“give thanks to the LORD, for He is good.”

thanksgiving2k15.png

this will forever be one of my favorite pictures of all time. my siblings and i helped my grandma set up her tree last thanksgiving and we had such a blast.

I will give thanks to you, LORD, with all my heart; I will tell of all your wonderful deeds. – Ps. 9:1

As I think about how far I’ve come since last Thanksgiving, I’m amazed and in total awe of God’s goodness and grace.  Some of you may remember my totally angsty thanksgiving post from last year.  (*facepalm*)

In all honesty, I still have days like that, but they’ve been fewer as of late.  Mostly because I’m constantly realizing how incredibly blessed my life is.

Just how blessed am I?  WELL, I’M GLAD YOU ASKED.

thanksgivingfamily.png

 

 

I have the best siblings ever.  Seriously, they’re amazing.

They never cease to make me laugh, stretch me, and teach me – everything from random facts about music and TV shows to anger management (*wink*).  I’d be so lost without these kiddos.

(And we totally won Halloween, especially considering we had about two hours’ notice for costumes.)

I love my parents to DEATH, too, but I don’t have any recent pictures of them.  So I’ll just say this instead: my parents are the best.  They teach me so many life lessons, they love me even when I’m hard to love, and they support me constantly.  I’m forever grateful.

thanksgivingfriends.png

I also have the literal best friends.

Friends who will Gilmore-bound to coffee shops with me, play weddings with me, and then invite me and my siblings to come watch Gilmore Girls: A Year in the Life with them…

 

 

 

 

thanksgivingfriends1.png

 

 

Friends who will invite me to Charleston for my very first girls-only weekend and get dressed up for a fancy-schmancy dinner in the car in a parking garage and talk to random guys about protesting and make totally inappropriate jokes with…

 

thanksgivingfriends2.png

 

 

 

 

And friends who will let me stay at their house for a week and then take me and my siblings to Universal.  And sing Moana songs 24/7.   ALL THE HEART EYES FOR YOU GUYS.  (And what a good looking group of people, if I do say so myself.)  (“AND THANK YOU!”)

 

 

 

 

IMG_4613.JPG

 

 

I’m grateful for books and the pretty places I can read them.  This particular spot is my hidden sanctuary.  I come here once or twice a week and read, drink coffee, or just sit.

 

IMG_1307.JPG

 

 

 

 

And, finally, I’m thankful for coffee, especially on a rainy Sunday morning in Charleston with two of my best friends beside me.

(And more pictures from my Charleston trip are coming.  Because I’m obsessed.)

 

What are you thankful for?

 

10 thoughts on ““give thanks to the LORD, for He is good.”

  1. I’m thankful for ALL THE THINGS. Okay, let me be specific: I’m thankful for my parents and my siblings (legit THE BEST FAMILY EVER), my cool G.A. position at the university, my crazy-hard classes that are also crazy-fun, great books, fiction writing, Twenty One Pilots, Hamilton, music in general, the great outdoors, my religion, and God.

  2. Aw, what a lovely post!

    Oh! Oh! I’m thankful for books, early morning bird song, books, family, books, faith and … I should stop. But yes, I am thankful for many things. Though folks in the UK don’t celebrate Thanksgiving, it’s nice to be reminded to take stock and remember how blessed we are. The gift of life is a beautiful one (though bitter-sweet and awful it can sometimes be).

  3. HAPPY THANKSGIVING!!! This post was all fuzzies. 🙂
    I’m thankful for family, friends, books and food and just millions of things. (Honestly, your blog posts are always so good.)

have something to say?

