starbucks thoughts.

I’m sitting in a Starbucks studying and it’s just hilarious to watch all of the different kind of people that come in here.  Since I haven’t gotten a post written up yet (and I’m still working on my post-Harry Potter post), I’ve decided to write about all of the people I see in Starbucks today because sometimes sitting at Starbucks can be a journey.  Join me.

9:00am: So this dude just ordered his drink.  He’s probably in his late 40’s, early 50’s.  He’s wearing a plaid button-up shirt and newsboy cap.  Looks like a wannabe hipster.  (Sorry, dude, your opportunity has long past.)  Anyway, he ordered his drink, then, while he was waiting, proceeded to do a series of stretches.  We’re talking yoga.  Right in the middle of the coffee shop.

9:10am: Now that I think about it, the baristas probably hate me.  They’re probably talking about me when they duck in the back for supplies.  I brought in my own coffee, sat down, and haven’t gotten a drink yet.  I’m waiting ’til my coffee’s gone, people.

9:18am: I just remembered that I’m listening to the playlist I made for The Art of Letting Go (I’ll show it to you guys soon, I just need to make a few changes) and there are quite a few Twenty One Pilots songs on here and I’m going to have to listen to the epic time change in Guns for Hands without doing my usual head-banging I always do when I hear that part.  I mean, I can, but what kind of person would I be if I did that in a coffee shop?  Especially since I haven’t ordered my coffee yet…  They’d probably kick me out.

9:20am: Speaking of The Art, the last time I worked on my laptop in a Starbucks was when I was editing it.  It was a really emotional chapter and it took all of my composure to not cry.  It was bad, you guys.  I almost didn’t make it.  (But I did and I’ll definitely be doing that again.  I love Starbucks’ atmosphere.)

9:28am: Uh oh.  Two moms (one I vaguely know) just walked in and are trying to sit down at the long table in the middle of the room.  Too many people.  They’re trying to make it work.  Let’s see how this plays out.  (…)  They’ve moved around to fit everybody.  Good teamwork, guys.

9:30am: This elderly guy in front of me is just perching on the edge of his chair.  The side of his chair, to be more specific.  What is he doing?  That can’t be comfortable.  Looks like he’s typing an email.  Is he gonna hop up when he’s done?  He’s literally just sitting on the side of his chair.  Nobody’s beside him, so there’s no reason for him to do that.  What’s up, dude.

9:32am: Oh my gosh, the two ladies who the guys moved over on the big table for just got up and sat somewhere else.  HA.  You go, ladies.

9:33am: Now the guy moved onto his whole chair.  Thank you, sir.  You were stressing me out.  (Seriously, what’s your deal, dude?  Never sat a seat away from a middle-aged woman before?  Whatever.)

9:45am: Recap of the past ten minutes: A couple my family knows just walked in.  I took a picture of their backs and sent it to my mom with no context.  Let’s see if she recognizes them.  (The true test of friendship – how well do you know your friends backs???)  Then, I decided that it might be a good idea to talk to them, so I did.  Then, I sat down and started studying again.  The couple get their drinks and sit down at the table, where the two moms had tried to sit down earlier.  Then, the anxious guy on the end started perching on the side of his chair again, even though there’s literally a seat between him and the woman my family knows.  He sat there for a few more minutes, visibly inwardly struggling.  Then, he packed up his laptop and left.  I literally could not stop laughing.  Dude, if you’re worried about your privacy or personal space, don’t try to work at a coffee shop.  Hope you’ve learned your lesson.  : P

10:00am: I’m studying for my American Lit CLEP and keep adding all of these books I’m reading about to my Goodreads.  So many of them look great (although a lot of them are banned).  Here’s the shelf I’m putting them on.  Have you read any of them?  I own a few of them, just because our family has always been interested in the classics, but I don’t think I’ve read any of them.  I’ve always wanted to read classics but the writing always is too bogged down for my taste.  I’m working on reading more classics, though.  Let’s see if it happens this year.

(Studying and texting a friend – musical interlude)

11:51am: Well I need to leave now.  I need to find a beanie at Target and my stomach is growling (and I’m a poor college student, so I have no money, so my stomach will have to wait ’til I get home).  I’m not even going to edit this.  Plus, I think it’s finally time for me to order my drink.  A venti Java Chip, please.  I have a reward and I’m getting ALL of my money’s worth.

*flings blog post into the void*

EDIT: My mom wants you all to know that she recognized our friends’ backs (one point for her) and I’d like to clear up the fact that I didn’t spend any money today.  It occurred to me that it probably sounded weird that I said I didn’t have money to feed myself but had enough money to buy a Starbucks drink and get a beanie at Target.  (“She needs to sort out her priorities!”) To clarify: I had a reward for a free drink (which I said I used, and I did, and it was delicious), and I had a giftcard for Target (which I didn’t use because my head is too round for beanies – darn).

23 thoughts on “starbucks thoughts.

  1. Pingback: year in review: 2016. | inklings press

  2. Haha. This was quite interesting. It actually reminded me of the part in Fangirl, when Cath and Reagan are watching people in the cafeteria. ;-P

    (Oh, and I’ve got to mention — I’m listening to the Hamilton cast recording right now, for the first time ever, and WHAT JUST HAPPENED TO MY LIFE.)

