don’t you worry, child.

john-13-7

Flashback to May of this past year.  I was obsessing over something to the point of exhaustion.  I wanted something to happen so badly that I didn’t know what I would do if it didn’t happen.

I spent hours thinking and overthinking about this thing, texting friends and coming up with multiple scenarios in my head.

To be completely honest with you guys, I didn’t handle it well.  The only thing that got me out of this abyss of overanalyzing and obsessing was the knowledge that what I was doing was INCREDIBLY STUPID and that no amount of worrying would make it happen.

By the time The Thing came around, I wasn’t worried about it any more.  I’d given it to God (daily, y’all – d a i l y), and I’d forced myself to stop thinking about it and trust that God had my best interests at heart.

And guess what?  Nothing happened, and I was okay with that.

I’m not perfect, guys.  Far from it.  I just wanted to share this small thing I learned – that sometimes it’s okay to stop thinking, stop obsessing, stop placing your entire happiness on one small event that may or may not even happen.  Give it to God, trust Him, and (if you can) forget about it.

God wants your best, guys.  Even if you can’t see it, even if you don’t believe it.  His ways are best and you’ve just gotta trust that.  Ask Him for strength and then wait on Him.

I’ll be back later with some ranty posts I’ve been thinking about for a while (look forward to it *smirky emoji*), but I just wanted to share that with you guys.  What has God been teaching you lately?

10 thoughts on “don’t you worry, child.

  1. I agree with everything you said. It’s soooo hard to let go and trust but I try to remind myself daily that God is ALWAYS in control and He never makes any mistakes, so why bother about worrying anyway? 🙂 Such a great ‘here’s a little reminder’ post.

    ~Eva

    • Thank you! 🙂 AMEN OH MY GOSH YES. It’s so hard bc I think we humans just *love* worrying, so it’s hard to give everything up and trust God. ugh. I feel ya. Hang in there, girl. ❤

  2. Thank you, Ashley. I also have spent a considerable amount of time obsessing over relationships and such… so, specifically pertaining to that train of thought as well as to life in general, I appreciate this reminder.
    And I’m glad that you’re at peace regarding the outcome of The Thing.

    • hahaha relationships whaaaat who said this post was about a relationship *awkward laugh*

      jk I know it’s obvious. 😛 You’re so welcome! And yeah, me too. Still working my way there every day. 🙂

        • yes, the hidden messages. 😄 i tagged it that so that if The Thing actually happens, it’ll be in there along with the whole story – and, you know, if I ever get married to ANYONE, it’ll be in there for the sake of the highs and lows of singledom.

          • HA, love it. xD I word my journal entries in much the same way (semi-cryptic-but-not-really) for that very reason.
            Well, here’s to a productive season of singleness, and to the future joy of reading this story!

have something to say?

