when internet friends become real.

I’ve never believed that internet friends aren’t “real friends,” simply because I’ve loved all of the people I met on the internet (okay, maybe not all – but certainly most of them!), so much that I often wish I could meet them.

A week ago, it finally happened.

The Elf (Heather) has been following my blog ever since her sister, Jane, introduced it to her several years ago. Neither know exactly how long they’ve followed my blog (Heather says Jane’s been reading it for “ages”), but it’s been a while. Heather didn’t really start reading it until she found and resonated with my first Harry Potter post (our experiences with this franchise are ridiculously similar), and then, according to her, found out that I “wrote fantastic rants.”

Heather, for whatever reason, started reading my blog and commenting a lot, and I grew to really enjoy hearing from my elven friend, whoever she was (we didn’t exchange names until later). I soon found out that she was from Australia, so obviously we never thought we’d be able to meet, although we both wished we could. Fast forward to a few months ago, when she messaged me on Facebook and told me she and her sister would be in the States for a while, specifically about an hour away from where I live, and wondered if I’d like to get together. To which I said something along the lines of, “HECK YES!”

A week ago, we finally met. We hugged, then got in the car and took a picture to send to our relatives, assuring them that we were all real and not random middle-aged men!

FullSizeRender.jpg

{heavily photoshopped bc the girls were in shadows and we were too focused on talking to get another one}


My sister and I drove them to a famous fast food restaurant and sat for at least two hours talking, eating, and laughing together. And it. was. a. BLAST. I’ve rarely met people whom I’ve connected with so closely and so quickly, and finally listening to Heather and Jane’s story after wanting to for so. dang. long. was amazing, to say the least!

In those short hours, we talked about homeschooling and our (uncannily similar) church experiences, conservatism and feminism, Harry Potter and Lord of the Rings, courtship vs dating, and marriage and relationships. I would’ve loved to pack up my bags and roam the US with them for the remainder of their stay (especially their next stop, which is one of my favorite spots in the entire country), talking with them more about all of these things, but we’ll have to limit it to all of the social media platforms we connected on within five minutes of leaving one another. (Provided the elders approve.) (We made so many inside jokes, guys, and I am here. for. it.)

In summary, my sister and I had an amazing time meeting Heather and Jane, and can’t wait to see where our friendship goes! Maybe a trip to Australia is in order? We’ll see!

{ps: hey reader. yes, you. hello there. if you’d like to meet me too (and aren’t a 65-year-old man), let me know and i’ll see what i can do. this meeting has gotten me addicted to meeting people i’ve connected with online and i want to do it again!}

20 thoughts on “when internet friends become real.

  1. That disclaimer at the end is awesome!!!! πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ We should meet up sometime πŸ˜‰πŸ˜‰ Seriously, I would love to meet the people I’ve connected with through social media someday. Hoping to make it a thing in the near future for a couple of them!

  2. Hey, Ashley! This is Claire – we follow each other on Instagram (we met through one of Petie’s Instagram comment threads, I think). If you ever come up the east coast, we should definitely meet up! I think lots of Hamilton singalongs and in-depth Harry Potter discussions would be in order. πŸ™‚

  3. *shoots hand in the air* ME. I want to meet you in real life. (No, really, I actually DO. And I want to talk about feminism and politics and stuff. It’s most of what I talk about on a daily basis, anyways . . .)

    I’m so glad you got to meet up with your friends!!!!! Me and my sister got to do that last fall–we met four of our blogging friends at a wedding and it was LIT. Seriously. Best weekend of my life ❀ So I know all about how excited you guys must've been! πŸ™‚

    • That’d be so fun! Let’s do it! (Haha same! That’s probably half the reason we talked about it so easily – all of my crappy church experiences have made me that much more passionate about feminism. LOL.)

      So fun!!! I have an entire list of internet friends I’d love to meet & I can’t wait. It was a blast!

