in defense of collegeplus {lumerit} students.

*smashes through a wall*

Hello, my followers, I am here to defend CollegePlus (aka Lumerit) students.

Why?

Because we need defending.

I don’t talk about CP much because it’s a facet of my life that isn’t as interesting as books I’m reading or movies I’m currently obsessing over.  It’s a huge part of my life, though, and I feel like I need to straighten some things out.

IMG_0547.JPG

i study with snacks and a good book to motivate me

Number One: CollegePlus isn’t easy.  Far from it, actually.  I’ve found that, in a lot of cases, CP is even harder than “normal” college.  For the most part, I study alone, I celebrate my successes alone, and I cry alone.  (Sometimes at Starbucks, but that’s another story for another time.)  I am part of a greater, entirely WONDERFUL community of like-minded students who do CP because they don’t want to settle for the norm.  But since that community is largely spread over the entire world, I only know a few CP students in my area.  (But they’re some of my best friends.)  I have a coach who helps me plan and learn and researches things for me, but the majority of the responsibility is on my shoulders.

Number Two: CollegePlus doesn’t always take less time than “normal” college.  I know people who’ve done it in less than four years (my crazy neighbor graduated high school at sixteen and CP at eighteen – yes, she’s nuts).  But the {silent} majority doesn’t.  CP is an incredible opportunity to do college at your own pace… and sometimes that pace is four, five, or even six years.  I know CP students who have disabilities or health problems or have huge families or just want to do other things while they’re earning their degree.  And that’s okay.  I’d rather spend these years writing and reading and spending time with my family and friends than spend it locked away in my room.  It’s taking a little longer than I’d hoped, but that’s fine by me.

IMG_0824.JPG

sometimes i color while i study

Number Three: CollegePlus isn’t “homeschool college.”  There’s no such thing.  (Unless your parents are both professors and they’ve started a college out of your basement, in which case… good for you???)  I don’t know if you know this, but the majority of the tests I’ve taken are CLEPs or DSSTs.  I’m about to take my last DSST, and then it’s all courses – through actual colleges, believe it or not!  I just finished up one through LSU (yes, the LSU) earlier this year, and I’m halfway through one through BYU (yes, the BYU).  In case you’re wondering, none of this is fake.  There’s no more Saxon math, no more Exploring Creation With ______ with Dr. Jay Wile, and no more assignments graded by your mom.  (“You missed a few spelling words, but since you did the dishwasher today, you get an A.  Great job! <3”)  I miss those days sometimes – especially that time when my professor didn’t know I spent literally hours on a paper and gave me a C.  (On the same day that my coach quit.  Yay.)  And sometimes, since CP students are long-distance learners, we don’t get our questions answered promptly – sometimes not at all.  I got behind in a course because my professor didn’t email me back for three weeks.  CollegePlus is hard, man.

Number Four: And, finally, CollegePlus is not for the faint of heart.  If you don’t like going to colleges to test, CP isn’t for you.  If you don’t like calling strangers at colleges halfway across the country, CP isn’t for you.  If you don’t take big tests well, CP isn’t for you.  If you can’t handle tons of responsibility, CP isn’t for you.

{However, if you want to save money on college and maybe even be debt-free, CP is for you.  If you want to learn how to do the things you love while you’re doing the things you love, CP is for you.  If you want to meet amazing people (people you may actually fall in love with because CPHarmony IS A THING), CP is for you.}

study hall.png

sometimes i study with friends {talking most of the time, obvs}

CollegePlus is hard, guys.  It takes effort and determination and an incredible amount of coffee.  I’m tired of hearing CP students get discouraged because of people who tell them that they’re “just taking the easy way out” or “not really getting their degree” or “not working as hard as _____ is at ______ College/University.”  Please don’t be that person.  If you know a CP student, give them a Pixar soundtrack and some links to BlimeyCow videos and maybe a Starbucks giftcard.  They’ll appreciate it more than you know.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m gonna figure out how to study for this super-hard DSST, work on my BYU course, and then maybe storm the gates of LSU until they give me my transcript so I can transfer it to my target school, Thomas Edison State University.

15 thoughts on “in defense of collegeplus {lumerit} students.

  1. Pingback: year in review: 2016. | inklings press

  2. Yooooo BYU! 🙂 and I say good for you! Telling someone their college is less valuable for no other reason than the fact that it’s not the same as yours is definitely a no-no. I’m glad you’re talking about your experience there because I’ve always been curious what a real live CP student thinks about it-we hear a lot from “regular” college students but we need to hear different perspectives too. 🙂

    • Thaaaaaaaank you! It irritates me so much and I’m glad somebody understands. 🙂 Real Live CP Students basically love CP, but it’s hard to defend ourselves sometimes and make our education seem valid because we’re studying at home. It’s cheaper and more flexible than “normal” college, and I love it. 🙂

  3. Why didn’t I know about this when I started college?!? You have no idea how much I miss self paced, individualized learning!! It has been a particularly rough semester. At least I found out about CLEPs and now I can graduate a semester early. 🙂

    I’m a serious advocate of school choice. The choice part is key. One method does not work for everyone! Between my siblings, we did everything: homeschooled, cyberschooled, public school, and private school. (Thankfully I never when to public school *shudders* but it really worked for my brother) My mom wanted to provide us with the style of learning that fit us the best. For that, I am eternally grateful.

    • A lot of people don’t know about it. I have no idea why – it’s amazing! Yay for graduating early!!!

      I am, too. Homeschooling doesn’t work for everybody, just like public schooling doesn’t work for everybody. (I did public school through kindergarten. It was an Experience. 😄 I actually really liked it.) Good for you guys! My mom felt the same way. 🙂

  4. I know you guys work hard, Ashley. Online classes are ALWAYS more work–I know that for a fact–and I totally respect what y’all are doing. Best of luck with everything.

    (On a similar note, I actually graduate in TWO WEEKS. WHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAT.)

    • Thank you. And, duh, Starbucks is a must. I already had two cups of coffee this morning while I was on the phone with someone from College Board and someone from LSU. 😄

  5. All I think about when I hear ‘CollegePlus’ is ‘Go to CollegePlus dot Cow to get a free trial today’ in Josh Taylor’s voice. 😛

    I’m SURE you CollegePlus guys are awesome people. CollegePlus myths debunked forever! 🙂

    • HA. Yepppp. (I love that they have a connection with CP. I was able to tell Josh that a CP group supported their podcast and he instantly knew who I was. YAY.)

      We really are. *sunglasses emoji*

  6. That’s exactly right, Eowyn! CP is not easy, but it is the best thing for many students with responsibility and determination.

have something to say?

