favorite christmas songs. | christmastime is here {part three}

Hello and welcome to my Christmastime Is Here blog post series that centers around – you guessed it – my all-time favorite holiday ever, CHRISTMAS!!!  Over the next few weeks (every Friday until Christmas), I’ll be adding to this series, so stick around because it’s going to be awesome.  I’ve never really done a Christmas blog series, but because of all of the growing (and blogging) I’ve done this year, I think it’s in order.  Christmas is just something that is so special to me because it’s the time to celebrate God’s most precious gift to us – His son, Jesus.  So grab a mug of something (tea, coffee, hot chocolate, pretzels) and enjoy!

I’m totally one of those people who can listen to Christmas music before Halloween.  I think it’s because I love music so much, but I just don’t care when the Christmas music starts playing on the radio.  I won’t actively start listening to it ’til after Thanksgiving, though.

I have like a thousand favorite Christmas songs.  It’s so hard to narrow them down to just a handful, too, because I love them all so much.  But I did, so here you go.

Marshmallow World by Johnny Mathis

My family has a record player and one of our favorite records is a Christmas one, full of awesome classics like this one (and the following).  I just love the lyrics – “The sun is shining like a pumpkin head” is one of my favorites because my siblings have had many conversations about what a pumpkin head is.  (???)

It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year by Andy Williams

Okay, so this one’s just a classic and it’s fantastic and if anyone thinks differently, well, you’re entitled to your own opinion but so am I SO THERE.

Carol of the Bells by the Trans-Siberian Orchestra

This is one of the first more metal songs that I actually loved.  Because you can’t listen to it without furiously headbanging at 0:32.

Silver Bells by Bob Hope and Marilyn Maxwell (from The Lemon Drop Kid)

I’ve grown up with this song and have played it nearly every Christmas since the first year I learned it (back when I was probably nine or ten).  I’ve wanted to see The Lemon Drop Kid for forever, and I recently found this clip (which makes me want to see it even more).

Born in Bethlehem – Third Day

I’m not a huge Third Day fan (despite the fact that I’m pretty sure they live like 30 minutes away from me), but I do love this song.  It’s one of my favorite Jesus-themed Christmas songs because of how real it is and how meaningful the lyrics are.  I love it.

While You Were Sleeping by Casting Crowns

This one ends on kind of a downer (albeit a thought-provoking one), and it rocked me to my core when I first heard it.

O Come, O Come, Emmanuel by Tyler Joseph

I’m such a Twenty One Pilots fan and I’m not afraid to say it.  When I first heard that this song existed, I listened to it and tucked it away for Christmas.  Fast-forward to a few weeks ago, when I rediscovered it.  HELLO, LISTEN ON REPEAT.  (Currently at 44 repeats.)

Well, there’s my eclectic mix of Christmas songs that I love listening to.  What are some of your favorites?

7 thoughts on “favorite christmas songs. | christmastime is here {part three}

  1. Pingback: elf & a christmas story | christmas movie marathon | inklings press

  2. Oh yes, the Andy Williams “It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year” is CLASSIC. A few years ago my mom bought a Christmas CD that has a bunch of old singers from the 40’s and 50’s and 60’s singing classic Christmas songs, and that’s on there. I love it. 🙂 (Actually I just heard that song on the radio in a McDonald’s restroom at 10:00 last night…we won’t go into why I was in a McDonald’s restroom at that hour because it’s a long story.)

    These are all some great songs! Christmas music makes me so happy. 🙂

  3. Wow. I didn’t even know I needed Tyler Joseph singing one of my favorite Christmas carols ever, but I did. 😀 And the Trans-Siberian Orchestra!! It’s been forever since I listened to anything of theirs. I Wonder as I Wander is also one of my favorites.

    • I’ve heard of Pentatonix because I watched The Sing Off when they won, but they beat my favorite group of that season, so it turned me off their music. LOL. I haven’t listened to any of their Christmas stuff… which probably should change…

have something to say?

