review | captain america: civil war

{So since my ‘thoughts i had during civil war’ post would literally just be “WHERE IS BUCKY” “BHAHAHA” “WHAT OH MY GOSH” “AHHHHHH”  “AHHHHHHHHH” “AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH” “WAIT WHAT?!”… yeah.  Here’s my slightly-more coherent review.  I’ve kept it spoiler-free for anyone who hasn’t seen it yet.  But go see it asap.  Because it’s awesome.}

Civil War1“Compromise where you can. Where you can’t, don’t. Even if everyone is telling you that something wrong is something right. Even if the whole world is telling you to move, it is your duty to plant yourself like a tree, look them in the eye, and say ‘No, YOU move’.” – Peggy Carter (ish)

I’ve been a huge fan of Captain America for a while now, and it’s no surprise that I was really looking forward to this movie.  After all, I’ve been waiting for it for two years.  I had no idea how the Russo brothers were going to pull off everything they were attempting, but I knew I had to join along for the ride.

AND BOY WAS IT AMAZING.  (Shocker, right?  A Marvel movie, amazing? *sarcastic gasp*)

The Story

“With many people fearing the actions of super heroes, the government decides to push for the Anti-Hero Registration Act, a law that limits a heroes actions. This results in a division in The Avengers. Iron Man stands with this Act, claiming that their actions must be kept in check otherwise cities will continue to be destroyed, but Captain America feels that saving the world is daring enough and that they cannot rely on the government to protect the world. This escalates into an all-out war between Team Iron Man (Iron Man, Black Panther, Vision, Black Widow, War Machine, and Spiderman) and Team Captain America (Captain America, Bucky Barnes, Falcon, Sharon Carter, Scarlett Witch, Hawkeye, and Ant Man) while a new villain emerges.” (from IMDb)

Basically, yes.

Civil War2Because of their values, Steve and Tony are at odds.  Tony has seen first-hand what destruction his weapons (and the Avengers’ actions) have caused, and wants them to be put in check.  (“If we can’t accept limitations, we’re no better than the bad guys.”)  Steve sees it, too, but he’s always disliked the thought of a government being able to tell them what to do and what not to do.  (“I know we’re not perfect, but the safest hands are still our own.”)

(I went into it siding with neither of them, but on Team Cap because my loyalties will forever lie with him.  During one of the big debates between Tony and Steve, where they were both laying out their opinions, I leaned into my friend and said, “I literally don’t know whose side I’m on!”  And she replied, “Me neither!”  Both sides were given equal screentime and shown with complete objectivity, and both were incredibly valid.  I still don’t know what side I’d be on if this were a real issue. … OH WAIT.  IT IS.)

As the plot furthers and things come to light, the different members of the Avengers (plus a few extras) join sides.  Then it gets real.

The Cast and Characters

Team Cap

Civil War3Obviously, we should start with Captain America himself, aka Steve Rogers.  He’s always been my favorite Marvel hero (and one of my favorite heroes of all time), and this was certainly no exception.  Steve fights bravely for his rights in this addition to his series (the finale of his trilogy, I think), and I love him more than ever.  He really can do it all day.

As always, Chris Evans blew it out of the park and I love him way too much.  Every single emotion was acted perfectly, and even the little moments where Steve was thinking or looking at someone (hello, that scene when Steve noticed Wanda reeling from the footage in Sokovia and told the Secretary of State that it was enough) – absolute perfection.

Civil War6BUCKY BARNES AKA JAMES BUCHANAN BARNES AKA MY LOVE.  OH MY GOSH.  As always, there wasn’t enough Bucky in this film.  (But is there ever, really?  I would’ve gladly paid $15 just to sit through three hours of Bucky hiding out, buying produce, eating granola bars, and working on his little notebook.  Srsly.)  He’s amazing, though, as always.  Dry-witted and angsty and THE MURDER STRUT.  AWW YISS.  I won’t talk about the Winter Soldier parts because spoilers and because it’s just TOO MUCH.’

