the book tag.

Screen-Shot-2016-09-19-at-3.09.37-PM-2.png

{for le blog aesthetic // not mine}

My lovely friend Eva over at Coffee, Classics, and Craziness tagged me in this wonderful book tag and I decided to do it!  (I rarely do tags, not because I don’t like them, but because I usually forget.  Keep tagging me, guys!  One of these days I’ll remember to do them.  XD)

Rules
You must be honest.
You must answer all the questions.
You must tag at least 4 people.

1. What book has been on your shelf the longest?
I’m gonna have to go with the trilogy of E.B. White books my godfather got for me when I was a baby, or Spy for the Confederacy, which I’m pretty sure is the very first book I ever bought myself.  It was on a shelf at a homeschooling convention, and little eight-year-old me, with such a massive love of both spies and the Civil War, decided to buy it.  I still love it.

2. What is your current read, your last read, and the book you’ll read next?
Current read: I’d Tell You I Love You, But Then I’d Have to Kill You by Ally Carter.  Oh my gosh, where has this book been all of my life?!  I would’ve liked it a lot when I was a little younger, but I’m super glad I found it now.  It’s about spies and forbidden teen love and it’s just so great.  10/10.
Last read: Always a Bridesmaid For Hire by Jen Glantz.  I enjoyed most of it, as it’s probably a good overview of what my life will look like for the next few years (minus the business part).  See my review here.
Next read: The Animators by Kayla Rae Whitaker.  The plot sounds great and I’m always looking for random books to try out.  Plus, that cover tho.  *heart eyes emoji*

3. What book did everyone like, but you hated?
I try not to hate books, but I really didn’t like The DUFF or Eleanor and Park (which, arguably, was only my second RR book, and I’m planning on rereading it again in the future to see if my opinion has changed).  I also greatly despise a lot of those conservative purity books that I got pulled into when I was younger – So Much More and Before You Meet Prince Charming, for instance.  (I’ll write a post about it in the future if y’all want to read my ranty opinion, but the short of it is that a girl isn’t a sub-helpmeet for her dad and should be free to decide, with guided wisdom from authorities, what to do with her life – and, yeah, that includes moving out, getting a job, and going to college if she feels like that’s God’s will for her life.  These books basically tell girls that their only biblical place is in the home, under her father’s authority, until she gets married.  I know young women aged 25-30 who still live with their parents, uneducated and jobless.  Do. Not. Like.)

4. What book do you keep telling yourself you’ll read, but you probably won’t?
My goal in life is to READ ALL THE BOOKS, but there are probably a few that I’ll never get around to – the other Mitch Rapp books (unless they’re made into more movies bc Dylan O’Brien tho), and various classics that I have no interest in.

5. What book are you saving for retirement?
What’s retirement???  I’ve got a few books that I’ve been stockpiling for when we move into our internet-less house, including Les MisTumble Fall, Everything Leads to You, The Unexpected Everything, Illuminae, and The Infinite Moment of Us – all of which I’ve gotten recently specifically for this move.  (Except for Illuminae, which a friend sent me.  Oh, and Les Mis, which has sat, in all it’s bricklike, unabridged glory on my shelf for about six years.  I’ll get to it.)

6. Last page: read it first, or wait ’til the end?
I AIN’T ABOUT THAT SPOILER LIFE, FAM.  If the wind flips pages forward and I see stuff that hasn’t happened yet, I get all annoyed and heartbroken and achy inside and question whether or not I want to even finish the book.  Last-page-readers are sub-human and will not survive the winter or the zombie apocalypse.

7. Acknowledgement: waste of paper and ink, or interesting aside?
I adore acknowledgments.  Probably because I’m a writer, but I just love seeing who has influenced the author.  It’s so much fun to also get a sneak peek into their life and the little inside jokes they have with people they thank.  Plus, it’s a great way to find agents to pester to represent my book.

