imho: God’s not dead 2

The In My Honest Opinion Series (IMHO) is a series of posts for the purpose of declaring my opinion on certain subjects.  My honest opinion.  (Yes, thank you, Mary.)  These posts will be my totally unbiased, totally unaltered-on-any-grounds opinion.  Each and every one of my readers are entitled to the right to comment below with their own opinion and an argument, if they so desire.  Let us begin.

I haven’t done an IMHO post in a while, and I’m thinking I should, so let’s get started, shall we?

My thoughts about the film God’s Not Dead 2 can be summed up in the following gif:

Ummmm... NO.

But, because this is a blog post, I’ll expound.

Like the rest of the Christian population, I saw God’s Not Dead in the theater, texted my friends at the end, reviewed it, liked it, the whole nine yards.  I thought it was a good movie.  Not fantastic, but good.  What it lacked in story doctrinal accuracy it made up for in cinematography (which is huge for an independent film.)

But, the more I think about it, the more I don’t like it.  (And it wasn’t just Kevin’s awesome review that made me start to rethink my opinion of it.)

After all, a movie that tries to prove the existence of God through storytelling has to do it exactly right.  There’s no wiggle room available in that area.  And I think the writers may have been a little off in the debate scenes.

Plus, it’s just not my style.  I’d rather see a movie that shows the daily trials that Christians go through and how God’s grace equips them to battle day-to-day persecution, not a movie that assumes I’m an Atheist, preaches at me, and tries to convert me every three seconds.  (Because when your main motive to make a movie is to convert people, your film is going to suffer.)

So when I heard that Pureflix is going to make a sequel… well.

Hiddleswhy

And then I saw the trailer.  *facepalm*

(Side note: Guys, it’s going to be released on April 1st.  April Fools Day.  REALLY?!  They’re just asking for those jokes in addition to the backlash from all of the non-believers and people who hated the first movie.)

I have no problem with Christian movies.  I love Christian movies.  (In fact, I’m trying to narrow down my five favorites for a blog post.)  But, again, when the main purpose for the film is evangelism, the people who need it the most (IF THEY EVEN GO SEE THE FILM) will already be so biased that they’ll be closed to the message.

The main purpose of every story is, first and foremost, to give glory to God.  Only barely second to that is a good story – because if you don’t have a good story, there’s no point to make the film or write the novel in the first place.  Your story should also move people, regardless of their religious background.  And it’s only after the story is set in stone that you can try to put in the Christian undertones.

I want someone to make a big-budget Christian film where the main character is real – not someone who talks about God all of the time because, be honest guys, do we do that?  I hate Christian films that make Christians seem like they read their Bible all the time and only listen to Christian music (or classical music written by Christian composers) and only want to talk about God.

I like Marvel movies.  I read books that have language in them.  I listen to Taylor Swift and Imagine Dragons.  Heck, I read Harry Potter!  Does that make me less of a Christian?  If I were in a Christian film, I’d probably be the wandering friend who is losing her faith (who the main character has to convert, obviously).

What I’m trying to say is that I want more realistic Christian films.  And whether God’s Not Dead 2 is going to be realistic or not, I’ll probably get dragged along to go see it.  And I’ll probably review it, if only to point out the inaccuracies.  So stay tuned.

Finally, here’s Kevin’s response to the trailer.  As always, I totally agree with him.  Plus, he says it better.  So watch it.

7 thoughts on “imho: God’s not dead 2

  1. Pingback: year in review: 2015 | inklings press

  2. Personally, I *loved* God’s Not Dead, though I wouldn’t say it’s my favorite Christian film (I think Courageous still takes that prize. Or The Ultimate Gift. Those are both about as non-cheesy as Christian movies can get, IMHO). However, I DO have to to say that even with my favorite Christian movies, there are times when I have to suppress an eye-roll or two and so many that I’ve watched are just plain bad. 😛 Ugh. I’m still holding out for an awesome Christian film (maybe you and I should team up!).

    The trailer looks intriguing, though!

    ~Eva

    • I still liked God’s Not Dead (and Courageous and all of those), but it wasn’t fantastic. Ooh, The Ultimate Gift! Heehee, I take full credit for that one. ; ) Totally understand. Several Christian films have me eye-rolling. Ooh, that’d be fun!!! I’m going to do a post about my favorite Christian films (I keep saying that, but it’s gonna happen soon!!!), so I’ll give you a heads-up when it’s done.

      It certainly does! (One thing I’m wondering is if the Atheist reporter who had cancer got healed because she became a Christian. My fingers are crossed that this isn’t the case!!!)

  3. I tried watching his videos, but I found him to be brutal, not funny (and now I am not as super thrilled with Blimey Cow anymore). I do not like (and I generally avoid) most Christian films because they are SUCH poor quality; something serious should not be goofy. However, I think the comments from this guy are so negative, and rather unprofessional and tacky. They need to critique (which means point out and not mock and includes suggestions). This coming from a harsh person, btw.

    I have the same problem with Christian fiction, actually more of a problem since it is so prevalent. My answer to that is for those people to just stop writing. Films are more of a craft and collaboration, writing requires talent if not genius.

    • He is very brutal, but he’s harsh about secular films, too. It’s everything I’ve always wanted to say about Christian films but never really could find the words for. I love cheesy Christian films, but I hate the fact that they’re all cheesy and don’t seem to be getting better. I think he verges on unprofessional sometimes, but most of what he said, when looked at objectively, can really help filmmakers. (For instance, if I ever make a Christian film, I’ll never start it with voice-over or make the non-Christians stupid.)

      I have the exact same problem with Christian fiction!!! (I actually wrote a blog post on it a while back.) Haha, good advice! 😄 You are so right.

      • Yeah, I have SO much to say about Christian/homeschool fiction; I have notes scribbled, but it will probably be a long time and several posts. Actually, a lot of cheap fiction is terrible, but the only modern adult fiction I have come into contact with is Christian because for some reason I read classics or contemporary YA/juvenile fiction. So I find Christian films embarrassing and Christian fiction more just aggravating.

have something to say?

