my favorite christmas movies | christmastime is here {part 1}

Hello and welcome to my Christmastime Is Here blog post series that centers around – you guessed it – my all-time favorite holiday ever, CHRISTMAS!!!  Over the next few weeks (every Friday until Christmas), I’ll be adding to this series, so stick around because it’s going to be awesome.  I’ve never really done a Christmas blog series, but because of all of the growing (and blogging) I’ve done this year, I think it’s in order.  Christmas is just something that is so special to me because it’s the time to celebrate God’s most precious gift to us – His son, Jesus.  So grab a mug of something (tea, coffee, hot chocolate, pretzels) and enjoy!

(I’ve decided to do this post first so that you have time to watch any of these movies, if you haven’t seen them.  They’re also not in any particular order.  I tried to number them from least to most favorite, but they’re all amazing and I love them all so much.  So.  Yeah.)

(Also, honorable mention goes to The Nativity Story.  I’ve only seen it a few times, and it’s not really a tradition, but it’s still a fantastic Christmas movie – and one of the only ones I’ve seen that actually has to do with the real meaning of Christmas – Jesus.)

elfmovie1

Elf (2003) | Will Ferrell, James Caan, Zoey Deschanel, Mary Steenburgen

When this movie first came out, my parents weren’t sure it’d be appropriate for us (as well they should have thought).  However, my dad previewed it on an airplane ride and couldn’t stop laughing.  Now, watching it is a tradition for us.  After we get our tree every year, we always watch this movie while we decorate the tree.  It’s gotten to the point where we can quote the entire thing, front and back – and not even during Christmas!  (For instance, the other day, my dad texted me to ask what time I was scheduled to take a test.  I replied “10am.”  Almost immediately later, he texted back, “10AM!  SANTA!”)  Totally stupid, but memorably so.  “The best way to spend Christmas cheer is singing loud for all to hear.”  Recommended: 6+

lwwmovie

Narnia: The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe (2005) | Georgie Henley, Skandar Keynes, Anna Popplewell, William Moseley, Tilda Swinton, James McAvoy, Liam Neeson

I hesitated with this one because it’s not necessarily “a Christmas movie,” but it does have a lot of snow and it came out the day after my (December) birthday and it has Father Christmas in it, so it fits many qualifications.  ; )  It’s such a fantastic movie – and the cast is perfection – so it’s a must-see for many reasons.  “Aslan is on the move.”  Recommended: 8+

charliebrownmovie

A Charlie Brown Christmas (1965) | Peter Robbins, Christopher Shea, Tracy Stratford, Chris Doran

I honestly can’t remember the first time I saw this movie.  We’ve always watched it, almost every year for as long as I can remember, and it’s gotten more dear to me every year.  Out of all of the old Christmas cartoons (The Grinch, Frosty, Rudolph), this one stands out because of its timeless truths.  Every year, Linus’s spotlighted speech moves me to tears.  “Maybe that’s what Christmas is all about, Charlie Brown.”  Recommended: All Ages

grinchmovie

How the Grinch Stole Christmas (2000) | Jim Carrey, Taylor Momsen, Jeffrey Tambor, Christine Baranski

Before you bash me for liking this one more than the animated one, let me say something.  This movie helped me when I was struggling.  Story time with Ashley.  Back in 2010, I was feeling really depressed.  It was two days until Christmas and, for whatever reason, I just didn’t feel the Christmas spirit.  It probably had something to do with the fact that it was my second Christmas away from my North Carolina friends.  I remember not even wanting to watch the movie and pitching a fit about it but succumbing anyway.  As I watched the Grinch’s attitude about Christmas change, I nearly started crying.  And then he said, “Maybe Christmas doesn’t come from a store.  Maybe Christmas means a little bit… more.”  I lost it.  Everything came crashing down and I realized that I’d been looking for happiness in places other than where true Christmas cheer should come from – our love and gratefulness for Jesus’s sacrifice in coming down, both fully God and fully man, to die for us as the atonement for our sins.  WOW.  So that’s why this one’s on here (aside from the fact that it’s absolutely hilarious).  Recommended: 10+

whitechristmasmovie

White Christmas (1954) | Bing Crosby, Danny Kaye, Rosemary Clooney, Vera-Ellen

This movie is such a classic.  Set in post-WWII Vermont, it’s full of patriotism and holiday spirit and romance (and bromance).  There’s so much to love about this movie, you’d be insane to not like it.  All of the musical numbers are fantastic – especially “Sisters,” “Love, You Didn’t Do Right By Me,” and, of course, “White Christmas.”  The love stories phenomenal  If you haven’t seen it, seriously, what are you doing with your life.  Go.  Watch it now.  “You shouldn’t mix fairy tales with liverwurst and buttermilk.”  Recommended: 8+

Eloisemovie

Eloise at Christmastime (2003) | Sofia Vassilieva, Julie Andrews, Gavin Creel, Sara Topham

