the civil war trailer is here and IT IS EVERYTHING.

GUYS.

GUYS GUYS GUYS.

I’ll try to do a breakdown in the midst of my screaming.

0:07 – Is this scene (the one that was teased in Ant Man) actually in the film?  (Which was my one question when we saw Ant Man – is that the only reuniting scene we’ll see or is there more?  Obviously, there’s more.  And it’ll hit us all right in the feels.)  (Hopefully we’ll also find out if he put himself in the vice or if someone else did.  It sounds like he did, though, which I can’t handle AT ALL.)

0:15 – Bucky remembers little things about Steve’s mom and his shoes… GAH, I CANNOT HANDLE ANYTHING.

0:20 – AND NOW STEVE IS CRYING LIKE THE REST OF US.

0:21 – “You’re a wanted man.”  “I don’t do that anymore.”  Sounds like there will be yet another subplot – Bucky’s temporary refugee-like status?  If so, I’m all for it.  More Bucky = Happy Ashley.

0:29 -Guys, I’m betting this is why Steve goes against “those guys” – they’re gonna kill his friend and he just can’t let that happen.

0:33 – As cool as all of the fight sequences here were, I can’t help but focus on Bucky’s outfit.  I MEAN, RED IS HIS COLOR.  And he’s got the same quadruple-layer thing Steve likes, too.  (They’re such bros.)  Also, DID YOU GUYS NOTICE HIS ARM.

0:36 – Face it – we’re all gonna start crying when the logo shows up.  Let’s just agree to hand each other some tissues and deal with it.

0:42 – “Jack Dun.”  Sounds like Josh Dun.  This is probably a huge Marvel villain, but since I don’t really read the comics (spoiler-free, people), I don’t know who it is.  Anyone care to elaborate?  I’m assuming he’s like New SHIELD’s head honcho man.

0:50 – Clearly this guy hasn’t seen Steve’s other movies.  VIGILANTE?  SERIOUSLY?!  (vig·i·lan·te  {vijəˈlan(t)ē/}: noun.  a member of a self-appointed group of citizens who undertake law enforcement in their community without legal authority, typically because the legal agencies are thought to be inadequate.)  Actually, that’s quite accurate, you stupid, stupid man.  DID YOU NOT NOTICE WHAT HAPPENED AT SHIELD JUST LAST YEAR.

0:53 – Internal thought process: Whoa, Bucky’s outfit is SICK – WHOA, WHERE’D HE GO.  STEALTH MODE.  AWW YISS.

0:55 – Crap, guys.  He’s gotta go into hiding again.  And, um, HELLO, doesn’t Nick Fury count as supervision?  Or is he referring to Steve’s bygone WWII hero days?  (If so, IT’S IN THE PAST, DUDE.)  I don’t understand why they’re so uptight about this thing.  Plus, I don’t understand why all of the other Avengers aren’t under this “vigilante” title, too – especially Natasha!  SHE WAS WITH HIM DURING THE WHOLE SHIELD THING.  SHE KNOWS HIM.  WHY IS SHE SO SUDDENLY AGAINST HIM.  IS IT BECAUSE EVERYBODY FINALLY FOUND OUT ABOUT LAURA?!  (Probably.  Girls can be stupid like that.)  (Also, if you’re wondering, the book title is “Sokovia Accords.”  Russian?  Looks like Natasha takes it, too… HMM…  BACKSTORY???)

1:01 – BUCKY MEANS A LOT TO MORE PEOPLE THAN JUST BUCKY, NATASHA.  (But it’s good she knows that they have a special connection…)

1:05 – “Stay outta this one, please.  You’ll only make things worse.”  HEERRRRRMMMMMM.  Does this mean that Natasha is a kind of double agent?  Does she really care enough about Steve to ask him to stay out because of safety reasons?  THE PLOT THICKENS.  (And might I add that her hair is phenomenal.)

