the big answer post.

Hello, my lovely followers!  Time for me to answer your questions!  Since there were so many, I’m going to divide the questions and answers into two posts.

Oh my gosh, you guys asked the WACKIEST questions.  To say I loved all of them would be an understatement!  And I couldn’t believe how many people asked questions – I honestly didn’t think I’d have enough questions for an entire post!  You guys are the BEST!

Basically, I couldn’t narrow them down to just a few (and I thought it’d be rude), so here are my answers to ALL of your questions.  You can read them all or you can just find your questions.  Lady Catherine will never know. ; )

Victoria Nightsky asked:

  1. How would you try to sell a refrigerator to an Eskimo?
    “Hello, kind sir, I see you have nowhere to put your freshly-harvested meat.  I mean, anywhere works because it’s cold everywhere here, but wouldn’t you like a special box to put it in???  You can keep it cold in your… already… cold… igloo?  Yeah, maybe it’s not a great idea, but look – it’s got a handle.  And you can make it talk like this – see?  HELLO.  MY NAME IS… FRIDRIS ELBA.”

  2. If you could invite seven people for dinner, dead, alive, real, or fictional, who would they be?
    Oh goodness.  Hmm.  I’d probably invite Lin Manuel Miranda, Remus Lupin from Harry Potter, Levi from Fangirl, Balthazar Jones from Lovely Little Losers, Peeta Mellark from The Hunger Games, Neal from Landline, Mac from Eight Cousins, and Domhnall Gleeson.  Yep.  (Goodness, those are all my favorite book characters and favorite celebrities, but they’re all also my current crushes.  GOSH, THAT’D BE SO AWKWARD BUT SO AMAZING.)

  3. Would you rather have a pink dragon or a sparkly unicorn?
    A pink dragon, and I’d name it Ciara (after the dragon in the book I wrote when I was younger, duh), and we’d fly around the world together and it’d be awesome.

  4. Would you rather have a lead role in a Broadway musical you don’t like, or be an extra in a movie you love?
    Wow.  I had to think about this one for a while, but I think I’d go with the lead role in a Broadway play.  At the very least, it’d give me experience as an actress and get my name out there.  (Whereas if I were an extra in a movie I love, I’d spend the entire time looking for the actors and give them hugs.  Which is why I specifically did NOT go be an extra while they were filming Civil War.  HA.)

Naomi Bennet asked:

  1. Are you going to publish a second book?  (That was a hint.)
    HA.  Thank you.  Yes, as a matter of fact, I am.  (You can find all of the information about it here.)  I’m gonna try to get an agent and go the traditional route, though, so I have no idea when that’ll happen.  I’m in the final editing stages right now (I actually worked on it a lot this morning), and then it’ll go out to beta readers while I look for an agent.  Exciting stuff!

  2. What’s your favourite Messy Monday?
    Oh gosh.  I love all of them!!!  I really can’t decide.  I love all of the relationship ones, though, and the ones about Christians are great, too.  And I really like Brother Brother Time.

  3. Have you ever met any famous people?
    A few, yeah!  Let me think…  Well, I once spent a whole week with Rusty Martin (the guy from Courageous) at a college thing, and I allllmost met Hunter Hayes at a concert.  I stage door at every Broadway show I go to (Wicked on Broadway, Newsies, Les Miserables, etc), so I get to meet a lot of those people (including the entire original Broadway cast of Cinderella, including Santino Fontana, who played Hans in a little movie called Frozen).  Let’s seeeeeeee… I’ve also met an Olympic gold medalist and volunteered at the place where The Patriot was filmed, so that half counts, right?  I think that’s it.  : P

  4. Have you seen Downton Abbey?  (You should.)
    I haven’t!  I heard that every character dies, so I don’t want to get sucked into that.  I suffer enough emotional drama at the hands of fictional characters as it is.  😄  (I’d like to watch it at some point in the future, though!)