      • YES. LET’S. And we don’t actually live super far away from each other . . . *high-fives* Feminism for the win!! Do you know, you are one of those people who really encourages me to keep calling myself a feminist, even though I keep getting the message that “ALL feminists are BAD and if you call yourself in any way, shape, or form, then you’re definitely going to H-E-Double-Hockey-Sticks.” :-/ I appreciate you.

        • We don’t! *high fives back* FEMINISMMMM. Aww! WHALE. I don’t subscribe to the modern view of feminism (aka fourth wave aka All Men Are Evil & We Are Better Than Them), but I certainly believe in the basic definition (men & women are equal & deserve equal rights), and I know most people with common sense should call themselves feminists too. I know a few people like that, and I’m careful what I say around them πŸ˜‰ I appreciate you too!

  4. Ashley this is so beautiful! ❀️ It’s hard to believe it actually happened but at the same time so satisfyingly wonderful to know it did. I’m so glad you didn’t simply go “ugh what a creepy stalker” and delete me off Facebook πŸ˜‚ and the moment we ran and hugged each other (the way you sprinted out of the car, I could not tell you were nervous!) for the very first time was sooo amazing. And SAME!! We don’t normally connect with people just like that either! When we were fangirling over Harry Potter i was thinking darn I REALLY want to hear her story but it’s our first meeting, it’s probably too deep for people to discuss on a first meeting and then bam! we literally spent ages discussing everything and just debriefing and encouraging each other. INSIDE JOKES ARE THE BEST! (Also I’m a bit disappointed your clothes didn’t reach the God line πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚) I loved that we’re essentially on the same page with all those hot topics – dating/ Harry Potter/ feminism etc although how weird was that young male server who hung around to listen to our courting vs dating conversation?!
    I love that it hasn’t ended there but that we’re still connecting (over evil social media unsupervised) on a deeper level.
    I love you guys (the Sister too πŸ˜‚) and YOUR southern hospitality is spot on πŸ˜‰. Also what’s this “maybe” about coming to Australia? It better be definitely!
    Now go and serve joyfully in the home rather than wasting time writing…

    • (No, YOU’RE beautiful! 😝❀️) I completely agree! Haha, I would’ve done that if I hadn’t known you for so long. πŸ˜‰ Aww! Haha I’m so glad we just slowly started talking about it! And it was so easy to talk about as well, since we had such similar experiences and were (mostly) recovered. YES. (Goodness, I know. It’s the rebel in me. Thank goodness the children didn’t see.) SAME! Lol that was so weird. πŸ˜‚ YES! Haha I’m so glad we got that “southern hospitality” thing figured out. πŸ˜‰ Well, Katie definitely wants to, and I’m open to the idea.

      I washed dishes before I wrote this, but I’ll have to say that I did watch an episode of a tv show afterwards instead of continuing to clean. 😝

  5. Hello! Aww, that is so sweet! Yes, the joys of meeting online friends in real time and space is simply amazing, and so wonderful when that connection really happens. Some of my closest friends are actually people I know online, and I so pray I can meet them one day! Last year my sisters and I went to the States, and in an amazing work of God’s providence “accidentally” met a girl I knew from blogging who I had forgotten lived in the state I was visiting. It was so wonderful, and we spent a truly beautiful time together, bonding and really fellowshipping in a wonderful way! Sadly I was unable to meet some of my other truly close friends while in that one week stay in America, but it was truly special and a blessing :).

    Oh, just to clarify, I am from Australia as well :). I’m curious as to which state in Australia your friends Heather and Jane are from? (it’s okay if you’d rather keep that private though). I’m from Queensland ^_^

    Blessings,
    Joy

    • I completely agree! There’s just something about online friendships that are so special – probably because they’re harder to maintain than friendships w people you know in real life. That’s amazing!

      I’ll let her know that you were wondering & see if she wants to share πŸ™‚ Queensland sounds beautiful!

    • Hi Joy! I’m not from Queensland (never been there in fact). Feel free to contact me on apple8blossom@gmail.com or off my blog (Willawa) if you want to know more although I can’t guarantee how fast I’ll reply since I’m still travelling for a while yet. All the best πŸ™‚

have something to say?

