re: my summer bucket list.

Well, I think summer’s almost over.  Although I live in Georgia and it’ll feel like summer until mid-October (and summer’s not officially over ’til Sept 22nd), September usually ushers in the back-to-school season, sweaters and scarves, “bouquets of sharpened pencils,” pumpkin everything, and pretty leaves (that fall down, which is why we ‘Muricans call it Fall *smirk emoji*).

It’s been a pretty packed summer, full of trips and ice cream and sweat and movie marathons and friends, and I’ve had a lot of fun.  I’m pretty interested in seeing how I did with that summer bucket list I made at the beginning of summer (even though I forgot about it for a month lol).  Let’s see, shall we?

summer bucket list instagram

  • Finish a TV show (Boy Meets World, which I’m like six episodes from the end of but have put it off for two. years. because I don’t want it to end *sob*; Gilmore Girls, in preparation for Seasons, DUH; Friends and/or Firefly and/or Downton Abbey) – haha well this one didn’t get done.  I did get a little farther in Gilmore Girls, although I’ve decided to put off DA for now.  My sister won’t let me watch Firefly without her, so that’s a no.  And I just started on the sixth season of Friends the other night.  (Yes, I’m obsessed.  Totally a worthy show to be obsessed with, though.)
  • Earn fifteen credits (which I think is gonna happen and that’s AWESOME because I’m SO DONE WITH COLLEGE LOL) – I finished up nine and am halfway through the next six, so I’m gonna consider this one basically finished. 😉
  • Read at least one non-fiction book a month (I read a ton of fiction and thought I’d expand my palate a little this year, starting with Mere Christianity and If You Find This Letter) – Check!  I read a few nonfic books for my writing courses, including a lot of poetry.  Loved it!  And I also read a lot of fiction, duh.  Look at my Goodreads Reading Challenge for more!
  • Finish reading the Old Testament (I was trying to finish this last year and it didn’t get done for whatever reason, and I want to finish it up so I can get back to studying Jesus’s life and Paul’s letters) – Finished last night.  🙂
  • More screen-free time (my school and writing is all on the computer, not to mention Pinterest and Tumblr and my blog and all of that wonderful time-sucking nonsense, so to say I spend a lot of time on the computer is kind of accurate and I kind of hate it and want to spend more time off it this summer by going on walks and coloring and reading more) – Walks and coloring didn’t really happen, but because my current courses require tons of reading (my course on the American novel has twelve novels!), I read a ton.  More than that, I nannied more and spent more time outside, resulting in less screentime (although I did get through five seasons of Friends lol).  I’d consider this one a success.
  • Budgeting my time better (I’m nannying two full days during the summer, instead of the usual two half days, so it’s going to be interesting trying to juggle school and the little munchkins.  I had them yesterday and we went to Chick-fil-A and the library and it was so. much. fun… even though I didn’t get any school done.  Oops.) – (Ooh, that was a fun day!)  It ended up being two half days, just on different days of the week.  I definitely learned how to manage my time better, spending less time on Pinterest and Tumblr and more time with friends and doing school and stuff.
  • Edit The Art of Letting Go (I just got some really good feedback on it, and I’m really looking forward to working on it again and I’m hoping it’ll be done by the end of the summer!) – Yeah, that didn’t happen.  I decided about a month into summer that it was going to happen and that I should just focus on my school.  I did get to work on a little brainstorming and pre-writing for my next novel, and messing around with some fanfiction.  🙂
  • ENJOY THE SUMMER (It’s already pretty hot here in Georgia, but I’m really enjoying it.  Last week, I sat out on the back porch and tried to get a tan and it was really nice.  I’m looking forward to doing that a little more over the summer.) – Yep!  I definitely enjoyed it.  🙂

In addition to this, I also took a road trip with my siblings and friends, got connected with my church, and did a lot.  It’s been a whirlwind, but I’ve enjoyed every moment of it.

What are a few of your summer highlights?

Oh, and happy Harry Potter day!  If you’ll excuse me, I have some books to read.  Gotta get back to Hogwarts… HOGWARTS!

10 thoughts on “re: my summer bucket list.

  1. Pingback: year in review: 2016. | inklings press

  2. Ohhh this sounds like so much fun! YAY FOR A SUCCESSFULLY GLORIOUS SUMMER! I’m so excited we’re coming into Summer in Australia. :’) I’m ready for the beach hahha. And that’s awesome that you still did accomplish a lot of your goals. I love goals and lists. I basically just write them and never get to tick them off but pfft, writing them was half the fun anyway.😂

    • Like I told The Elf above, seasons in different parts of the world are just nuts. I want to experience that someday. O_O HAHAHA, saaaame. I made the list and forgot about it for like a month (and I still haven’t gone back to the list in the picture and checked things off yet – whoops). Have an amazing summer!

  3. Well summer may be almost over for you but spring is just beginning for me, along with the excited summer anticipation the warm weather brings 🙂 Hopefully I’ll be able to force myself away from the screen and spend my spare time outside this summer. Reading, beach, and river fun are definitely on my list! I’m also looking forward to not going through winter again until 2018 as I’m likely in the USA for the whole of next winter! (your summer) 😀

    • Ooh yay! (I’m so fascinated by how seasons work on different parts of the world. Like, snow in July and heat in December??? MIND-BOGGLING.) Sounds like fun!!! WHOA THAT IS SO COOL. You’re just skipping winter. I LOVE IT.

      • Haha we don’t get snow at all where I live! But Christmas wouldn’t be Christmas without that summer holiday feel, the scorching sun and cold ham & turkey! I could never deal with a white Christmas 😁 I AM SO EXCITED FOR NEXT YEAR! (might just have to pick your brain on good places to visit in the US in a few months when I plan my itinerary 😉)

        • We *rarely* get snow, but it did happen on Christmas once, so that was SUPER cool. Wow, that’s so weird. Different! YAY! And definitely do so – I haven’t been nearly enough places here but I can give you tips on where I’d go if I could. 😉

  4. Nice! Sounds like a great summer 🙂

    What were some of my summer highlights? Mmmmmmmmmmmmm . . . I watched a bunch of fun movies . . . and I spent as much time outdoors as I could, given how RIDICULOUSLY HOT it was (Deep South weather, you are not my friend) . . . and I wrote 35000 words of my WW2/Holocaust novel (!!!!) (I had an amazing time with it, and I just hope I can get it finished by the end of next summer. *fingers crossed*)

have something to say?

