a day in the life.

{Now, I know these kinds of things are usually videos, and while I’d love to do vlogs at some point like my amazing friend Rachel, I’m not quite there yet.  We’ll see.  Until I get there, I guess I’ll start out with writing.  Because duh.  Disclaimer: Yep, sometimes my life is this busy, but sometimes it isn’t and, like on Monday, it involves me sitting around reading school books most of the day.  My life is crazy and it will no doubt get crazier, but I’m really enjoying it.}

6:30am – Alarm goes off, snooze button is utilized.

6:45am – Drag myself out of bed.  Dress in a thin sweater and skinny jeans, which feels good for the mildly chilly morning but ends up being a TERRIBLE DECISION IN THE AFTERNOON BECAUSE WHY DIDN’T I THINK OF THE GEORGIA HEAT WHAT THE CRAP.  Pack lunch, laptop, school books, coffee, and misc other items for the day.

7:10am – Leave the house with James (my brother), stop at a friend’s house to take care of their pets, mourn the loss of James’s phone (and thus our usual twenty one pilots karaoke hour), soliloquize on the effects of traffic on the mood.

8:20am – Drop James off at his homeschool co-op entirely too late, cursing the traffic the entire time (but not really).  Drive to Starbucks.

8:30am – Make The Phelps Face when I see that there aren’t any tables available.  Find a table outside even though my laptop is dead.  Text friend happy birthday, peruse the Instagram feed, begrudgingly put phone down and start reading The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn for school.  Contemplate just watching The Best Movie Version (or The Other Best Movie Version) instead of reading the book… but decide to read the book anyway because my conscience wouldn’t let me.

9:15am – Friend comes to spend time with me and we talk about our lives and how much has happened since we last talked.  (It sounded like a lot when I spilled it all out on her, but it didn’t feel like much when I was going through it. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯)

11:02am – Friend leaves (T_T), and I sit inside, power up computer, make The Phelps Face AGAIN when my STUPID LAPTOP won’t connect to the STUPID INTERNET.  Read Huck Finn while rebooting laptop.  Stupid internet still won’t work, so I pack up my things and head to another Starbucks while eating my sandwich lunch.

11:30am – Arrive at second Starbucks.  Watch some Dan&Phil while I get my laptop working again.  Mutter about millennials and their dang wifi-needing-devices never working.

11:45am – Merciful saints, finally start working on school (all the while telling myself that my conversation with my friend was totally worth it and that the wifi situation was completely out of control).  Listen to the Easy A soundtrack while writing a review of The Problem with Forever – it’s for school, I promise!!!  [EDIT: Even though I only spent two or three hours tops on that review… I got a perfect score on it.  Cheating the system works, guys.  *sunglasses emoji*  Read the stunning, A+ review here.]

1:45pm – Text awesome friends while packing up laptop and books, casually adding my two cents on pretentious hipsters who wear glasses simply because they’re required for hipster.  *adjusts men’s converse glasses*  Order salted caramel mocha frappucino that ends up being outrageously expensive but that I buy anyway because it has caramel and mocha drizzles and WHO CAN TURN THAT DOWN, RIGHT?!  Leave Starbucks with my laptop bag and my frap, feeling like a basic white girl.

2:00pm – Pick up The Bro and rant about annoying wifi.  His phone finally turns on, so we listen to twenty one pilots as I drive him to his piano lesson.

2:15pm – Park at the house where he takes piano lessons, push my seat back as far as it’ll go, and work on review, reading it aloud because apparently that’s what you’re supposed to do???  When that’s finished, I watch an episode of Friends with the commentary (“The One with All the Thanksgivings,” if anybody’s a fan).  Read review again, deciding it’s as good as it’s going to get.

3:30pm – Drive over to the library, where I pick up some school books (Ethan Frome by Edith Wharton and Washington Square by Henry James) and a movie (The Outsiders!).  More twenty one pilots as we drive home.

4:00pm – FINALLY HOME AGAIN.  Submit review, work on other school and then browse Tumblr and Pinterest for too long.  Work on some fanfiction (which you guys may or may not see sometime soon).

6:00pm – Parents go out on a date.  Make dinner for the kiddos – chicken nuggets for the littles and James, salad with grilled chicken for me.  (Being gluten-free will never not be lame.)  Read fanfiction Eva wrote while kids watch a movie, then clean the kitchen.

8:00pm – Put kids to bed.  Fast-forward through a Friends episode, playing all the hilarious Chandler moments to show James how much he’s like Chandler.  Ice cream break.  Watch a Monk episode with James (“Mr. Monk and the Hypnotist”), then finish Definitely, Maybe with Mom (so cute!).

10:45pm – Fall into bed, rationalizing that I can take a shower tomorrow morning because it’s too late to do it now and I’m exhausted.  Walk into Mom’s room to talk about plans for the next day when I suddenly remember that I was supposed to take care of the aforementioned friend’s pets again.  Scramble for keys and a car, drive over there, take care of the pets while listening to Waitress because dark, quiet houses freak me out, drive back home (yawning the entire time).

11:30pm – Collapse into bed again.  Nightly devotions and prayer journaling.

12am – Sleep.  Finally.

5 thoughts on “a day in the life.

  1. Pingback: year in review: 2016. | inklings press

  2. College life . . . AGGGGGHHHHHHHHHHHHH I FEEL YOU.

    (I just started grad school, and so far it’s been a lot of work–although pretty great as well 🙂 )

  3. Sheesh. Sounds exhausting just reading about it! Thank goodness someone had the sense to turn coffee into a popular drink for quick pick-me-ups. I would have 3-4 cups by day’s end.

    • 😄 It was pretty nuts. YES. I can’t have too much because it makes me jittery, but I definitely needed two cups (and I think some sweet tea) by the end of the day.

have something to say?

