here comes the sun.

Christina Grimmie.  The Orlando shooting.  Anton Yelchin.

I don’t understand why bad things happen.  Sometimes I pretend to, just to make myself feel better.  And that’s wrong.

It’s not easy to function when all of these things hit us one after another.  Yesterday, after I heard about Anton, I cried for a while, and then wondered how I was supposed to “be on” today – school, work, everyday life – in the midst of all of this crushing sadness.

It’s not easy to trust God.  It’s not easy to think that His way is best.  This is why I fail most of the time.

Which is why it’s in those moments that I have to run to God and cling to Him.  Because it’s in those moments that He’s all I have left.

I’m learning to trust God through the pain.  It’s so incredibly hard and some days I don’t want to do it and some days I put my headphones on and listen to my screamo ukulele so I can have an excuse to scream and cry and blame it on twenty øne piløts.  But I always try to come back to God and go, “Listen, I don’t know why this is happening and I don’t know why You’re letting it happen, but I’m choosing to trust You despite it, so please help me through it and give me peace.”

I choose to hope.  I choose to trust.  I choose to have joy.  I choose to do this, because sometimes it’s all I can do.

(This is my favorite cover of Here Comes the Sun by one of my favorite people.  The song starts at 1:31.)

4 thoughts on “here comes the sun.

  1. Amen to everything you said here.

    It’s been a tough couple of weeks. I’ve listened to Christina Grimmie’s cover of “Just a Dream” about a hundred times, and I’m still having a hard time processing the fact that yes, someone actually chose to kill such a sweet, amazing person. But you’re so right–God is still in control and He can help us through it all.

    • It really has!

      I still can’t listen to that yet. I listened to Sam Tsui’s cover of it in memory of her, and it was sad enough without her part. : / I know – I can’t understand that at *all*. Amen.

have something to say?

