coffee session | grades & gilmore girls.

img_4202A few weeks ago, I needed to write a blog post, so I literally just got a cup of coffee, sat down, and wrote whatever was on my mind.  Apparently you guys loved it – which was good because I did, too.

So guess what.  It’s happening again.

I was thinking last night that I’d make it a regular thing (maybe not every week because that never works for me, but definitely more than once), and then I got an email from a friend linking to an article about coffee + friendship and it was wonderful and beautiful and made me so grateful for my friends who fellowship with me over coffee and it reminded me of that post I wrote – fellowshipping over coffee with my bloggy friends..

So here I am.  Grab a cup of coffee, play some music, and let’s start.  (Oh and read that article at some point. It’s great.)

*sips coffee*

I woke up this morning to notifications that a few of my BYU papers had been graded. 100% on both – one being that scene that I posted the other day.  TALK ABOUT YAY.

I love writing, guys.  I love creating worlds and people and circumstances in my mind and watching them make their way through my mind and onto a computer screen.  And I love getting good grades, especially when I’m maintaining a 76% in another course because I got a really bad grade on a test the other day – AN ELEVEN-QUESTION TEST.  LIKE, HOW AM I SUPPOSED TO GET A GOOD GRADE ON THAT?!  Ugh.  *breathes*

It’s fine.  After I saw that grade, I closed my laptop and watched a stupid TV show on Netflix and let me tell you what – it was exactly what I needed.  Totally recommend being in the moment and being present and all of that… but know that you have freedom to unplug and take a break sometimes.  It’ll recharge you more than you think.  (Eyy puns…)

Let’s see… what else have I been doing?  (Besides school lolzzzz, emphasis on the zzzz.)

I just started the first of my annual fall reads – Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell.  I can’t recommend it without a disclaimer for language, but it’s definitely one of my favorite books of all time.  It just screams fall – and it contains one of the most relatable heroines ever… and one of the most swoon-worthy guys I’ve ever read.  The other’s The Little Women Letters by Gabrielle Donnelly, which I absolutely adore.  It’s a retelling of Little Women.  What’s not to love?!  Anyway, that happened.  And I’m reading it while wrapped in multiple blankets and drinking hot tea, so that’s fun.  I’m going to have a ton of free-time this weekend, and I’m greatly looking forward to blasting through it (and sobbing at the end again, like I always do).

Another thing I did today was watch Blimey Cow’s latest video.  TALK ABOUT HASHTAG RELATABLE AND RELEVANT OH. MY. GOSH.  Go watch it.  Now.  I’ll wait.

What else?

*sips coffee*

One of my favorite writers, Hannah Brencher (READ HER BOOK), sends out a massive encouragement email every Monday, and it’s half the reason my Mondays don’t suck as much as they probably would without it.  (Seriously, get on that email.)  Here’s a quote that I really appreciated:

People won’t feel valued– like their friendship is pertinent to you– if you never have a reason to need them.

Friendships and relationships are built on need. Trust is built because the two of you are vulnerable enough to let some walls down and actually need each other to show up. Before that need comes in, you are just two people who like the company of one another. It is when we humble ourselves down to the realization that interdependency is essential that we uncover a true relationship.

I’m so grateful for friends who acknowledge a need for me.  So often, I feel just “meh” – like people don’t need me in their lives, and they do little more than tolerate me. (Obviously, when I step back, I see that that’s not true… but sometimes I can’t help but think it for a moment.)

And then I read things like Hannah’s email and that Verily article and am reminded that I have wonderful friends who not only like hanging out with me, but want to do it – so much so that we plan things months in advance sometimes.

I’m currently planning a trip to Charleston with two girlfriends – my first girls-only trip that doesn’t include any of my family members whaaaaattttt – and then a spontaneous trip with one of the friends to Tampa, where she lives.  I’ll be there for over a week.  As the kids say, it’s gonna be LIT.

And then there are times when my friends and I don’t plan things months in advance – sometimes it’s merely hours in advance.  I’m still reeling over something I did with my sisters and some friends the other week – something we “HEY LOOK AT THIS LET’S DO IT” planned the night before “it” was going to happen.

IMG_4210.JPG

l-r: lorelai, rory, sookie, luke, paris

We Gilmore-bounded at Luke’s.

If you’re familiar with Disney-bounding, it’s basically the same thing… except Gilmore Girls-themed.  And as a promotional thing for the Gilmore Girls revival (AAAAHHHHH), two hundred coffee shops across America transformed into Luke’s for the day.

The one nearest to my house was 45 minutes away, but that didn’t stop my sisters and I from getting up at 6:30 and leaving the house by 7 to hightail it over there.

WE HAD SUCH A BLAST, GUYS.  Everybody there was a fan of the show.  It was like a mini-Comic Con – BUT SOLELY FOR GILMORE GIRLS FANS.  They had everything set up like Luke’s – and they even had Gilmore Girls playing on TVs around the coffee shop.  (I have a video of everyone singing the theme song and then letting out a massive groan when the internet cut out halfway through the song.)

My friends and I went our separate ways later that morning, but got together again that night to practice music for two weddings that weekend – and basically all we could talk about was the morning.  It was so ridiculously fun, and definitely ranks on my top ten list of memories for this entire year.

(And obviously we’ll all be doing it again when the revival comes out next month.  Duh.)

Well.  I need to go do some school now.  Hope you enjoyed reading this – and let me know if you want more!

5 thoughts on “coffee session | grades & gilmore girls.

  1. Pingback: year in review: 2016. | inklings press

have something to say?

