poetry | masquerade.

In masks

I find my respite.

Hide who I am inside

if only to keep people from

somehow finding out who I really

am and hating me for it. Hating me

for being me. Why do I do this?

I shouldn’t. I should be real.

But I’m scared. Too

scared about what

people will think.

But.

If I could

somehow try

to learn how to be

real. To let them in. To

Express myself without these

masks. I could find, in myself,

a bigger person. A girl who

knows her dreams and

isn’t afraid of them.

Who doesn’t let

life pass her

by.

Yes.

I will be that person.

I’ll let go of the masks.

Come what may.

11 thoughts on “poetry | masquerade.

  1. Pingback: year in review: 2016. | inklings press

  2. YES. This speaks to me on such a personal level. And…wow. I’m not a huge fan of poetry, but you wrote this so splendidly. I love it!!! 🙂

  3. Have I told you recently how wonderful your gift with words is????? Seriously, this is some powerful stuff.
    I definitely agree with the message. Too many times, I’ve found myself hiding behind masks. I’m working on it, but there are still times in want to. Especially when meeting new people. But I’m learning to let people see the Real Me, not a facade.

    • AWW. 🙂 Thanks, girl. I love you. ❤

      Me, too. It's so hard to be authentic with people, but it's so freeing – and so worth it, because then they feel free to be authentic with you. 🙂

have something to say?

