story snippet | the flatmates.

*emerges out of studying and weeping hole*

School is hard.  College is harder.  Blogging while trying to do college (on my ownnnn) is hard.  (And if anyone says CollegePlus students have it easier, well then *flips a table* FIGHT ME.)

The worst thing about blogging more often is pressure to post more (mostly from myself, though).  But the best parts about blogging (all of my lovely followers, writing about random things, tossing my opinions out into The Void That Is The Internet) far outweigh the bad things.

I’m brainstorming several posts for you guys, I swear.  I have like four really long ones that I have planned out but haven’t gotten the time to write yet.  And I’ll write them when I figure out how to give myself study breaks.  (Which may be never, lol *weeps silently*)

BUT MEANWHILE, have this new story snippet I wrote yesterday.  It’s based off a Pinterest story starter I saw a few months ago that has been stewing in my brain.  (BECAUSE OF THIS WRITING COURSE I’M FINALLY ABLE TO WORK ON ALL OF THESE PLOT BUNNIES THAT HAVE BEEN HOPPING AROUND MY BRAIN FOR AGES.  YAYYYYYYY.)  And I love it because it allows me to experiment with characters and situations that I don’t usually work with – especially the not-necessarily-PG ones that I used to write all the time.  (Except The Art of Letting Go is pretty PG-13, so yay for graduating from feeling like I can only write homeschool-children-friendly stories.  *party emoji*)

Again, it’s a first draft, unedited, freewrite, blah blah blah.


The Flatmates

Jaden stumbled into the apartment, flicking the lightswitch as he did so.

“Oi!” he heard Laurie called out in objection from the other room.

“Sorry,” he muttered, turning the light off again. He felt the pain in his side flare up again and he pressed his hand to his side, moaning softly. Reaching out with his other hand in the darkness, he felt for the sofa.

The light flicked on again and he looked up. Laurie had turned on the other lightswitch and was now standing in the doorway, her arms folded across her chest.

“It’s three in the morning,” she told him.

“I know,” he replied, stumbling the last few steps towards the couch and using what felt like his last ounce of strength to collapse into it.

“Well, I told you to be back by midnight last time.”

He glared at her. “Sorry, Mum.”

She let out an exasperated huff and turned to go back into her room.

“Hey, wait,” Jaden said.

She stopped, then turned around, raising her eyebrows and looking fed-up.

“Can you get me some water?” he asked, wincing in pain.

“Get it yourself, you lazy pillock,” she replied.

He frowned, pressing his hand to his side. “Fine.” He stood, swayed a little, then fell back on the couch.

Seeing this, Laurie started forward, then froze in order to maintain her facade of carelessness. “Are you alrigh’?” she asked, the facade failing.

“No,” he replied brusquely. He pulled his hand away from his side and held it up, showing her the blood on it.

She calmly sprung into action, bringing a wet towel and bandages and starting to clean the wound before asking any questions.

“What happened this time?” she asked, frowning at the wound.

Jaden’s fist clenched. “Got mixed up in some sort of gang fight,” he lied.

Laurie looked up at him, obviously not believing him. “You’ve gotta stop, Jay. Whatever this is – whatever you do at night – it’s got to stop. You won’t last another fight like this, and I don’t want to have to tell your mum that you got yourself killed.”

“I know, Laur,” he told her, rolling his eyes, then wincing in pain as she poured antiseptic on the cut.

“Looks like a knife wound,” she observed a moment later, glancing up at him. He continued to stare at the wall and didn’t reply, so she kept working.

A few minutes later, she tightened the bandage one last time and her work was done. She stood up, wiped her hands on a towel, then slapped Jaden across the face.

He grabbed the side of his face and stared up at her in angry horror. “OI!

“Stop it,” she told him, jabbing her finger towards his face.

“You don’t understand, Laurie; I-”

“I don’t care, Jay! I’m not going to sit by and watch you let yourself get killed!”

“I’m not!”

“Well then don’t!” She stared down at him for a moment, then touched the side of his face. “I care about you too much for that to happen, Jay.”

“I know.”

Laurie sighed, hesitated a moment, then kissed him. He kissed her back – hard.

She pulled away a moment later, looked into his eyes for a second longer. Then she walked away, saying as she did, “And turn off the light when you go to bed.”

12 thoughts on “story snippet | the flatmates.

  1. Pingback: year in review: 2016. | inklings press

  2. ASHLEYYYYYYYYYY.

    WHO ARE THEY AND WHAT ARE THEY DOING AND WHAT IS THEIR STORY.

    I WANT TO KNOW, ANNE–oh, whoops, sorry. Didn’t mean to throw that in there. 😉

    Seriously, though–that’s a Gripping Story Opening if I ever did hear one.

  3. Love it! Especially the “Oi!”s 🙂 That is fast becoming my chosen word of shock/surprise. I would definitely be interested in reading the entire story….. You wouldn’t happen to have a copy laying around, would you? Sounds a bit like TSP, IMO….. Which isn’t a bad thing AT ALL!

have something to say?