8. Which book character would you switch places with?
Hermione Granger or someone from The Berinfell Prophecies, preferably whoever kisses Jimmy, whom I’ve had a crush on for the last eight years, with absolutely no sign of ceasing.  Or maybe Jo March, since I’m already basically her already.  (I’d say yes to Laurie in a heartbeat.  Screw whatever’s “supposed to happen,” to quote Eliza Schuyler-Hamilton, “THAT BOY IS MIIIIIINE!”)

9. Do you have a book that reminds you of something specific in your life? (Place, time, person?)
Oh heck yes.  I can’t read Fangirl without thinking of the porch swing at my grandparents’ house where I inhaled it for the first time, or The Final Storm without remembering literally chucking it against a wall in my room while screaming “NO!” and sobbing, or The List without flashbacks to remembering the skiing trip where I was first introduced to Robert Whitlow (and remembering that a friend of mine gave me a signed copy of it because he met Robert), or Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone without thinking of all the minds I’d blow by reading it, or The Scarlet Pimpernel without thinking, “This is a classic???  And I’m ENJOYING IT???”  Every single book holds memories for me, and sometimes I reread books just to revisit the memories surrounding them.  True story.

10. Name a book that you acquired in an interesting way.
Besides the previous story about a book personally signed to me by Robert Whitlow (*heart eyes emoji*), I think the next most interesting story is the story behind A Thief in the Theater: A Kit Mystery.  Yes, that Kit.  Ever since a good friend had gotten to go to the American Girl store in NYC back when I was like ten, I’d always dreamed of going.  So when my dad took me to NYC for my high school graduation, the American Girl store was one of the first things on our to-do list.  I walked out of that store with that book and two t-shirts (one for me and one for my doll, of course) with PRIDE.

11. Have you ever given a book away for a special reason to a special person?
All of my books are my precious babies, but I did buy three copies of If You Find This Letter to write in and give to people as Christmas presents.  Still one of the best gifts I’ve ever given someone.  That book is literally life-changing.  Read it.

12. Which book has been with you most places?
Probably Fangirl or The Martian.  When I was reading them (and then rereading both), I couldn’t put them down.  Even when I wasn’t reading them, they had to be by my side, in my “mommy purse.”  Other than that, I’m gonna have to go with Eva’s answer and say my Bible.  It’s been on almost all of my vacations, plus all over Charlotte when I did summer missions.

13. Any “required reading” you hated in high school that wasn’t so bad two years later?
I was never a classics person when I was younger, which I’m not ashamed of, especially since I’m able to come to them now, for the first time, with an adult mindset that I didn’t have when I was younger.  For instance, a friend and I were talking the other day about girls who got into Austen when they were teenagers and loved them purely for the romance – which is fine, but I’m so happy I’m able to see past the romance and enjoy Jane for her satire and wit, not to mention her feminism and the fact that she was so far ahead of her time.

14. Used or brand new?
Used that looks brand new.  I prefer cheap books, and if I can find a new copy of a book for $5, I’ll absolutely get it.  I like my books in pristine condition and will pay a few extra dollars to get a new book over a used one, but I’m blessed with knowing a few different places to get cheap, beautiful used books.  (*cough* 2nd and Charles, where I got 2 books, a movie, and the first season of Graceland for $14 the other day *cough*)

15. Have you ever read a Dan Brown book?
Nope!  I’m vaguely interested in The Da Vinci Code, though!

16. Have you ever seen a movie you liked more than the book?
Mockingjay.  I thought Part 2 did a great job of fixing the problems in the book.

17. Have you ever read a book that’s made you hungry, cookbooks included?
Are you kidding; every book makes me hungry.  There are a few books that make me especially hungry, though, including The Little Women Letters and Harry Potter.  (One word: BUTTERBEER).

18. Who is the person whose book advice you’ll always take?
Cait (Paper Fury).  I adore her.  Plus, she’s so incredibly sweet and friendly – it seriously feels like we’re friends whenever she replies to my comments on her reviews.  Read all of the posts on her website.  She’s hilarious, too, and I want to be just like her when I grow up.