Katie asked:

  1. Have you ever met anyone famous? (Whoops, just saw Naomi commented the exact same thing. I don’t care. I’m keeping it anyway.)
    See the previous answer. 🙂 (Of course, I should be constantly meeting tons of people when my book becomes an NY Times Bestseller. *wink*).
  2. What movie are you excited for in 2016? (Oh wait, that’s a stupid question. #civilwar) Okay, apart from Civil War what movie are you excited for?
    Okay, Civil War is the one I’m probably most excited about.  😄  It’s gonna be so feelsy but SO GOOD!!!  Other than that – Finding Dory, Hail, Caesar!, Rogue One, Star Trek Beyond, Moana, the next Bourne film that’s supposed to come out apparently?!?!, Doctor Strange, and Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them.  Such a wide variety of genres, but thus is my life.  : P.
  3. Pencils or pens? I’m a serious pencil addict, so I wondered what you wrote with. Or maybe you prefer to type?
    HMMMM.  Such a hard question!  When I started seriously writing in 2009, I was a major pencil person.  (I wrote so much that I got a dent in my finger, and it’s still there today.  #weirdfactsaboutAshley)  Now I mostly work on novels&such on my laptop, but when I write in notebooks (ideas and Bible verses and song quotes and journaling &etc) I use pens.  I really like a certain set of pens a friend gave me for Christmas two years ago..
  4. Do you listen to Adventures in Odyssey?
    I DO!  I buy the albums regularly (with a coupon, of course), or I’ll ask for them for Christmas.  I’ve been listening basically since I was born (okay, maybe not quite that long).  I’m still not over Mitch’s fake death and when he came back – ENGAGED TO SOMEONE OTHER THAN CONNIE?!  WHAT THE HECK?!  I ship Connie and Jason now, though, even though Jason is probably a lot older than her…   (Heh… heh…)  I love the stories, and I looooove all of the characters.  We quote it a lot, too.  Jared was my favorite of the older characters (hello, he’s like a CIA kid!) and I think Barrett is my favorite one now.  NO, WAIT.  It’s Buck Oliver (Meltsner).  He’s just… GAH.  I’m in the middle of Album 58 (The Ties That Bind) right now.  So good!  My dream is to at least intern at Focus On The Family and help write an episode.  *sighs dreamily*  Anyway.  #AIOfangirl.
  5. Have you ever been to a wonder of the world? (Pyramids, Eiffel Tower… Comiccon?)
    Well, I consider myself to be a wonder of the world, so… : P jk. I’ve never been outside the US, actually!  I live in Georgia, and the farthest west I’ve been is Houston, Texas, and the farthest north I’ve been is NYC (which I think should be a wonder of the world).  Does Disney World count???  I went when I was six, but HEY we got tickets for Christmas so we’re going again next month!  (There will be multiple blog posts about that.).
  6. AND FINALLY: WHY ARE YOU A FANGIRL?!?!?!
    Hahahaha.  I knew somebody would ask this.  I said I didn’t have good reasons, but then I remembered that I wrote an entire blog post about it once (on another blog which is now dead, lol).  Basically the updated version is that I’m a fangirl because I’m passionate about a lot of things (non-fandom things), and that often shifts over to the fandom realm.  I rarely don’t get passionate about books, movies, or TV shows, and I love it.  I also think that being a fangirl has given me a greater capacity to love other things (such as my friends, family, and God), and it’s definitely rubbed off on other people.  So… yeah.  : )

Katelyn (2sistersphotos) asked:

  1. How is your writing coming?
    FANTASTICALLY!  Thanks for asking!  I’m currently editing the thirteenth chapter, which means I only have five to go.  Then it’ll be off to the beta readers!  Even if I don’t work on editing it for a while, I’m constantly thinking through things (and adding to my Pinterest board).
  2. Any big plans for this year?
    Besides our dream plan of moving in together?  😄  Actually, yes.  A few vacations, mayyyybe a trip to Maryland for a CollegePlus gathering, building a house, and graduating from college.  (Not to mention all of my prospective writing ideas…)  WOOT.  2016 is gonna be a huge year for me, and I’m so excited.
  3. Favorite fandoms? ( I know some already, but I like asking :D)
    I know you do.  ; )  Well, there’s my Broadway obsession (which encompasses everything – Wicked, Phantom, Les Mis, Newsies, Daddy Long Legs, Cinderella, Little Women, HAMILTON…), Hunger Games, Lord of the Rings, CandleWasters (Nothing Much to Do and Lovely Little Losers), Harry Potter, Disney (and Pixar), and then the general book fandom.  (Gosh, I love so many books.)  Newer fandoms are: a tremendously sarcastic Canadian show called Corner Gas, Hamilton (is that new?), and everything Harry Potter (including A Very Potter Musical, which is just !!! – two of my favorite things COMBINED).  Okay, I’ll stop.  ; )

Clare S. asked:

  1. What is your honest opinion on the Catholic Church? 🙂
    Catholic people are awesome.  My grandma is Catholic, and my mom was raised Catholic, so I have a few very close ties with the Catholic Church.  (Fun fact: I was born on the Feast of the Immaculate Conception.  So that’s a plus…?)  I’ve never been to a Catholic service (scratch that – I remember going once), but I’ve studied it for a World Religions course and another Worldview course.  My only concern is that there possibly might be some unsaved Catholics, and I’ve always thought that praying to Mary was kinda sketch.

