“we need stories.”

I woke up this morning to find out that Alan Rickman had died.

Gosh.

I first discovered Alan when I watched him win over Marianne as Colonel Brandon in Sense and Sensibility.  To be honest, I didn’t love him all that much, but he eventually won me over.  My mom has been a big fan of his work for forever.  I became a huge fan of him after watching the Harry Potter movies.  He was a brilliant Snape, and nobody could’ve done better.

tumblr_o0y5pg2ZQx1qc2fi0o1_540

The news that he had died hit me even harder than it probably would have because I was already grieving finishing Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows last night.

giphy

I honestly can’t process the Harry Potter series.

As I finished the last few hundred pages last night (which I’d put off simply because I didn’t want the series to be over), I cried and cried and cried.  I cried over characters, cried over subplots, cried over symbolism, cried over deaths, and cried over how amazing it was.  Then I closed the book, curled up, and cried because it was over.

tumblr_m8c0siwzBE1ro4l1eo4_250

The thing about the series that I just love (besides how amazing it was) is the fact that it touched me (and SO MANY PEOPLE) so much.  Out of the last thirty pictures in my phone, a good twenty of them are of pages of Deathly Hallows – pictures of quotes that I want to write out later so I can remember them.

And listen – amazing doesn’t even describe it.  Outside of explicitly Christian fiction, I have never read any book that echoes the Great Story more.  I’d say it even rivals a lot of the Christian fiction I’ve read.  So much symbolism and morals in not just this last book, but all of them…  GAH.  I can’t.

tumblr_lutgjjrOJc1r2m0aq.gif

Speaking of Alan Rickman, these words of his have been running through my mind.

And it’s a human need to be told stories. The more we’re governed by idiots and have no control over our destinies, the more we need to tell stories to each other about who we are, why we are, where we come from, and what might be possible.
-Alan Rickman (2/21/46 – Always)

Gosh.

Anyway.

Even though I really can’t say anything about this series besides ASDFGHJKL!$%&!^%!*!, I’m working on a follow-up post to my initial Harry Potter post.  Would anybody like to read it?  I think the only disclaimer I’d like to give is that obviously since I loved the series, that’s going to bias my “review” (if I can even write a review, gosh).  I won’t try to challenge your anti-Harry convictions… but I’ll probably fangirl a lot – and if that offends you, don’t read it.  (Unless nobody wants to read it, then I won’t write it and I’ll keep all of my feels bottled up.)

b73db394_tumblr_inline_mp08tgK2SG1qz4rgp.xxxlarge.gif

words of wisdom from wolowitz.

27 thoughts on ““we need stories.”

  1. Hi Ashley, I just wanted to say – I read ‘Becoming Nikki’ today (yes, in one morning – it was that good) and I LOVED it. So thanks!!! 🙂 I especially loved the Period Drama refences; they made me so happy. 😛 (I reviewed it on Goodreads, if you’re interested in reading it!)

  2. I’d love to see your follow-up post! I’ve wanted to read it since your first post on convictions. It was not long before your first post that I decided to read the Harry Potter books, and you have pretty much echoed my thoughts on the situation. I’ve also decided to wait until summer so it does not distract me from school. Wanting to read them yet deciding to wait has been harder than I thought it was going to be. But we’re already half way through the school year! And I will be happier with myself in the end if I don’t break that commitment 😉

    • Thank you! Oh, I’m so glad you decided to take a chance on them. : ) That’s a fantastic idea! (I kinda wished I’d done that, lol…) Let me know what you think of them!!!

  3. I’m really sorry Alan Rickman died, too. I’ve only actually seen him in “Sense and Sensibility,” and to be honest I don’t like his Colonel Brandon AS well as David Morrissey’s . . . but at the same time, I could tell he was a brilliant actor and he really did make me connect to the character in ways I never had before. He was great. And that quote . . . it’s just beautiful. 69 is too soon to lose somebody like that. 😦

    Okay, so I’m kind of new to your blog, but I DID want to say, I’d definitely be interested to hear more of your thoughts about Harry Potter. Because, you see, growing up I wasn’t allowed to read that series, but now that I’m older I’m kind of interested in “digging deeper” and SEEING for myself what, exactly, is up with those books. Are they good? Are they bad? Are they ugly? (haha) Basically, what IS all the debate really about? So yeah . . . I’d appreciate hearing your opinion! 🙂

    • I didn’t like him, but I didn’t like David Morrissey’s Brandon (basically only because we watched Our Mutual Friend before that and he was EVIL). Oh my gosh, I loved him so much. Watching his movies will never be the same. It is. : (

