I’ve been there a few times, yes! Probably lol.

          Yay!

          I DID. My dad took me to NYC for my high school graduation & we saw Wicked and the original cast of Cinderella (so I met Santino too). It was before I knew much about her, but I left wanting to know her more – she was SO sweet. We stagedoor’d, and I met the entire cast & got autographs and pictures. They were all super nice (esp Santino, who signed my program AND took a picture with me AND signed TWO pictures of Hans I’d printed out – this was about five months before Frozen came out, but I was super pumped to hear his voice again.) Definitely a highlight of my life. ☺️

          Lol! I completely agree.

          I do! Only seven though, lol. This morning, I spent about 30 mins saying a certain line over & over & over so I can work on the timing. XD

          • Of course you just met an Australian reader ❀️❀️❀️ sorry guys just caught that above line from Ashley and had to jump in πŸ˜‚

          • Wow, that’s so neat!!! Although, how did you meet the original cast of Cinderella if the show was Wicked? Or did you see Cinderella too? I’m unfamiliar with “stage dooring”, because we don’t really have it that much here in Australia. And we also don’t have a Broadway or West End either – just relatively big companies, and theatres over the country. πŸ˜‰ Wowww…. and yeah, Santino always looked very friendly. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

            • We saw both shows! Stage dooring is going to the stage door after a show to meet the actors. It’s super fun! Cool! We have theatres where touring productions come, and that’s where I do it most. ☺️ Yeah he’s so nice!

  6. “Watching TV is like dating the world.” Bruh. BRUHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH.

    THOU HAST NO CHILL.

    That’s the issue with taking truth to an extreme–it becomes worse than a lie!!! Because it still has that “ring of truth” to it, but it’s actually so wrong and so unhealthy and just . . . blech. You can perfectly well say, “be careful what you watch on TV, boys and girls” and that’s good and useful advice–but this? #nope And I shudder to think what the book has to say on more urgent subjects.

    JOHN HUGHES. YAS. “The Breakfast Club” is pure art. It’s one of my all-time favorites now, and I think it always will be. I have never watched any other movie that gave me quite the same feeling when the end credits song began to play: “don’t . . . you . . . forget about me . . .” Me loves it. (Oh: I know this isn’t John Hughes, but have you watched “Stand By Me”? You must. It’s brilliance.)

    “The Art of Letting Go” is fabulous. I can’t wait for my printed (signed) copy. I believe in you. Do all the things.

    ❀

    P.S. YOU SAW IDINA MENZEL IN CONCERT AND I HAVE A JEALOUS EMOTION. πŸ˜›

    • Literally same.

      YES! So close to the truth. I’ll quote more when I get to my post but yeah.

      The Breakfast Club is FAB. YESSS. (I haven’t but it’s been on The List!)

      Aww you’re so sweet. ❀️ You’ll definitely get one!

      PS: I DIIIIIIIDDDDDDDDD.

have something to say?