    • OOH I LOVE THAT PART. (Darn, now I have to go read Fangirl AGAIN.)

      (AHHH ISN’T IT GREAT. Yeah say goodbye to your life and all the other music you listen to. XD)

  3. Okay, I just clicked on your book list to see which ones I’ve read.

    Let’s see . . .

    “Trifles”–yes. UGH.
    “The Raven” and “Annabel Lee”–yes and yes. Interesting. Not my faves.
    “Leaves of Grass”–yes, part of it. NOT a fan.
    “A Good Man Is Hard To Find”–yep. Frankly, I hated it. I don’t want to insult Flannery O’Connor because I know she was a really devout Catholic and all, but . . . her stuff doesn’t work for me.
    “Shadows on the Rock”–YESSSSSSSSSSS. FAVORITE BOOK EVERRRRRRRRRRR.

    And I think that’s all! Nothing else looks familiar 🙂

    • I’ve read the short story that “Trifles” was based on (or maybe it’s the other way around?), so I’m interested in it.
      Both of those are just classic Edgar Allan Poe, so. : P
      I’ve read some Flannery O’Connor and I’d have to agree.

      (A lot of the books on that list are just books I feel like I should read at some point in the future just to say I’ve read them.)

      HA! I added it after you recommended it. : )

      • Yayyyyyyy!!!! I’m so glad! I really do hope you enjoy it–I think it’s awesome, obviously, haha–but of course whatever your feelings on it are is fine 🙂 I’d be really interested to hear what you think, when you get a chance to read it!

  4. Nah, I doubt the barristas hate you. The people they *really* hate are the guys who come in, ask if the wifi’s working, take a seat in the best chair, and never order anything. You know….those guys. 😛 😛

  5. Oh this was great. 😄 I admire you for getting work done with all the distractions though! I seriously suck at getting anything done EVER if it’s even remotely loud. hehe. HUMANS ARE SO INTERESTING.
    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    • HA. I can only do it every so often because I do get distracted. (But it was better than the distractions at my house, so.) THEY ARE. And people-watching always provides a lot of writing inspiration. : )

  6. Oh, I love this post!! I Stanger-Watch ALL THE TIME. Like, I’m a professional at stranger watching. I love strangers – I love it when strangers talk to me out of the blue, and I love it when strangers smile at strangers. (Wow, I’m using a certain word a lot. :-P)
    I sometimes write letters to strangers. In my journal. 🙂

    Hahaha. The guy who can’t sit properly. Poor guy. SO nervous. (Hey maybe he was proposing to his girlfriend in the email and nervously awaiting an answer.)

    ~ Naomi

    • I do, too, but this is the first time I’ve blogged about it. Miiiiight have to do it again. 😄 Oh my gosh, same! I listen in on people’s conversations too much. (Strangers, strangers, strangers!)

      Ooh, fun! I just got a book about that for my birthday. It’s called ‘If You Find This Letter.’ Haven’t read it yet but it looks amazing!

      Ugh. He drove me nuts. Ooh, that’s true… HMMMMM.

      • Yes, please do this again! It was highly diverting, seriously.
        And it makes me happy to know you’re working on that Harry Potter post because I’ve been waiting patiently . . . or not . . . 🙂 *tries to shake Ashley’s thoughts out of the laptop*
        I looked at your goodreads shelf and saw you had the Outsiders on it . . . it’s a great book, but if you want to be seriously entertained go watch the 80s movie based on it. It’s pretty faithful, if I remember right, and content wise I think it’s fine (my 8th grade class watched it in a public school unedited, to give you an idea). But it has Patrick Swayze and Tom Cruise and Matt Dillon all as teenagers starring in it and the guy from Karate Kid. My sister and I still laugh at it and it always makes me sad too. It’s a great story, and SE Hinton wrote it when she was in high school and it was published when she was a freshman in college, so it’s kinda inspiring that way too.

        • Haha, okay, I’ll try! : ) I’m always looking for different things to blog about so I’m glad you guys enjoyed this (which I totally did on a whim, lol).

          I am! And I’m sorry it’s taking so long, but I promise I’ll work on it this weekend. My first HP-related post took about two weeks to write, just because I wanted to get it right. This one might not take as long since I’m probably splitting it into two posts, but we’ll see.

          Okay, thanks! I’ve been wanting to read the book for a while, and faithful movie adaptions are always my one weakness! Awesome! I can’t wait to read it! Thanks for the recommendation. : )

  7. I was actually getting a little stressed that you weren’t buying a coffee. I WAS INVESTED IN YOUR COFFEE. Gosh, how weird 😀 (Thank you, by the way. Because of your blog I’ve found Sleeping at Last (Saturn!) and twenty one pilot’s House of Gold.)

    • HAHAHA. Wow, that actually made me laugh out loud. Sorry to stress you out. 😄 Honestly, I felt so bad the entire time but I knew I was getting one at the end, so it bugged me slightly less. : P (GAH YOU ARE SO WELCOME. Saturn’s the BEST and House of Gold is just brightness in a song.)

        • Indeedy. : ) I got several weird looks as I licked all the whipped cream and mocha syrup off the lid, but c’est la vie.

          It is! (Yeah, I only made it through half the video before closing it. “Never mind. I’ll stick with the song and the image in my head.” : P)

have something to say?