Sebastian Stan is a national treasure.  He just is.  He was flawless in his, what, nine minutes of screentime in Winter Soldier, and doubly so in this one (and he was basically in the whole thing!!!).  The contrast between his on-screen personality as Bucky and his off-screen interviews and whatnot as himself is just the DEFINITION of amazing acting.  He’s my stupidly perfect Romanian jerkface.  And that is all.

Civil War7The rest of the team is pretty amazing, too.  Scarlet Witch’s guilt over the innocent lives she took at Sokovia (and the scene in the beginning of the film) is apparent, Falcon’s loyalty to Steve is key, the addition of Scott Lang as Ant-Man was the comic relief the film needed, Clint (Hawkeye) is just FABULOUS (as always, duh), and I guess you could say Sharon Carter was on his team, too.  (WINKKKKK.)  (And, by the way, she speaks at The Funeral, confirming everything we already knew.  YESSSSS.)

Team Iron Man

Civil War 9.jpgTony Stark… gosh, I have such a love-hate relationship with him.  He’s so funny and smart and the Avengers would be nothing without him… but he’s also very prideful and has this HUGE ego and never thinks he’s in the wrong.  (He guessed it in Age of Ultron, though, and he admits it in this one, too.  So yay.)  I can see where he’s coming from, having had all of this emotional trauma in his early life to frame his worldview and the personal stories he’s heard of how his weapons have destroyed lives, blah blah blah… but I just have very little sympathy for him.  THAT SAID, when the teams got together for The Big Fight – the one in the trailer, so no spoilers here – I literally didn’t know which team to root for.  WHICH IS WEIRD?!  But partially because Team Iron Man has so many great characters in it, as you’ll see below.

Robert Downey, Jr. is Tony Stark.  He just is.  He knows all of his quirks, flaws, weaknesses, strengths, etc, and every aspect of his character is completely lifelike.

Civil War8Skimming a little to get to one of my favorite characters in the entire movie…  Natasha’s character wasn’t quite as deep as I would’ve liked it – especially the tension between her and Clint, who were on DIFFERENT SIDES WHAT THE EVEN HECK – but I still liked how she pleaded (in vain) with Steve to “stay outta this one.”  Iron Patriot was good (he added a camaraderie to Tony’s character because they’re bros) and Vision was okay (and the paprika scene was hilarious and made me ship the thing a little harder *wink*).  Black Panther (Prince T’Challa) was really great, except I didn’t like his motive, which was to kill Bucky.  So I didn’t like him ’til the end.  BECAUSE WHO COULD LIKE SOMEONE WHO WAS AGAINST MY PRECIOUS CHILD?!  Anyway.  He had a pretty valid motive, though.  (And that’s all I’ll say because spoilers.)

Civil War4OKAY SO SPIDERMAN.  GUYS.  OH MY GOSH.  Okay, so I have quite a few favorite Marvel superheroes, but Spidey’s way up there (probably like #3).  I was first introduced to Peter Parker with Tobey McGuire (just the first one, though – I didn’t watch the second and third ’til after the two reboots), but I liked Andrew Garfield’s take on the character a little more.  ALL THAT SAID, I’m pretty sure Tom Holland’s version is my favorite.  When he first came onscreen, I knew he’d be my favorite.  He looked, acted, and talked like the quintessential Peter Parker – awkward, angsty, witty teenage kid (and Tom is actually a teenager – IMAGINE THAT) who stumbles upon powers that he uses to make the world a better place.  Without going into it too much, they introduced his character without rehashing anything we already know.  Which was perfect.  And that just set up his entire character.  His voice cracks constantly, he’s a REALISTIC KID, he’s hilarious, and he’s still kind of in awe of all the people around him.  And did I mention he’s HILARIOUS?!  (“Hey, guys, you ever see that really old movie, Empire Strikes Back???”  I laughed so hard.)

And Tom Holland.  Man.  That kid’s gonna go places.

As for the other characters, Martin Freeman as Everett K. Ross was great (but unexpectedly AMERICAN – so it didn’t sound like John/Bilbo at all – and I loved his abnormally un-timid character), and Daniel Bruhl as Zemo… gosh, I loved him.  No more, though – spoilers.

