literally nothing changes.

My sister got me addicted to some old educational videos made in the 40’s, 50’s, and 60’s, and I’ve been watching them during my study breaks.  It’s so interesting to see how life has changed since then, but it’s also made me realize how much has stayed the same!

We’re all guilty of romanticizing the past and thinking about how great it would’ve been to live in a previous generation.  After all, at first glance (or halfway through our marathon of WWII-centered movies), they had better clothes, better manners, a more dignified vocabulary, and more respect for others… didn’t they?

Not everybody wears a suit or a dress to work or says “shan’t” anymore, but I think we’ve come a long way in some respects.  For instance, think about the racism and discrimination that went on a little over half a century ago.  Segregation was still common – a hundred years after the Civil War!  White people rioted when black teens started going to school with white children.  We still have racial problems today, but segregated bathrooms, churches, and even water fountains are (thankfully) a thing of the past.

I watched The Imitation Game a while ago, and it really impacted me – not just because of Benedict Cumberbatch (swoon), or even how much of a genius Alan Turing was.  The thing that impacted me the most was how poorly Alan was treated, simply because he was gay.  To be completely honest with you guys, I’m not sure where I stand on homosexuality (whether it’s a depraved mind issue or whether it’s an actual genetic thing – or a little of both), but I know for a fact that people are people and should be treated as such.  For the government to treat Alan so badly and deny him credit for all of the wonderful work he did and all the lives he saved and HELLO how many years of war he prevented SIMPLY BECAUSE HE’S GAY… ugh.  It’s disgusting.

Anyway, watch this video that I found about safety for girls.  The key is mostly just to apply common sense in situations, but it also shows that there were sleazy guys out there in the 60’s, just like there are today.  (And, honestly, I think girls today are safer than girls back then.  We have cell phones and pepper spray and, because of all of the rape culture information constantly going out, people have even developed preventative apps for this kind of thing.)

Be safe, kids.  And don’t romanticize the past.  You were born when you were born because God had a reason for it, and, honestly, wishing you were born at any other time is rebelling against God and saying His plan isn’t good enough for you.  Idk but I think that’s wrong.  (Just kidding.)  (I do know.)  (And that’s wrong.)  (#justsayin)

12 thoughts on “literally nothing changes.

  1. Pingback: year in review: 2016. | inklings press

  2. I’m guilty of romanticizing the past, too. It’s hard not to. But it’s really true that God placed us in this time for a reason, and if we spend all our time wishing we were in a different time period, or even in a different state, country, or situation, then we’re neglecting what God has for us to do here and now.

    And my two cents on homosexuality, I believe it’s a result of depravity and simply a temptation and sin, but I also think homosexuals should be treated just like any other sinner that needs Jesus. Because they are.

  3. It’s pretty hard NOT to romanticize the past (for me, at least) but I think I’m doing better with that these days. 🙂 Great post! (And I’m super duper happy I was born in the 21st century because HELLO there are sooooooo many awesome things these days PLUS we get to enjoy movies and books and all that from previous eras as well. WIN. ;))

    • I’m so glad! : ) I used to do it, too (particularly like 5 years ago, when I was SUPER obsessed with the Regency era), but I’m so happy with where I am right now. I really couldn’t imagine being anywhere else. And, YEP, that’s the best reason I’m happy with where I am right now!

  4. Thanks for this post, Ashley. It’s so important to remember–things WERE NOT ALWAYS BETTER IN THE PAST. We live in a fallen world, and it’s always been a fallen world . . . and going back in time wouldn’t fix one little thing.

    You’re right, too, about homosexuality. Regardless of our moral views on it, people are people and must be treated with respect. It’s not okay to deny someone credit for the good things they’ve done just because they’re different from us.

  5. Good post! Makes me glad to have a cell phone and a cop for a dad who made sure we all know how to take care of ourselves in trouble.

    I know that I sometimes wish I could live in a different time period, but then I would miss out on all the good I’ve got here! I’m content to enjoy the best of both worlds.

have something to say?