  2. Dog or cat?
    I grew up with cats, so I love them MUCHLY.  We’ve had some dogs, too, and I loved them, but I think I’ve always just preferred cats.  And not all cats are selfish.  My cats were born in our front yard (long story), so we raised them basically from birth.  Because of this, they were super sweet and loved us all a lot.  They would climb up on my lap when I was reading and I loved it.  (Darn, now I want a cat again…)

  3. Is there any way i can read your book without buying it? ^_-
    HA.  Great question.  I think there are some pirated copies out there (*glares in the general direction of whoever did that*), so that’s free but illegal.  The cheapest way to get it is on Amazon, in the ebook form.  It’s free if you have KindleUnlimited.  (You can download the Amazon Kindle app if you don’t have a Kindle – I’ve done it before, even though I have a Kindle lol, and it’s super easy and awesome.)  Next step up is probably just buying a paperback copy via Amazon.

James (my brother) asked:

  1. Is the canoe wood, or aluminum?” (XD I had to put that there.) (Edit: Link provided if you’re lame you don’t know what he’s referencing)
    “Oh, look!  There’s me and Bob at Sea World!”

  2. What is your favorite Twenty-One Pilots song?
    HOW FREAKING DARE YOU.  You of all people should know I can’t pick one!  *sigh*  Okay, I’ll try…  Gosh, I love all of them.  *thinks for a very very long time*  I’m gonna assume you misspelled “album” and go with Vessel (2nd place is self-titled and third is Blurryface).  (And my favorite songs on their other albums are: “Air Catcher” (self-titled), “Kitchen Sink” (Regional At Best), and “Goner” (Blurryface).)

  3. Which is your favorite musical?
    I hate you.  *thinks*  Okay, my favorite right now (in terms of how often I listen to it) is probably Hamilton, but my favorite of all time has got to be Les Miserables.

  4. If you won $500mil what would you do with it?
    We went over this yesterday.  I’d buy out an entire show of Hamilton and then I’d probably travel a bunch of different places while I finish college and then I’d probably buy a bunch of hardcover books and an apartment to put them in.

  5. If you could time travel to any time period, and spend a week there, what time would it be?
    Probably WWII because I just love that time period.  I’d do the week Japan surrendered so I could see all of the partying that went on after the war was over.

  6. What exactly is the function of a rubber duck?” (Again, link provided.  #fandomreferences)

    giphy (2).gif

    (hey look there’s neville in the background *melts*)

Come back for part two later this week!

40 thoughts on “the big answer post.

  1. Oh, shucks, my questions aren’t up yet 😉

    You think Catholic people are awesome? Hey, girl–THANKS!!!!! (Because, you know, I’m Catholic. Even though it wasn’t me who asked that question, haha 😉 ) And I love having good relationships with other fellow-Christians 😉 So, again, thanks!!

    Ohhhhhh, Ashley–YOU SAW NEWSIES TOO??????? So did I! We saw them this December and it was INCREDIBLE. Best experience of my life thus far. (No, seriously. I mean it.) AND I LOVE ZACHARY SOOOOOOOOOO MUCH AND HE’S MY BABY AND I JUST WISH I COULD GIVE HIM A HUG. (I was not as lucky as you; I didn’t get to see the actors afterward or anything. Sob. But it was STILL one of the most amazing days of my life.)

    • They’re up now! Part two. : )

      They are! I think everybody’s awesome, so… : P I’m a relationship-lovin’ person, too!

      I DIIIIIDDDDDD. A year ago this month and it was absolutely BREATHTAKING. OH MY GOSH I’M SO GLAD YOU LIKED HIM TOO BECAUSE HE DESERVES IT. I only got to hug him because we stagedoored and he was super sweet. *melts from the warm, fuzzy feelings* Yes, I agree! Hey, wait, if you saw it in December, you saw the new cast! (The new Jack and Katherine, that is.) What’d you think?