ALSO, THE VILLAIN ISN’T WHO YOU THINK IT IS.  Partially because he isn’t in any of the trailers, partially because I don’t know which comic he’s in.

Objectionable Content

Civil War10.gifThis one had a little more language than the Marvel movies I’ve seen (okay, maybe except Ant-Man).  Some profanities and obscenities were muffled by other sounds, but most were there.  Lots of blood, as is expected in a movie with a few big battle scenes.  It was pretty intense, but most of the violence was shown with a shaky-cam.  There was one pretty intense water torture scene that I didn’t like.  And there was nothing by way of sexual scenes – just one kiss.  See IMDb’s Parents Guide for specifics.

The Bottom Line

Basically, it was one of my favorite Avengers movies ever, but it’s hard to compare it to others because it deals with different things than the other Marvel movies.  It’s about friends fighting friends, which always has issues.  As Dumbledore said, “It takes a great deal of bravery to stand up to our enemies, but just as much to stand up to our friends.”

I loved the way Kevin of Say Goodnight Kevin explained it, so if you want a more clear review (sans fangirling), watch his initial review!

As with all other Marvel movies, it’s the perfect blend of action and intensity, with enough depth to make you think but enough comic relief to make you laugh.  And just a dash of romance, which I always love.  Recipe for a perfect superhero film.

TAKE THAT, DC.

Civil War5

16 thoughts on “review | captain america: civil war

  1. Pingback: thirteen fantastic movies & what i thought of them. | inklings press

  2. Pingback: year in review: 2016. | inklings press

      • Oh. Yeah… so one time I was talking to a friend about these books and I was like, “So you know so-and-so dies?” and she was like “… I …. I actually haven’t read that one yet.” And I felt really bad but TWO MINUTES LATER WE WERE TALKING ABOUT ANOTHER BOOK AND I was like “Oh it was so sad when he died wasn’t it?” AND SHE LIKE “I HAVEN’T READ THAT ONE EITHER”. It was the double whammy. I am so bad at keeping secrets.

  3. *Spoilers in this comment*

    First off, THIS MOVIE WAS GREAT AND DIDN’T RIP MY SOUL OUT I’M SO HAPPY ABOUT THAT.

    BUCKKKKYYYY. YES. PROTECT THAT MAN AT ALL COST. I would join you in paying $15 just to watch him do normal life things.

    Fun fact: Wanda and Vision actually get married and have twins in the comics! Their relationship is amazing. (I just love Wanda in general tbh)

    My favorite thing about Team Cap (besides the position they take) is the friendship. ALL THE LOYAL FRIENDSHIPS GAAHHH SO MUCH LOVE FOR IT.

    Sharon’s speech: Someone better put that on my gravestone or I’mma come back and haunt someone.

    T’Challa > Tony

    (Before I go into Tony, I want you to know that I’m actually studying pyschology, soon to be LUO through CP/Lumerit. So I’m not just trying to justify my #TeamCap side – I do kinda have experience with this.)

    But poor Tony. Honestly, I felt that it should be called Captain America: Please Tony, You Need to Go to Therapy You Presh Bby.

    Like, Nat was the Pro-Registration act (let’s do it, but let’s also be flexible about it), and Tony was just blindsided by someone who manipulated his survivor’s guilt and PTSD.

    But I’m super glad how they finished the movie with all parties ACTUALLY ACTING LIKE MOSTLY RATIONAL ADULTS. I thought that they were going to go in the comic books’ directions, but THANK YOU RUSSO BROS FOR NOT DOING THAT.

    What do you mean Natasha had no character development???? Jk, I know exactly how you feel. 🙂 My friend and I have been complaining about her lack of it for about two years. However, if I may, I would like for you to look at it this way: She mentors Wanda somewhat, and she never lets anything stand in the way of the fact that even though they think differently, the Avengers are still friends, no matter the different opinions. Her character is becoming more level – the Avengers are her friends, and she’s loyal to a fault.

