“it feels like there’s oceans between you and me.”

(title taken from this song, which has been on repeat for the last several months.)

This is just a “hello update I am not dead” post.  Because I am not dead, I’m just without wifi.

(Basically the same thing.  But I digress)

If you’ve been following me on social media or know me in real life, you’ll know that my family (finally) moved into the house we’ve been working on for the last year.  It doesn’t have wifi (and won’t, for reasons too complicated to go into), but my sister and I have our own little apartment (complete with kitchenette and living room space) that I’ve just fallen completely in love with, so I adore it.  It’s beautiful and we haven’t moved in all of our junk yet, but my friends from Virginia came in last night and we’re having most of The Squad over tonight to celebrate my younger sister’s birthday, so it’s finally starting to feel like a home.

I’ve been jumping head-first into the post-college writing life, starting with query letters.  I sent one, then contacted a new author friend whom I met a few weeks ago and asked for her help critiquing it.  I took the past week off to move, but I’m planning on going to Starbucks on Monday to work on it and send it to a few more agencies before the weekend, so that’s exciting.  I’m also planning on starting my next novel in June, so stay tuned for updates on that.

I’ve also traveled some since I last posted.  A few friends in Florida graduated college, so my sisters and I went down there for the weekend and attended, sneaking in visits with other friends in between Starbucks dates, a production of Fiddler on the Roof, and my first trip to Oxford Exchange in Tampa (and I’ll definitely be going back bc books + coffee + food?  UM YES PLEASE).

A few other things have happened – including the preschool graduation of the twins I nanny (so. many. tears.) – but my siblings want to go back home now, so I’d better sign off.  I’ll definitely be back soon, though.  I miss all of you!  Leave a comment telling me what you’ve been up to!

11 thoughts on ““it feels like there’s oceans between you and me.”

  1. Smiling to hear all about your happy, full, post-college life! Yay for writing + little sort-of apartments with siblings + traveling! 🙂

    My life is filled with work, writing, and reading, which I’m not complaining about in the slightest. I’ve been picking up surprisingly good books lately, too: A Corner of White by Jaclyn Moriarty and The Someday Birds by Sally J Pla.

    • Aww, thanks! It’s a million times better than I thought it’d be. 🙂 Yes!

      Ahh fun! I haven’t heard of either of those so I’ll add them to the list!

  2. A new house?? WOW! Did you guys build it from scratch or just fix it up? Either way, that’s awesome!

    (I just finished your novel last night. Feedback coming soon–before June 1st–I promise <3)

    Oh: I also just finished reading "Fangirl" for the first time and I. AM. DEAD.

    • From scratch! We bought the property a little over two years ago so it’s been a long process. SO glad it’s finally over! (AWW YAYYYYY. Can’t wait to hear what you think!)

      • From scratch?? DUDE. WHAT. Actually, I’ve always had a sort of fantasy of doing something like that . . . maybe someday . . . Sounds like a lot of work though.

        And I can’t wait to tell you all my thoughts!!! ❤ (Question: So I'm going to fill out the list of questions, of course, but would it also be okay if I sent you an email with more General Reaction stuff that doesn't necessarily fit into the list? Because I've never done beta-reading before, and while I FEEL like the more feedback, the better, I don't want to overwhelm you, either.)

        • It was the second time we did it. A total nightmare. Some things don’t work very well yet (aka the internet & the water) but we’ll be fine. Only do it if you have a lot of perseverance!

          (Absolutely! I wanna know anything & everything you have to tell me about it. 🙂 Thanks!!!)

  3. YOUR OWN APARTMENT. That sounds liiiit.

    Great to hear from you again. I’m doin’ good – In middle of exams, but feeling at peace cuz Jesus. 🙂

    • It’s in our parents’ basement… BUT STILL. It’s amazing. My sister’s party went so well and it was so great to have all of our friends over. Good!!! That’s the perfect place to be. 🙂

have something to say?

