welcome, october.

IMG_3421

i live in a beautiful place. be jelly.

“I’m so glad I live in a world where there are Octobers.”
– L.M. Montgomery

Fall is my favorite season.  Sweaters, freshly-sharpened pencils (bouquets of them), scarfs, knee-high boots, fuzzy socks, and amazing colors are everywhere.  I live in the mountains, so I’m blessed with a lot of gorgeous mountain views, which are at their peak of beauty in autumn.  And movie marathons in snuggly blankets (which I did last night, complete with some spiced cider) are definitely a plus, too.  I’m not a huge pumpkin spice latte fan or anything (GASP), but I love pumpkins and hot chocolate and warm desserts.  (And I wonder why I get a little chubbier this time of year…)

Ever since I read Rainbow Rowell’s Attachments, I’ve always put the following conversation with this season.

From: Beth Fremont

To: Jennifer Scribner-Snyder

Sent: Thurs, 10/14/1999 11:09 AM

Subject: October, at last!

Callooh! Callay!

<<Jennifer to Beth>> At last? October is half over. And what’s in October anyway?

<<Beth to Jennifer>> Not “what’s in,” what is. October. My favorite month. Which, by the way, has only half begun.

Some find it melancholy. “October,” Bono sings, “and the trees are stripped bare . . .”

Not I. There’s a chill in the air that lifts my heart and makes my hair stand on end. Every moment feels meant for me. In October, I’m the star of my own movie—I hear the soundtrack in my head (right now, it’s “Suite: Judy Blue Eyes”)—and I have faith in my own rising action.

I was born in February, but I come alive in October.

<<Jennifer to Beth>> You’re a nut.

<<Beth to Jennifer>> A hazelnut. A filbert.

October, baptize me with leaves! Swaddle me in corduroy and nurse me with split pea soup. October, tuck tiny candy bars in my pockets and carve my smile into a thousand pumpkins.

O autumn! O teakettle! O grace!

<<Jennifer to Beth>> I do love tiny candy bars.

<<Beth to Jennifer>> Merry October!

<<Jennifer to Beth>> All right, Merry October! Why not?

Are there other factors in your unreasonably good mood? Non-autumnal reasons?

<<Beth to Jennifer>> Nope, I don’t think so. I had a really crappy night last night—I went to a Sacajawea party with Chris—but I think that’s actually enhancing my good mood today. I woke up thinking about how, no matter how bad everything else is, there’s still October.

from Attachments by Rainbow Rowell

What are some of your favorite things about Fall?

14 thoughts on “welcome, october.

  1. YES.

    Fall, Autumn, Faul (*wink*) – whatever you want to call it – is the BEST. The leaves are changing over here and the late afternoon sun is glorious. Also, MOUNTAINS. You are so lucky, girl.

    ~Eva

  2. I LOVE October. The trio of October, November, and December are definitely my favorite months! I don’t think anyone can feel truly unhappy while the smell of fall is in the air and those crisp breezes are blowing. 🙂

    It feels like forever since I’ve commented on one of your blog posts, Ashley! I suppose it’s because I usually read your posts on my phone, and I HATE using my phone to comment. It’s a pain and filled with typo-laden misery. (But I am, you know, lurking about, reading them. *That* sounded creepy, lol. 🙂 )

    • I totally agree! My birthday’s in December, so that just makes it even more fun. 🙂 NOPE. (Unless you’re cold… but still – scarves and socks and coats and blankets!!!)

      Haha, it’s okay – and I know the feeling! Glad you’re still reading!!! ❤

  3. Yes. So very much YES. Autumn is the best time of year and October is perfection and that is that. ^_^
    Loved your paragraph of the “feels of fall” – the things you mentioned are definitely among my favorites. Also, huzzah for bonfires! 😀

  4. Cooler weather, those cinnamon-scented brooms and pinecones some stores have at their entryways, apple cider, etc. The list goes on and on. October signals the start of many good things.

  5. Love this!! I could not love fall more. This morning I was at the ballpark and it was that perfect temperature–sunny, but a little chilly. Tonight I have a bonfire at a friend’s house. Campfires in the fall are my absolute favorite.

have something to say?