19. Is there a book out of your comfort zone (e.g., outside your usual reading genre) that you ended up loving?
Classics are a recent pleasure, thanks to the Lit courses I took in college (how is that past tense already it feels like i just started college i can’t evennnnnn) that made me study quite a few classics.  (we’re talking 50+, 12 of which I read and wrote essays on in two months.  college is hard, y’all.)  I’ve also started really enjoying memoirs, thanks to Unbroken and If You Find This Letter.  People are fascinating.

Alrighty, I tag all of my followers who want to do it either in the comments or on their own blogs, especially Jessica and Katelyn.  ❤

16 thoughts on “the book tag.

  1. Thank so the tag, hence giving me a reason to get back on my sadly neglected blog. 😉😆 Seriously, this move has thrown me for a loop. And it’s about BOOKS! One of our favorite things to talk about.

    I completely agree with you on the JA topic. I was in my mid-teens when I first read P&P. I liked the romance, but more so Elizabeth and Darcy’s conversation. And then there’s Mrs. Bennet…. “(Her) poor nerves!” 😆

    I’ll see if I can post my answers tomorrow. Thanks again! 💞

    • Haha you’re welcome. 🙂 YESSSS.

      Niiiice. Not saying teenage girls can’t understand Austen’s social commentary &etc, but there’s just something about coming to it with a more mature mind and frame of reference. That’s awesome!

  2. I got tagged!!! SWEET. 🙂

    1. Book that has been on my shelf the longest–I don’t really know (I’m baaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaad at remembering stuff like this), so I’m just going to take a guess and say the 4 ancient “Cricket” magazines that I’ve had since I-don’t-know-when. Technically you could say they’re not really “books,” but to me they are; because they’re full of stories that I’ve loved forever and that profoundly shaped my childhood imagination and like . . . yeah 🙂
    2. Current read, last read, and next read? Okay, so these are ALL going to be nonfiction (sorry guys): Current read–I’m re-reading Thomas Sugrue’s “The Origins of the Urban Crisis,” which basically is about institutional racism and how it relates to the decline of American cities. Great book, actually. Last read–“Bloodlands,” by Timothy Snyder. WHICH BROKE MY HEART AND SHATTERED MY SOUL IN A MILLION PIECES. It honestly did. It’s all about the millions and millions of people Hitler and Stalin murdered in Eastern Europe; and it’s so, so horrible. Next read–probably “Uprooted,” by Gregor Thum, which is about postwar Poland.
    3. Book I hated that everyone else loved–That’s easy. “1984,” by George Orwell. I’m not saying it didn’t have a powerful message; but the characters were all just . . . bleh. And there was a lot of Unnecessary Content which was handled pretty badly. #notafan
    4. Book I keep telling myself I’ll read but probably won’t–Ehhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh, “Lord of the Rings,” probably. What can I say, guys? I’ve never liked Tolkien.
    5. Book I’m saving for retirement–I fail to understand this concept of “retirement.” Next question. 😛
    6. Last page–Eh. Sometimes I read it, sometimes I don’t. Depends on the book and on my current mood. (Sorry, Ashley, but . . . I never expected to survive the zombie apocalypse anyways. :-P)
    7. Acknowledgements–I generally skip ’em. Or skim them.
    8. Book character I would switch places with–Scout from TKAM. Who doesn’t want an Atticus Finch and a Boo Radley in their life? I DO.
    9. Book that reminds you of a specific time or place–The Chronicles of Narnia. Reading (or even talking about) those books always takes me back to the very first weeks my parents started homeschooling us (I was eight then); when my mom pulled out a Narnia box set from some dark closet or something and said, “Here. Read these.” And I read them. All in one week. And . . . let’s just say my life was never the same again. ❤
    10. Book you acquired in an interesting way–Um . . . ? I don't really keep track of the way I acquire books, I don't think? Sorry.
    11. Book that you gave away to a special person for a special reason–Nothing springs to mind. I don't tend to give books away.
    12. Book that's been with you most places–I don't take books with me places? I don't think? Except taking schoolbooks to school and taking my missal to church; and those don't really count.
    13. Required reading you hated in high school that wasn't so bad later–Nothing I can think of.
    14. Used or brand new–Depends on the book. Some books I would rather buy used; others (really special ones) I HAVE to have a shiny, beautiful copy of. Like "The Book Thief."
    15. Ever read a Dan Brown book–nope.
    16. Movie you liked more than the book–I'm not a huge fan of "Sense and Sensibility" (the book) but I ADORE the '08 movie, so yeah.
    17. Book that made you hungry–DEFINITELY the "Little House" books. Especially "Farmer Boy" . . . all that pumpkin pie . . . *sighs dreamily* Also, "Heidi." The unabridged version. Which I read when I was like 6, and instantly fell in love with because it talked about TOASTED CHEESE and toasted cheese is my life, basically.
    18. Person whose book advice I'll always take–my sister Rosie 🙂 She probably knows me better than any other human being on this planet; and if she says, "read this," I read it 🙂
    19. Book outside your comfort zone you ended up loving–"Bread Givers," by Anzia Yezierska. I was kind of wary about reading it because I'd heard it was supposed to be a "feminist manifesto" of sorts; and at the time, I was pretty uncomfortable with feminism as a concept; but I read it anyways and ended up being massively impressed by it. Like, "Holy cow, this is genuinely GOOD STUFF." That was the book that convinced me feminism, properly understood, could actually be a good and useful thing; and to this day, it's still one of my favorites. It's sad, but deeply inspiring.