      Okay! I think most of my readers want to read it. So YAY. You’re in the same situation as I am. (Here’s the short answer to your questions: THEY’RE AMAZING. At least, I think so… and so do like 2 billion people, so. : P) Can’t wait to write that post! I’m so excited about it, it’ll probably be really fangirly and may even take up two posts. At least. XD

      • I loooooooooove Morrissey as Brandon–favorite Austen hero ever, period. But I can see how you wouldn’t like him, if you’d just seen him as “the bad guy”–I imagine he’d make a Very Scary bad guy. 😉

        Thanks! Looking forward to it! 🙂

  4. more harry potter posts! Please please please!!!!

    And I think I’m in a tiny bit of shock over Alan Rickman. Just…nope…just…ahhhhk. I want to rewatch all the HP movies now and Die Hard and Sweeney Todd too because he was magnificent in them as well! ❤

    • Okay! : D

      Aww, I know. I can’t. We watched the ’95 S&S last night in memory of him and I was just soooo sad. Watching his movies will never be the same. Aww, he was in Sweeny Todd, wasn’t he? DARN. : /

  5. AHSDJKFAKJSFLQIOREUTNBMXCV!!!!!
    WHYYYYYYYYY ASHLEEEEEY?!?!?

    I have about a dozen pages left to read of the last HP book ( I was summoned by my mother to help prepare dinner ). By far one of the best stories I’ve ever read. I did not cry however ( That’s Ashley’s thing ).
    Give me about 10 minutes to finish it… I’ll be back with a follow up comment tomorrow.

  6. Yes please! I’d love to hear your thoughts. It’s hard to sort mine out sometimes. Oftentimes it takes somebody else fangirling to help me think rationally – if that makes any sense? And you do a great job at looking at things deeply. Maybe you could do two posts – a fangirly post to get all the feels out and another one to be (slightly) more objective? Whatever you do end up writing, I’ll read and enjoy, I know. 🙂
    Oh goodness. After finishing Book 7 and then waking up to Alan Rickman’s death – wow. You poor thing. I’ve yet to watch the movies, but from what I have seen, he was an awesome Snape.

    • Definitely makes sense! That’s why fangirls thrive on other fangirls. : ) Aww, thanks! That’s a really good idea. I was thinking about doing multiple posts, but didn’t know if my anti-Harry readers would riot. : P

      Oh my gosh, it was awful. He was *amazing* as Snape.

      • Well, an objective analysis of HP (wherein you admit any faults) may make your fangirling go down more easily and help facilitate solid, clear-minded discussion. (It’s kind of hard to reason with fangirls, I’ve been told). That’s why I really liked your Star Wars post – you told us what you felt the franchise’s flaws were but still praised what you liked.
        Oh dear, I’m starting to tell you what to do . .. don’t mind me, just post whatever you feel is best and I’ll read it happily. *ducks away*

        • Very true. I’ll definitely be going over the faults because no story is without them. (HAHA that is SO true. XD) Aww, thanks! : )

          Hahahaha, it’s okay. : D

  7. I want to read that follow up post!! *waves hand wildly* I’ve never been allowed to read Harry Potter, and I’ve always been fine with that, but I’m very interested in seeing how you viewed them, as a mature, Christian reader. 🙂 Maybe if they’re worth it, I’ll ask to read them in a few years… but idk yet.

    • Haha, okay. Aww, goshhhhh. *blushes* It probably won’t be very mature because I’ll be fangirling all over the place, but I’ll try. ; ) I’ll tell you right now – they’re totally worth it. (Not worth having your parents disown you if you read them without their permission, though. ; ))

    • Aside from the awesome story, I felt that it was “worth it” to read Harry Potter so I could start hammering out my own views on magic in books. I spent years in elementary and middle school battling my peers and telling them HP was evil and they’d point out to me that I loved Lord of the Rings – what was the difference? And I really couldn’t give a good answer. So I’m grateful that, now that I’ve read them, I can speak with intelligence on the subject, as a (more) mature Christian.
      Oh, and Ashley’s whole idea about reading it alongside your family is an brilliant idea. My dad’s currently halfway through the first one and we’ve been having awesome discussions.
      But yeah, like Ashley said, totally not worth getting disowned. 🙂

      • Definitely! That’s exactly what I thought, too. I’m so glad I’m at the age where I feel like I finally have the freedom to explore a little and figure out why I have the convictions that I do – AND have the ability to be able to let go of some and cement some through that exploration. 🙂

have something to say?