    Another fun fact: CW is literally supposed to tear Marvel apart. So the couples in the movie being on different sides makes sense. It causes Mr. Fantastic and the Invisible Woman from the Fantastic Four to divorse. This was supposed to be around 300 marvel characters fighting each other. (Thankfully not the case in the movie, or I would’ve not survived)

    I bet you’re excited for Spiderman: Homecoming then 🙂

    Don’t hate on my DC 🙂 (Yeah, there movies are pretty bad. But Wonder Woman looks to be good, and Aquaman BETTER be good or there will be rioting)

    I JUST REALLY LOVE THIS MOVIE. Thank you for letting me talk about it with you! 🙂

    • YES YES YESSSSSS. Bucky must be protected AT ALL COSTS.

      I know!!! Which is why I’m SO HAPPY IT’S IN THE MCU!!!

      YESSS. The broship between all the members of Team Cap is just FAB.

      I need it on my gravestone, too.

      T’CHALLA>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> tony.

      (Oh that’s so cool! I love studying psychology – and I’m a CP student, too, if you didn’t know that. XD)

      SRSLY THO. I love the fact that SPOILER everybody was basically on Team Cap by the end. MUAHAHAHA.

      You are so right. Since he funded all the weapons, he felt it the most – and bc that lady shoved the picture of her son in his face. (BAD LADY.) YES YES YESSSSSSS.

      I just think she wasn’t in it enough. And it seemed like she kinda flip-flopped. Esp when SPOILER she let Bucky and Steve go in the end. SRSLY THO I THOUGHT T’CHALLA WAS GONNA KILL HER. That would’ve been SO BAD. (But T’Challa is such a cinnamon roll…)

      T_T That’s so terrible. I’m not ready. (YES. I think that’s what’s gonna happen in Infinity War – bc all the Marvel characters will be in it. GAHHHHH.)

      OH DUH ABSOLUTELY YES.

      Heehee. I won’t. I just don’t *prefer* DC.

      I DO TOOOOOOO. And you’re welcome. 🙂

      • During the bromance scenes, (especially the car scene LOLOL) I was doing the elmo on fire meme expression and my brother was looking at me like I’d lost my dang mind. 🙂 I loved it that much.

        Yep – one of your year end posts about how weirdly your CP schooling was going actually had kept me sane through my first year. (And thank you for earlier CP post – I think I tried to thank you on GR but that website hates me sooo..)

        One of the people I follow on Twitter was like ‘Both Spidey and T’Challa on IM’s side? I call foul.’ But hahahahaha sorry Tony!

        Yes, that awesome Nat needs to be seen more. But someone had mentioned to me that there was supposed to be a spy on IM’s side, and I was like ‘please be Nat!’ I think it goes back to her character – she sees what Tony idealisticly (? I can’t tell if that’s right or not :/ ) wants, but also knows that to work best in this job, you need freedom. And Steve has never truely judged her for her decisions, so she’s not going to judge him for his decisions.

        I WANT MY T’CHALLA MOVIE ASAP HE’S AWESOME

        Yeah, now I’m kinda dreading Infinity War bc it’s split into 2 movies *Into the Wood’s “Agony” .gif inserted here*

        Also, I bought your book! I have an obnoxious amount of school and marvel comics/other books to get through, but I’m super ready to read it and I’m considering skipping to your book. 🙂

        • THE CAR SCENE. XD SAME. OH. MY. GOSH. I loved the camaraderie between Sam and Bucky. 🙂

          Aww I’m so glad!!! Other CP students’ advice on it keeps me sane, too. It’s hard bc we’re so scattered but we all can totally understand what everybody else is going through. You’ll get through it, I promise!!!

          HA. Srsly tho. 😛

          I KNOW. I think it was her, too, bc she wasn’t FULLY on his side. YES. So true! GOSH I LOVE HER SO MUCH.

          YESSSSSSS.

          Oh my gosh I won’t be able to wait. T_T

          Aww thank you!!!!! Haha, well I hope you like it, then. 😛

have something to say?