      • That’s right 🙂

        Yes, we did!!!! Joey Barreiro played Jack Kelly, and Morgan Keene was Katherine. Joey Barrerio, now–GOLLY PETE BUT HE WAS AWWWWWWWESOME. Really. He was. He’s a great, great actor–really passionate and emotional but really down-to-earth at the same time. And his singing . . . oh, my word. I have no words. I JUST LOVED HIM. To be honest, I liked him even better than Jeremy Jordan, which is saying a lot because Jeremy is INCREDIBLE. But it’s true–I think Joey might be even a teeny bit better.

        To be honest, I didn’t like Morgan Keene quite as well as Kara Lindsay or Stephanie Styles. She had a great voice and she sang really well, but I wasn’t quite as drawn to the way she played the character . . . She was just a little bit “flat,” if you know what I mean. At least, compared to those other two, she was . . . which maybe isn’t fair because Kara and Stephanie were both AMAZING. But yeah, that was my reaction.

        (Speaking of, whad’ya think of Benjamin Cook as Race??????? I couldn’t believe how GOOD he was. He stole practically every scene he was in. No kidding.)

        • Cool!!! I was a little nervous about Joey (whose actual name is Joey Jbarrierio; the second J is silent and added for him to match the other Jacks – Jeremy Jordan, Corey Cott, and Dan DeLuca), but I’m so glad you liked him. Dan was fantastic and I didn’t think anybody could top him, but I’ve heard great things about Joey. Wow, better than Jeremy? I MUST FIND MORE BOOTLEGS.

          Yeah, I think that’s what the general consensus is about her, too. Interesting. I totally understand what you mean. Stephanie was FANTASTIC. (OH MY GOSH BEN WAS AMAZING. BEN IS JUST A SWEET FLOWER AND HE’S THE MOST FANTASTIC HUMAN BEING EVERRRRRR. And now he’s leaving to go be in Tuck. : ((((((( {It originated here in Atlanta, and I’m STILL beating myself up over the fact that I didn’t go see it.})

    • HA. Yes. Join in on the awkward. (Of course, my life is awkward 24/7 so it’d be nothing new.)

      Thank you for asking questions! They were so much fun to answer!

  2. So if you met the entire original cast of Cinderella DOES THAT MEAN YOU MET LAURA OSNES. And WHICH Newsies did you meet? BECAUSE I’M GETTING JEALOUS HERE.

    I love Brother-Brother time too. Especially season 2. 😛

    I’m glad to hear that. About your new book. 🙂

    BUT YOU SHOULD WATCH DOWNTON. It tears your heart and it DOES get worse as the seasons hit disastrous deaths, but at least watch the first three seasons BECAUSE IT’S A GEM. 🙂

    • THAT TOTALLY MEANS THAT. Laura and Santino are the BEST. I met the touring cast before the most recent changes – Dan Deluca, Zachary Sayle (WHO I JUST COULDN’T HELP BUT HUG BECAUSE HIS CRUTCHIE WAS AMAZING), Chaz Wolcott, Ben Tyler Cook, Stephanie Styles, Jacob Kemp, etc etc. I believe it – I’m jealous of myself, if that’s a thing!!!

      I’m glad you’re glad! I really hope you guys like it. : )

      I know I should and it’s on Amazon Prime, which I have, so there’s no reason I haven’t yet except that little matter of school. : P I’ll definitely try to watch it soon, though!

        • Yeah, I just spit out a few that you probably didn’t know because I follow all of them on Instagram (seriously – it’s bad) and I love them all so much. : ) No, I don’t think so. Looks like he was on Broadway. I just met the touring cast. (I was SO glad when it went on tour because Newsies was like my only regret when I went to NYC. We only had time for two Broadway shows, but that would’ve been my third choice.)

  3. YOU ALMOST MET HUNTER HAYES?????!?!?!?!?!!!!!!

    HOW WHEN WHERE. Or I should ask, how come you *didn’t* meet Hunter Hayes? ;-P (A bit of a fan here, if you couldn’t tell.) And you’ve been to the location of The Patriot — that is just too. cool. Haha, I don’t know anyone famous either, except I’ve seen Kevin Costner in concert which has to count for something. 😉

    I second Naomi: you should watch Downton Abbey. (Even though it will cause you unspeakable pain.) Oh, and you should also publish another book.