1:10 – Here, we see the wild Steve in his natural habitat – ball cap, awesome leather jacket, sunglasses, hiding from everyone who hates him… wait, have I seen this before?  Yes, I did – in Winter Soldier because LITERALLY EVERYONE HATES HIM.

1:12 – “There will be consequences.”  Like, we’ll kill you.  With these big guns.  (DON’T UNDERSTAND WHY THEY SPLICED TWO SCENES TOGETHER FOR THE SHIELD THING.  WHAT HAPPENS AT THE END OF THE UNDERGROUND SHOT?!  I MUST KNOW!)

1:15 – Enter Iron Man, pushing aside the elevator doors because he’s so impatient.

1:19 – “You seem a little defensive…”  NO DUH.  GET A CLUE.  EVERYONE HATES HIM, TONY.

1:22 – “If we can’t accept limitations, we’re no better than bad guys.”  Tony has a point… but is it really worth so many people’s lives???

1:26 – “That’s not the way I see it.”  Is Steve of the opinion that people’s morals should be their guides?  (I studied the plot of Civil War a while ago and I can’t remember…)

1:27 – THE BRO SHOULDER GRAB.  AUGHHHH.

1:29 – “Sometimes I wanna punch you in your perfect teeth.”  *snickers*  Let’s not be too hasty, Tony.  Also, SHUT UP.  Also, look at my baby just shrug it off.  “I’ve heard this every day of my life.  No biggie.  I’ll just kill your bff and THEN where will you be?!  HA!”

1:32 – THE ENTIRE WORLD KNOWS WHEN IT’S GONNA BE, MARVEL.  NO NEED TO RUB IT IN.

1:35 – STOP SHOOTING AT MY PRECIOUS CINNAMON ROLL CHILD.

1:36 – “‘Cause people at you usually wind up shooting at me, too.”  Looking forward to some character development with Sam.  Winter Soldier was good with him, but I want more conflict in this one.  Good to know that Sam’s gonna stay on his side, though!

1:42 – STOP LYING, NATASHA.  YOU OF ALL PEOPLE SHOULD KNOW THAT HE WANTS PEACE.  (Although his Wanda Dream tells us otherwise…)

1:46 – THE FIRST CONFRONTATION.  AWW YISS.  I LOVE THAT CLINT IS ON STEVE’S SIDE.  HE FREAKING WOULD BE.  (And it looks like Bucky has a vest now.  Good for him.  Looks like he’ll be warmer now.  YAHOO.)

1:48 – Inner thought process: Ooh, Iron Patriot and Iron Man, of course they’d be on the same si – AWW YISS, MORE RUNNING BUCKY WITH EPIC CLOTHES, MY LIFE IS COMPLEEEEETE.

1:51 – BLACK PANTHER, GUYS.

1:52 – WANDA IN THE BACK, YEAHHHHHH.

1:53 – WHY DID BLACK PANTHER SCISSOR-KICK BUCKY?!  I DO NOT LIKE HIM ANYMORE.

So much going on in these next few shots, guys.  SO. MUCH.

1:55 – Wait, Black Panther just showed up and he’s already being chased by Steve?!  Who’s side is he ON?!  (And they did the scene-splice again – at the end of that shot, right at the beginning of 1:56, is BUCKY JUMPING ON A CAR, AWWWWW YEEEEAAAAAHHHHHHHHH.)

1:56 – WHY IS STEVE HOLDING A HELICOPTER TO A BUILDING. HE IS GOING TO DIE.  IS HE TRYING TO SAVE SOMEONE TRAPPED INSIDE?  IS BUCKY’S UNCONSCIOUS FORM INSIDE?  WILL HE RIP HIS ARMS APART?!  I NEED ANSWERS!!!