This movie’s definitely higher up there on my list.  Ever since I first saw it, I’ve looked forward to Christmas coming just so I can watch it multiple times.  Sofia is just fantastic as Eloise, the spoiled brat you can’t help but fall head-over-heels in love with.  Gavin plays an adorkable butler who entertains Eloise’s every whim while falling in love (again) with the Plaza’s owner’s daughter, Rachel (Sara Topham).  And Julie Andrews is THE QUEEN, as always.  And who can forget the adorable piano scene between Bill and Rachel?!  “I absolutely love Christmas!”  Recommended: 6+

theholidaymovie

The Holiday (2006) | Jude Law, Kate Winslet, Cameron Diaz, Jack Black

Oh. My. Gosh.  My mom discovered this movie last year and made us watch it because she loved it so much.  Ten minutes into it, I fangirled so hard over Jude Law that I fell on the floor.  Definitely a new favorite.  It’s lesser-known, so the basic premise is that two women – one from England (Kate Winslet) and one from Hollywood (Cameron Diaz) – find themselves single at Christmas and decide to trade houses for a few weeks over the holiday.  Romance ensues.  Jack Black plays a composer and Jude Law steals the show, playing Kate Winslet’s adorable brother.  It’s beautifully written and acted.  Watch it with your mom and sisters.  It will make you feel feelings.  (This one’s a little more content-y than all of the others, so keep that in mind.)  “There’s another kind of love: the cruelest kind. The one that almost kills its victims. Its called unrequited love. Of that I am an expert. Most love stories are about people who fall in love with each other. But what about the rest of us?”  Recommended: 16+ (with ClearPlay or VidAngel or something)

wonderfullifemovie

It’s a Wonderful Life (1946) | James Stewart, Donna Reed, Lionel Barrymore, Henry Travers

The “no particular order” thing stops here because THIS ONE IS MY FAVORITE.  Second to none, this movie will always be my favorite Christmas movie of all time.  There’s just nothing like watching Jimmy Stewart go from an adorable, selfless young boy to a bitter middle-aged man who realizes that he’s never been able to do the things he’s dreamed of doing.  But then he realizes that his life is better than he could ever have dreamed it could be and he’s forever thankful and everyone watching is left in tears.  Watching this movie is my family’s Christmas Eve tradition.  I love, love, love this movie.  (And now I have to stop or else I’ll start crying about it.)  “Remember, George – no man is a failure who has friends.”  Recommended: All Ages

What do you think of my list?  Are there any movies on here that you haven’t seen?  Think I missed a few?  Comment and let me know!

12 thoughts on “my favorite christmas movies | christmastime is here {part 1}

  1. Pingback: elf & a christmas story | christmas movie marathon | inklings press

  2. I LOVE White Christmas and It’s a Wonderful Life, and have for many years. I only discovered The Holiday earlier this year, and fangirling-over-Jude-Law-so-hard-you-fall-on-the-floor pretty well sums up my reaction to it as well. I showed it to my mom for the first time last week, and she was all, “That was different. It was okay,” so I’m not sure if maybe she had a fever, or fell asleep for all Jude’s scenes, or something? No rational explanation for her reaction. Oh, except she wanted to see Actual Weddings at the end, not everyone celebrating New Year’s together, so maybe that was it? Hmph.

    Anyway, I’ve seen the others except Eloise and Elf. I’d never heard of Eloise (as a movie) until this year when you’re like the third or fourth blogger to gush over it, so guess I need to seek it out. Elf has been on my TBW list for a long time, and one of these days, I’ll find it at the library and just watch it even if it’s not Christmas right then.

    • THANK YOU FOR YOUR FANGIRLING ABOUT THE HOLIDAY. I love it SO VERY MUCH and am SO happy when I find people who also like it. (And, yeah, I legit fell on the floor. No shame.) Ugh?! Trying so hard not to be personally offended by your mom. XD (But Actual Weddings instead of Partying Together as BF/GF does make sense. I support that, too.) I watched it a few weeks ago when I was sick with my mom and made my dad watch it for the first time, and he actually liked it. (Which is weird because he hates chick flicks. LOL.)

      Oh my gosh, you’ve gotta see Eloise. It’s the sequel to Eloise at the Plaza, but it’s honestly SO much better than the first one. So much gushing makes sense. It’s all on YouTube, and that’s where I watch it. (Although the DVD is only like $6 on Amazon….) We watched Elf for the first time in like October, I think, and we really love it. It’s kinda hit-or-miss for some people though. If you can’t stand secondhand movie embarrassment, lol, it might not be a fantastic idea. : P Let me know what you think of Eloise and Elf!

  3. A White Christmas IS ONE OF MY FAVORITES. So glad someone else likes it too! I especially love singing “sisters” with my little sister. XD And SO MUCH AWESOME DANCING.

    And It’s A Wonderful Life is amazing. ❤

    ~Jamie

  4. THERE IS NOTHING LIKE IT’S A WONDERFUL LIFE. I love, love, love that movie too!!!! I watched it a loooong time ago when I was a little tyke, entirely too young to appreciate it for what an amazing movie it is, and so I spent several years telling people “I don’t like It’s a Wonderful Life.” SHAAAAME. I watched it again last year for the first time in forever and LOVED it. Probably my favorite Christmas movie too. 🙂

    And White Christmas!!!! Another favorite. Bing Crosby and Danny Kaye are LEGENDARY together. I’ve seen a few of these other ones…Elf is hilarious. ;-P Charlie Brown is classic.

    Oh, so The Holiday is good? I’ve seen it around and maintained a vague interest, but I haven’t watched it yet because of content. It sounds super sweet, though. Maybe that’ll be one for my mom and me. 🙂

  5. I watched A Wonderful Life for the first time a few years ago and disliked it. I LOVE White Christmas. I enjoy Narnia but not as a Christmas movie exactly. I have not seen any of these other ones. My brother thinks I would dislike Elf. I have always thought the live action Grinch frightening. I might try the Holiday sometime. My mom, sisters, and I really enjoy the 2 months or so of Hallmark mush. We know they are not any good as films but we love them anyway.

    • Interesting! I know people who don’t like it, so you’re not alone. : ) Narnia isn’t a Christmas movie, but it’s got snow, so…? Elf is hit-or-miss. The Holiday does have some language, so be advised. : ) AWW YEAH. I love the sappy Hallmark movies.

have something to say?