    Someone else who loves the Little Women musical!!! 🙂 I would absolutely love to be in that someday. Jo is my DREAM role.

    ~Emma

    • I DIDDDDDD. I drove by his hometown on our way to and back from Texas (twice) last year, and I wanted to go find him SO BAD. Then, in 2014, one of my birthday presents was a ticket to his concert two days before my birthday. I went with my mom and two sisters and it was AMAZING. He came up where the seats are and played literally 5 feet away from me. It was fantastic. Then, afterwards, I hopped a railing and tried to get him to sign something, but there were too many more extroverted fans. 😄 I don’t think I ever posted pictures of it, which is a TRAVESTY. But I’m so glad you’re a fan, too! I LOVE HIM SO MUCH.

      I have! We volunteered there one Saturday every month for like three years. (Of course, we didn’t watch the movie ’til after we moved away, so that was a bummer.) It’s just as pretty in real life as it is in the movie. Oh cool!!! That totally counts!

      Haha, okay! I’ll try. HA. Okay, I will. ; )

      AHHHHH, IT’S SO FANTASTIC. Seriously, how can you not adore it?! I’ve seen a few bootlegs, memorized all the songs, and can play some on the piano. Pretty obsessed. Jo is my dream role, too!

  4. “Lady Catherine will never know.”
    HILARIOUS. 😀

    Interesting… I too began writing a lot in 2009, and the resulting bump on my right ring finger is still present. :]

  5. “Which is why I specifically did NOT go be an extra while they were filming Civil War. HA.” So THAT’S the root cause of why we didn’t go? I was getting ready to move and release a book at the same time, so it probably wasn’t a good idea, but STILL. CAPTAIN AMERICA.

    Don’t look at me about the pirated copies. I’ve only ever sent what’s on my computer to you. Pirated copies. 😛 Some people don’t have morals. But just look at YouTube. There’s all sorts of copyrighted stuff illegally uploaded.

    Not EVERYONE dies in Downton Abbey, just all of the best characters. I totally lost interest when Matthew died. Besides the fact that there were always things to fast forward through.

    • It is. Well, YOU could’ve gone without me… 😄 Marvel will be filming more movies here, so we can totally go next time.

      Haha, I know it wasn’t you. ; ) I know! I know the artists must hate that. : /

      HA! Yeah, that’s why. And I heard that, too. Meh.

      • You know me and driving….THAT’S the main reason I didn’t go myself. Besides, I’m too chicken to do something like that by myself. We must do it next time. I wanna be in a movie someday.

        🙂 That’s why I use Spotify. I still get stuff free if I put up with ads, but it’s legal.

        Even in the very first episode there’s yucky stuff to skip. 😛 It’s not every episode, but still. There was actually a very prolife message in one episode, though. I was pleasantly surprised.

          • The homosexual stuff is some of it, that’s what’s in the first episode, but there’s other stuff too, like a compromising situation Mary gets caught in. She didn’t initiate it at all, but she didn’t yell for help either. And yeah. It was bad. Plus there’s just some Adult themes in certain storylines. It’d probably bother you less than it does me, but you’ll want to be aware, and probably read ahead to know where to skip if you don’t watch it on ClearPlay.

            • Interesting… I’ll keep my eyes out if I watch it. Thanks for letting me know! Regardlss of how little it bothers me, I try to stay away from it and keep it away from my eyes and ears if I can help it. : )

  6. Thank you so much Ashley for answering my questions and all the other ones! It was so delightful to read this blog post. ^_^
    Well its nice to know you don’t “hate” Catholics….because i am one. haha. 😛
    And i love your blog and you are an amazing/intelligent person so i am just so curious as to your opinion on things like Catholic doctrine. ^_- But i am sure none of us want this to turn into a “religion war”…lol

  7. These are great!! Can’t wait to read Part 2.

    One more reason we got along so well – CATS!! I like dogs, but cats are special to me. Theyre better for us readers. Not so messy and do better in small spaces,too. 😉

  8. I love this so much. I am dying, because I LOVE IT. So, AIO? Connie and Jason- I will go down with this ship. GAAAAAAHHH. And all that Broadway, Disney, and Civil War love- *MAJOR FANGIRLING*…. I could read this every day.

have something to say?