    Thanks so much for the tag, Ashley–this was a lot of fun!!!! (Also: WRITE THE RANTY POST ABOUT CHRISTIAN SEXISM. I want to hear all the thoughts. ❤ )

    • GASP YOU’RE NEVER GONNA READ TOLKIEN?! FAM. F A M. The books are SOOO much better than the movies – and everybody knows the movies are AWESOME. I’m planning on rereading them soon, since it’s been ten years (I had to read them before I was allowed to watch them). If not for me, do it for Faramir, who’s 100x better in the book than the movies.

      I agree about Scout, but, uh, I’d wanna just marry Atticus tbh, and that’d be kind of weird if I was, uh… his kid. 😛

      AWW NARNIA. ❤

      Agree about S&S, especially the '08 version. That's where I first got introduced to Dan Stevens. People now are all like "DANNNN" and I'm like "Going on ten years strong."

      Ooh, I've gotta read Bread Givers now.

      You're welcome! (AND YES I ABSOLUTELY WILL. I get so ranty w my friends – and have for the last few years – and it'd be nice to write down my thoughts, lol. Plus, I'm not worried about offending people anymore. I'll just put a disclaimer and then go off. XD)

      • Well . . . you see, I’ve read “The Hobbit” and I just . . . didn’t like it. Granted, I haven’t cracked it open since I was like 13; but it just wasn’t my thing then and I don’t think it would be now. There were no women, for starters; and the story was just so dull and dark and gloomy–and NOT my kind of dark, either. So that whole experience kind of soured me on Tolkien. That’s why I’ve never tried LotR. What do you think–would my opinion of Tolkien change if I did?

        I don’t want to marry Atticus, for some reason? I want to sit and drink lemonade with him and pick his brain about Life ‘n stuff; but I don’t feel super attracted to him or whatever. (Nothing wrong with feeling that way–I’m just saying, my personal feelings for him are different.)

        You SHOULD read it. It’s so beautiful. It’s about a girl who’s raised in this very patriarchal, very oppressive, orthodox Jewish home in the early 1900s, and her dad is trying to push her to marry early and stuff; and she decides that “no, I’m going to move out and get my education and live my life on my own time.” I LOVED it. [And I’m not saying all orthodox Jewish families are like this, of course!! That just happens to be the setting for this particular story; and it’s very powerful and effective.]

