story snippet | wes and lily.

Hello friends guess what I’M A SENIOR IN COLLEGE AS OF LIKE SIX HOURS AGO.  BLAH.

jimmy fallon yes.gif

jimmy is me. i am jimmy. we are one and the same.

Here’s a new story snippet I wrote last week.  I don’t like this one as much as the others, but I’m in a good mood, so here you go.  It was inspired by this story prompt and, like the others, it’s all that I have (and it’s all that I need and the waves of the water mean nothing to me) and I have no idea what happens before or after, so don’t ask, lol.  (I’m brainstorming my next novel, though, so at the end of this course, you guys can tell me which snippet you liked best and I may or may not expand it into a novel.  We shall see.)

If you’ll excuse me, I’m off to eat chocolate and finish crying over (500) Days of Summer.


“It never stops hurting, does it?”

“What?”

“Giving someone the best part of you and watching them choose someone else.”

I watched her process it, knowing I hit a nerve. But I didn’t care.

“Look, I’m sorry, Wes, but sometimes you can’t choose who you love.”

No,” I said, standing up. “You can. You did,” I told her, taking a step forward.

She leaned back a little but stood her ground.

“You picked someone else, Lily,” I said. “I loved you and you picked him.”

“Like I had a choice!” she protested, throwing her hands in the air.

I frowned, not understanding. “What do you mean?”

“Seriously? You think my parents would let me love you?” She crossed her arms and sighed. “They would hate you. They would hate us.”

“So you decided to play it safe and pick him, is that it?”

She stared at me, emotions playing all over her face, but didn’t say anything.

I shoved my hands in my pockets. “Fine. If that’s the way you want it… fine.”

Her shoulders slumped. “I’m sorry, Wes.”

She put her hand out to touch me, but I jerked back.

“I didn’t mean to hurt you!”

I pulled on my jacket and ignored her, starting towards the door.

“Look, if it makes it any different…”

I froze, listening.

“If it makes it any different, the feelings I have for him don’t rival the ones I have for you – had.” She sighed again, as if finally convincing herself. “Had for you.”

“Then why?” I whipped around and stared at her. “Why would you do this?”

“Because it would never work out!” she yelled at me, tears shimmering in her eyes.

“We could’ve made it work out,” I countered. “That’s what love is, right? Working at something until it grows deeper than either of you could’ve ever imagined?”

“It’s not that simple, Wes.”

“No, Lily, it is,” I spat back at her. I ripped my messenger bag off the bench next to the door, shooting back as I walked out, “You just made it more complicated than it needs to be.”

“Wes, come back!” I heard her cry as I headed for the door.

“Too late,” I shouted over my shoulder. “Wreck somebody else’s life. I’m done letting you ruin mine.”

Her sobs echoed through the corridor, and I shut them off with a slam of the door.

 

18 thoughts on “story snippet | wes and lily.

  1. Senior in college, eh? Welcome to the club! *offers Ashley a (non-alcoholic) drink in celebration*

    Another great story snippet, Ashley! 🙂 Wes sounds . . . complicated. Not sure if we would get along. If we met in real life, that is. You know.

    • Nice! *clinks champagne glasses full of Capri Sun*

      Thanks! Haha, yeahhhh. Unfortunately, I know guys like him. Needless to say, we don’t get along. XD

          • Thank you!! I really want to get a PhD in history and work at a university; that’s why I’m going on. Otherwise, I’d be SO DONE WITH THIS. 🙂

            Good luck with graduating in December! What are your plans for after you finish?

  2. I’m going to try and comment again. lol. Maybe it will work this time.

    Your story sounds sad . I hate love triangles. Also. I can understand both these characters view points and it makes me irritated. *puffs out cheeks*

    I hope you get this comment. You’ve not gotten the others.

  3. DANG! The feels are overwhelming; another great snippet. I’m on Wes’ side – love is a choice and it does take work. But I feel for Liliy, too – wanting to please everyone and ultimately pleasing no one. 😥

have something to say?