1:58 – EXPLOSIONS (the trucks say Flughaven Leipzig-Halle – it’s an airport in Germany) AND BUCKY PUNCHING THE SNOT OUT OF IRON MAN, AWW YEAH.  (But why does he want to rip out the arc reactor?  Just to ruin the suit?  Because Tony doesn’t have it in him anymore… OH IS THIS SCENE AFTER THE LATER ONE, WHEN BUCKY AND STEVE ARE PUNCHING THE SNOT OUT OF IRON MAN AGAIN?!  EXCEPT WHERE’S STEVE?!)

2:00 – “I’m sorry, Tony.”  See, guys?  He’s nice!  (My theory here is that Rhody [Iron Patriot] died {as seen in a later shot at 2:04}, and Steve’s apologizing, but he’s on Tony’s bad side now, so maybe that’s when they start punching the snot out of each other?

2:03 – “You know I wouldn’t do this if I had any other choice.  But he’s my friend.”  (Reminiscent of the end of Winter Soldier much?  BUT I LIKE IT.)

2:08 – “So was I.”  YES, TONY.  PAST TENSE.  IT CHANGED BECAUSE YOU’RE STUPID AND ASSUMED WRONG THINGS ABOUT STEVE.

2:10 – AWW YEAH, PUNCH HIM OUT, GUYS.

2:13 – LOOK, GUYS, STEVE AND BUCKY ARE TOSSING THE SHIELD BACK AND FORTH BETWEEN THEM BECAUSE IT’S THEIR ONLY PHYSICAL WEAPON.  I LOVE IT.

2:16 – Just throwing out something here… It doesn’t look like that’s a crushing blow.  I mean obviously Marvel wouldn’t put clips from the final confrontation scene in the trailer (although it’s been done before), but I don’t think Steve would really “shoot to kill.”  He’s just not that kind of person.  Especially to someone he has so much history with.

2:18 – AWWWWWW YEEEEAAAAHHHHHHHHH.

It’s gonna be so bad, guys.  So many plotlines, so many things they have to wrap up… OR LEAVE OPEN TO FINISH UP IN INFINITY WAR, WHICH I CANNOT HANDLE AT ALL.

Ugh.

Okay, your thoughts?

15 thoughts on “the civil war trailer is here and IT IS EVERYTHING.

  1. Pingback: year in review: 2015 | inklings press

  2. A a a a ahh I need this movie NOW!!!
    I’m so glad we will see more Bucky! ! !
    I’m just so torn that Clint and Natasha are fighting each other 😥
    (and those are Wanda’s hands that take the booklet thing not Natasha’s)

  3. My guess is on the Sokovia Accords is this. Remember the name of the country in Age of Ultron? Yeah…Sokovia. So the Sokovia Accords are most likely the film version of the “Superhuman Registration Act” in the comics Civil War timeline. So most likely, they’re some kind of rules, boundaries, accountability, thingy. So unfortunately, probably no Natasha backstory. Which is kind of good, because, I get the feeling this movie is going to be too stretched as it is. I mean, almost every Avenger yet is going to be in it, plus a couple new ones, so…yeah…

    Samuel Ginn

    P.S. If you want to learn more about Black Widow’s childhood, watch Agent Carter. It tells a lot about the school she grew up in, and you can see how the Black Widow could’ve emerged from Natasha in that environment.

  4. BUT DID YOU NOT EVEN SEE THE PAIN IN TONY’S EYES HOW COULD YOU NOT HAVE SEVERE HEART-HURT FOR BOTH OF THEM. That “So was I” just killed me. But so did the Bucky and the shoes thing. And so did anything Captain America ever done in any of his movies, ever. So much conflict.

    • BECAUSE I DON’T CARE ABOUT TONY. : P

      I’ve honestly never really been a huge Iron Man fan. I mean, he’s so selfish and prideful. Steve’s the opposite.

  5. *watches trailer again* *reads your post*

    I’M GONNA DIE WHEN I WATCH THIS. I KNOW IT ALREADY.

    (And I know that I say that about every movie – Winter Soldier, Unbroken, MJ2 – but this time IT’S GOING TO HAPPEN.)

have something to say?