        DO IT. 🙂

        • Ehh, okay. I totally get it. LotR is slightly different from The Hobbit – way more entertaining, imho – and it’s got awesome girls in it. 🙂 Don’t read it if you don’t want to, though – it’s definitely not for everybody. 🙂

          Haha I get that. I guess I just want a man like him lol.

          I put it on my Goodreads TBR list! Dang, I’ve gotta read it. Thanks for the recommendation!

  3. Oh, Jo and Laurie. I will never get over that. Actually, I will never get over that he picked Amy and turned from a clever, charming boy do a dull, pompous, prig. All that is the real sting.

    Even in the midst of reading all those books, I thought So Much More was WEIRD. I don’t remember the second book being that weird, but I read it years ago (probably should give it a skim since I’m looking to purge more stuff, and if a book isn’t worth re-reading, its not worth owning in my opinion). Nowhere in the Bible are we supposed to me our dad’s helpmeet, that is the wife’s job. And I think the main issue is a waste of time. I dislike this worship of college I see. If a person uses college well, chooses a good degree, etc. and has a plan at gets a job, then yes that is excellent. But there are a variety of incredibly stupid degrees or incredible wastes of degrees for those who have no plan for the degrees that are more general. Also college doesn’t equal a good education. I don’t think people should feel bad for not completing college; some have success starting in entry jobs in certain fields and working their way up, or becoming an entrepreneur or going to trade school. The issue for me is idleness (and this can happen after marriage also; sorry, but if you don’t have kids, you don’t have much work, housekeeping isn’t the back-breaking manual labor that it was even a few decades ago). I don’t think people have to have careers or earn money if their parents see fit to support them for a time. But I do think they need to add value, such as volunteering for hours and hours (and this can lead to jobs also plus it looks great on college applications and resumes). Trust me a college degree doesn’t equal a job (much less a career) or a plan. I think some people assume it always works like trade school or like engineering and nursing. This is so incoherent, I know.

    And Jane Austen and romance. I am so embarrassed at how literally I took those books. I mean, I got some of the humor, and understood that a lot of people (grown-ups) took them too seriously (especially Darcy, um he wasn’t supposed to be a hero, hello), but I’m only now realizing (or wondering about) the level of satire. I’m on my third re-read (after YEARs) and am only fully understanding how she made the narration unreliable (I realized it with my second re-read of Emma, this is the most obvious case); I think this is in part, what leads to Darcy confusion, we never really know what he is like because we see him through Elizabeth’s eyes plus we actually don’t get much conversation or description otherwise. Of course, Northanger Abbey’s satire is bald, but now I wonder at all the other novels. Are they all satire, nothing is to be taken seriously? I love me some sarcasm, but I hate satire. I just read a Trollope book, and none of that made me want to laugh, more like cry. I prefer a balance of wit and seriousness; I hate when everything is mocked.

    Wow, this was a novel in and of itself.

    • I won’t either! I understand why she & Prof Bhaer got together, and that Amy changed, but… dang. Way to mess w my OTP!

      YES. I never got all the way through SMM, actually – about halfway, then just skimmed the rest. Too many footnotes for 12-year-old me! I really, really liked the 2nd one, though. Gonna have to reread and see if I still like it all these years later. (That’s a good way to judge whether you should own books or not! I usually get books from the library first, and buy them if I enjoyed them enough.) I completely agree! I think a lot of people should at least pursue some form of higher education (specific classes that will help them, at the very least), but if you don’t know what you’re doing with your life, don’t spend thousands of dollars and hours upon hours of time on a degree you may not even use. No-brainer. And if girls want to get a degree, they should be allowed to. No-brainer there, too. I do agree that idleness is the worst problem. If they don’t have a job, they need to be doing something worthy with their time. (I’m still trying to figure out how to spend my post-college, pre-real-job hours. The kitchen has been cleaned a lot.)

