the new star wars trailer is out and i’m kind of excited.

Honestly, I’m not a Star Wars fan.  My siblings are, though, so I’ve seen the movies multiple times, heard sections of the Shakespeare versions (“Luke, prepare thyself for company!”), listened to my siblings talk about all of the spin-off books, and have heard theory after theory about the Star Wars universe.  All while yawning and trying to get back to whatever else I was doing before.

But the trailer for Force Awakens came out last night and my sister and I watched it and… well, I’m kind of excited.  It’s directed by the wonderful J.J. Abrams (who directed the amazing Star Trek reboots), and even has some of my favorite actors in it (DOMHNALL GLEESON, BABY).

I think the main reason I’m excited, though, is because it just looks better than the originals.  Now, I know I’m gonna get a lot of hate for this, but… I just didn’t like the story of the original six.  Episodes IV, V, and VI were better, as far as the story, and Episodes I, II, and III had better cinematography (and special effects).  But I never really got into it, probably because it was forced on me (pun intended *wink*) by my mega-fan siblings.  I don’t know.  Maybe I’ll like the newer one more.  We’ll see.

If you haven’t seen the trailer, here it is.  (It’s already at eight million views.  Golly. Pete.)

12 thoughts on “the new star wars trailer is out and i’m kind of excited.

  1. I hadn’t even watched Star Wars until this past year because some people I know are going to drag me to the theater…
    I like the stories, but they definitively aren’t a favorite. But when I saw that trailer…I’m excited now. Maybe I’m crazy for being excited, but it looks really cool!

      • I thought I was the only person, but as soon as I tell people I’m watching it for the first time I either get a shocked reaction or a confession that they have never seen it either. There really are a fair number of people who haven’t seen it!

        • HA! It’s really not that weird. My uncle knew someone at his work who hadn’t seen it yet, and watched one every night for a week, without knowing anything about it. She came back every morning with something to say about the plot. 😛

  2. So I was a Star Wars fan. I didn’t like the original the first time, but then we watched 5 and I started to love the whole saga…way too much for months. And because I was too into it, I kind of fell out of the fandom. Noticing theological issues probably had a part to play too. And noticing poor acting. 😛 Anyway, I’ve been pretty skeptical of the new movie, but it actually looks pretty cool. Not sure if it’s “have to see it in theaters” cool, but I’ll want to see it at some point.

  3. Everything about this post is amazing. First: J.J. Yes. Just yes. Always and forever yes. Secondly: Effects. Effects totally make the movie like 50% better. I have always struggled to put into words my beliefs on effects making such an enormous difference in the quality of a movie.
    And yeah. This trailer is pretty amazing.

  4. Eeek!! I can’t tell you how excited I am for this as well. The first thing I did this morning was get my brother out of bed so we could watch it. 😉 haha
    You don’t like the originals? But..but….they’re AMAZING. I do like the prequels, but they’re nothing compared to the originals, in my opinion. Oh well. Hope you enjoy this new one!
    I’m a little nervous about what they’re going to do with the story…mainly my favorite characters. But I’m still looking forward to it immensely. 🙂

    • Nice! : )

      Ehh. I don’t know. I guess I’m just used to better special effects. I’m a very big fan of modern movies. : P Same! I’m very interested in how the fandom reacts to it. : )

have something to say?

