your time has come.

I’ve taken a month off to recuperate from college and am ready to jump headfirst into this whole writer life thing.  That means scheduling time to write my next novel (check), starting to send of query letters for The Art (check – legit the scariest thing I’ve ever done but I’m so ready to keep doing it), and asking for beta readers for the aforementioned (basically finished) novel.

SO!  If you’ve ever wanted to read the novel I’ve been working on for literally the last three years (The Art of Letting Go, if you forgot) now’s your chance.  I need feedback on it so that it can be the best it can be.  Anything and everything will help – inconsistencies, plot holes, places that don’t make sense, basically anything that I didn’t fix in the last three drafts.

The only thing I ask of you is that you’re serious – that you’ll read it and get back to me with your critiques by, say, June 1st.  That’s an entire month.  You can do this.  I believe in you.

Sooooo if you’d like to beta read my novel, comment with a reason why you should and how many (if any) novels you’ve beta read in the past.  (If you haven’t done any, that’s totally fine.)  In a separate comment (which I won’t publish), leave your email address.  I just got a new Gmail specifically for my writing and I’m going to start using that one for blog stuff.

I think I’m going to limit the number of beta readers to five, but I don’t think there will be more than five, so that’ll work out.  (In the event that more than five people want to read it, well, first I’ll keel over in astonishment, then we’ll cross that bridge when we come to it.  Maybe I’ll take beta readers in waves.  {My life is crazy rn.  We’re moving.  I’m trying to get a job.  Etc, etc, etc.})

THANK YOU SO MUCH IN ADVANCE & I LOVE YOU ALL.

22 thoughts on “your time has come.

  1. Hooooowww DID I NOT SEE THIS SOONER?!?! *headsmashes because I never check my wordpress feed and now I’m paying for it*
    Um, yes. I want to read this forevs.
    I’ve never ‘beta read’, but I’ve spent the past two years examining and reviewing plays for school (what I liked/didn’t like, motivations of characters, continuity of story) and I’ve reviewed lots of books on my book blog. What I’ve read of your book that you’ve posted here on your blog is beautiful, and I’d love to have a chance to read the whole story and help you pursue your dreams of getting it published.
    ❤ ❤

    • Hahaha it’s okay. I’ll totally send it to you. I’ve let go of my five-reader limit and just need to make sure I keep track of who I sent it to, lol. I think ten people have it right now, which is just… mind-blowing. YAY! Aww you’re so sweet. I’ll send it asap! ❤

  2. I know I’m a little late but it’s worth a try 😛 I’d love to beta-read your book! I’ve been excited since the first of your posts about it. I don’t have experience beta-reading officially or anything, but I’ve always been good at giving feedback (I’m nice and honest at the same time, I hope!). Except I tend to focus on bigger things like plot holes and inconsistencies and such – not so much grammar/typos. Anyway, I hope you are keeling over in amazement because more than five people want to read it 🙂

    • Ahh yes! Weren’t you the one who said the super sweet comment about Becoming Nikki? (I legit screenshotted it and had it on my phone for forever.) After looking forever for the screenshot I FOUND IT and yes you can absolutely beta read for me. You earned it with your sweet comment that I literally couldn’t stop thinking about for forever. And I need someone who can look at the bigger picture as well so YAY. (And I really am. Four people have asked to read it outside of this blog and I’ve just given it to them. I’m so happy. So so so happy.)

  3. Looks like I’m a little late to the party, but I’d love to beta read if you want! I have no prior experience with beta reading, but a lot of experience with regular reading and a lot of enthusiasm 🙂

  4. MEEEEEE!!!!!!!! 👋👋 Or a final proof reader, whatever you’d like. The reason? Do I really need one? Here’s one – I love you, and will always encourage you in this career. (And, then I can say I knew you when you become a famous author and live in NYC. ) 😎

    Congratulations on being so close!! Are you going through a publishing company, or self-publish again?

  5. I’d like to beta read your novel! I don’t have any particular reason why I should other than I really want to (I’m kinda inexperienced in the beta reading field). It sounds like a great book and I loved the one snippet I read. I’ve beta read one novel before and am always critiquing one of my friends’ writing. I’ll try to help as much as I can if you choose me 😀

  6. I’d love to read your novel! I have been fascinated by every little bit you’ve written about it here on the blog. I’ve never beta read before, but I’m pretty skilled in proof reading (plus I’m in school to be a teacher) so I’d love the opportunity. I’ve also written a little bit myself so I have some background there. I’d love to help however I can!

    • Awesome! Like I told Jessica, I’m really just looking for people who love reading & can help me spot anything I miss. I’d love to have you beta it! 🙂

  7. I want to read The Art of Letting Go!! Here are my reason(s) why: the title intrigues me, I love helping out fellow writers, and I feel like critiquing other people’s’ work helps me learn as well as them!

  8. GOOD. FOR. YOU. You can do this, Ashley–I believe in you!!!!!

    Do you want me to beta-read your novel? If you want me to, I will. I haven’t ever done it before (I’ve only done the writing side of it); so it feels kind of weird to say “hey, pick me!” but . . . I want to help you get your novel published. So if you would like me to read it, I will 🙂 (And I’m totally fine with you NOT picking me, too! Just wanted to offer 🙂 )

have something to say?