      Hahaha! Yeah, I’m sooo glad I’m reading them now. I was embarrassed to have read my first 3 Austens this past semester, but now I’m kind of proud of it. I was introduced to Austen through the movies at a very young age and I came to the books with that understanding, but I also had a more mature mindset that was able to understand everything. Yes! Well, obviously some characters aren’t to be taken seriously at first, and some not at all (see Mrs. Bennet), but I think Austen’s social commentary and how she pokes fun at things such as classes and preconceived notions are some of the best reasons to read her books. I haven’t read Trollope! I agree, though.

      Haha, it’s totally fine! I love long comments. 🙂

  4. I just finished “I’d Tell You I Love You, But Then I’d Have to Kill You” yesterday. I usually hate romance (especially teen romance) but I felt like it was very well done and was not overwhelming like it is in most YA I have read…Also, I finished Fangirl last week and I really really liked it! I think Cath and I are almost the same (We even (almost) have the same name :D).
    I agree with you about “Before You Meet Prince Charming”. I used to really like it, but as I’m realizing just how sexist most people in the Christian community are when it comes to encouraging girls to place all their hopes in marriage I’ve decided we need to redefine what it’s like to be a woman and a Christian. I’d love to hear your “ranty” thoughts about it!
    Haha…Les Mis…I’m reading it, but it’s on my kindle so I don’t have the brick aspect, but it’s like a brick in it’s readability. I can probably only read it because I loved the audio drama and the movie, and therefore know exactly what’s going on. I think that’s the only thing that got me through the incredibly long recap of Waterloo that was extremely pointless…
    Ah! The Berinfell Prophecies! It’s been so long since I’ve read anything by Wayne Thomas Batson! I really liked Jimmy too, though in a purely platonic way (no envying who he winds up with in the slightest. They’re just both my favorite characters…). Out of all of them I’d trade places with either Kat or Kiri Lee because their powers are awesome.
    Sorry for the long comment. I really love reading your blog! *whispers* can I do the tag? please?

    • Same! It was very tasteful and not overdone at all. Super clean, too! AHH NICE I LOVE FANGIRL. That’s so awesome! I’m so much like her too – it’s ridiculous. (Just waiting for my Levi…)

      Oh exactly. Exaaactlyyyyyy. I’m so done with that aspect of the conservative subculture. DONE. 😛 Awesome, I’ll totally totally write it, then!

      Niiiiice. I loved the audio drama and the movies and the musical and everything else, I just haven’t attacked the brick yet lol! HA. Soooo pointless. I’m so not ready for that, lol!

      AHH YAAAYYYY. It’s been a long time for me, too – something I’ll probably remedy this summer. I feel a hankering to reread the Berinfell Prophecies. Nice! I’d definitely trade with Kat or Kiri Lee, too!

      NEVER APOLOGIZE FOR LONG COMMENTS. I ADORE THEM. Thanks for reading my blog!!! And heck yes you can do the tag. Leave a link so I can read it!

      • Can I admit that I didn’t really like Levi that much? There wasn’t anything wrong with him, and I didn’t hate him at all. I don’t even know why I don’t like him. Maybe it’s because I wanted Cath to be asexual and Levi crushed my dreams. (I reeeallllyyy want an asexual protagonist in a book and I haven’t found any yet. Sorry, it’s a very weird obsession…)

        Can’t wait to read it!

        And I did the tag! Here is a link for you, since you asked 🙂 https://writewhatever48.wordpress.com/2017/04/13/the-book-tag/

        • Ahh. Interesting! I get that. (I shipped them super hard & was completely in love with Levi, so I totally didn’t mind lol.) I think Afterworlds by Scott Westerfield has an asexual character…

          Thanks!

  5. Loved this post!

    If you’re enjoying Ally Carter’s books, I HIGHLY recommend her Embassy Row trilogy. The last book just came out this year, so you can read the whole thing from start to finish, and it’s one of the best YA trilogies I’ve read in a long time. Second book is my fav, but they’re all great.

    ~Eva

    • Awesome!!! I really am – just finished the book I mentioned this afternoon and loved it! (Minus the fact that there was a repeated page replacing a plot twist so I was at a loss for a minute – lol!) I’ll definitely read it!

have something to say?

