welp. that happened.

charlie don't know.gif

I think it’s safe to say that nobody saw this.

I know I didn’t.

Last night was a historic event.  I’ve heard people liken it to the Silent Majority that happened when Nixon ran.  I’ve heard people compare it to Reagan’s election.  I’ve heard people jump and scream and cheer with happiness, and I’ve seen people weep and unable to form emotions because they’re just too shocked.

I didn’t like either of these candidates, but I voted for one.  Everybody who knew how ridiculous voting third party is voted for one.

And now we’re gonna move on.

This isn’t the end, guys.  Regardless of who you voted for (or didn’t vote for), this is what happened and these are the results and, as surprised as I am to say it, Trump will be our next president.

But guess what?  It doesn’t matter.

It doesn’t matter because the American people have more say over what happens here – and how the culture changes – than basically anyone in the political realm.

And God is still on the throne.

Regardless of whatever dystopian novel prologue we may be living in, God is still on the throne and His will is going to be done and we can trust Him, praise God.

Now take a deep breath, pray for peace, and keep moving forward.

Be anxious for nothing, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. (Phil. 4:6-7)

Cast all your anxiety on Him, because He cares for you. (1 Peter 5:7)

For the LORD will not abandon His people,
Nor will He forsake His inheritance. …

When my anxious thoughts multiply within me,
Your consolations delight my soul. …

But the LORD has been my stronghold,
And my God the rock of my refuge. (Ps. 94:14, 19, 22)

10 thoughts on “welp. that happened.

  1. Pingback: year in review: 2016. | inklings press

  2. *shrugs* I voted for a third party candidate. And I’m not sorry for it, either.

    Our two-party system is utterly and completely broken. Our country is falling apart. And yes, we are living in a dystopian novel prologue.

    But God is still in charge. And that’s important. Thank you for the reminder ❤

    • I feel a lot more hopeful now than when I wrote that, so I think everything’s going to be okay. But everything is still going to be okay, whether I’m hopeful or not, because God still reigns.

      • I’m not hopeful at all . . . so yeah. Literally, not at all.

        But I did see a quote somebody posted on Facebook that made me feel a little better:

        “I wish it need not have happened in my time,” said Frodo.
        “So do I,” said Gandalf, “and so do all who live in such times. But it is not for them to decide. All we have to decide is what to do with the time given to us.”

        It helps, because it reminds me that even though things are probably not going to be okay–in fact, they might be really awful–we still have work to do, and we still can choose to do the right thing, even if those around us don’t. Like, God being in charge doesn’t mean that things won’t fall apart . . . but it does mean that, even if they do, WE don’t have to fall apart with them.

        • Aww, well I’m sorry you don’t feel hopeful! God’s got us, though, and I’m sure it’ll all be okay. 🙂 Very true, though. Just like Gandalf said, it’s all up to us. I was actually just talking to somebody about it today, and he said that it’s over and done with and all we can do is work on making our community better – holding the door open, letting people merge in front of us, etc. So, while I wouldn’t have picked him, I’m still hopeful and praying – which, honestly, is almost all we’re supposed to do anyway. ❤

      • To be honest, I’m SO glad I had no say. I dislike both candidates strongly and wouldn’t have felt comfortable voting for either. 😛
        I’m so glad it’s over. 😉

        • I certainly didn’t feel comfortable voting for either and resisted it literally ’til the last second (and then hit the button on one of them and prayed all the way out the building).

          AMEN.

have something to say?

