the scarlet pimpernel blog party tag.

blogpartyJoining the party a little late because I had school and now I’m at the beach.  BUT NOW I AM HERE.
1. The obvious question… how’d you get introduced to the Scarlet Pimpernel?
My awesome aunt and awesome older sister introduced it to me.  I can’t remember which happened first, but I know the two of them definitely influenced my reading it.  (And it took me a few tries to get through the infamous first couple of chapters, but I did it.)
2.  If you could meet any of the characters in real life, who would you choose and why? (you can use the obvious answer of Sir Percy if you really want to, but this is your chance to get creative. ;))
Probably either Percy (#somainstream), Anthony Ffoulkes, or Tony Dewhurst.  Because I loves all of them and they are my precious cinnamon rolls.  I’d probably just follow them around.  Because of reasons.  😄
3.  What are your top 3 favorite quotes from the books or movies? (yes, just three)
OH MY GOSH.  ONLY THREE???
Okay, fine.
I think the first one would be this gem from early on in the first book:
“Had he but turned back then, and looked out once more on to the rose-lit garden, she would have seen that which would have made her own sufferings seem but light and easy to bear–a strong man, overwhelmed with his own passion and despair. Pride had given way at last, obstinacy was gone: the will was powerless. He was but a man madly, blindly, passionately in love and as soon as her light footstep had died away within the house, he knelt down upon the terrace steps, and in the very madness of his love he kissed one by one the places where her small foot had trodden, and the stone balustrade, where her tiny hand had rested last.”
This is the first passage from a book that I can ever remember my heart actually skipping a beat while simultaneously fluttering in my chest.  He kissed. the. steps, guys.  *fans face*
This next one’s from my personal favorite of the books, El Dorado.  It’s the other one that TSP82 is based on.  This quote is from the scene when Percy’s been captured and hasn’t slept in weeks.  (Seriously, they made that scene in the movie SO. MUCH. LESS. DRAMATIC.  Reminds me of Peeta’s leg wound in The Hunger Games.)
“I am in a tight corner – tighter than ever I have been before; but I am not dead yet!”
He’s literally almost dead and he’s still holding onto hope!
Last one’s spoken by Andrew Ffoulkes (Mr. Rabbit Teeth from TSP82) in El Dorado, when he’s trying to encourage Marguerite.
“Percy was not the man to leave a comrade in the lurch!  He would not be the man whom we all love and admire, whose word we all obey, for whose sake we would gladly all of us give our life – he would not be that man if he did not brave even certain dangers in order to be of help to those who call on him.”
YEAH, THAT’S MY BABY.  *explodes into a burst of rainbow confetti*
(Seriously, if you guys haven’t read El Dorado, you’re missing out on most of Percy’s awesomeness.  I almost like that one better than the original.)
4. Who is your favorite supporting character in the books? (Percy and Marguerite are ineligible)
Lord St. John Devinne.
Jk.  ; )  (Only true fans will reel in horror at that… League points for you if you understood that reference.)
Honestly, I don’t know.  It’s either Andrew, Tony, or Hastings.  I love those guys.  (I was sooooo obsessed with all of those books and actually had a favorite for a while… I think it was Tony.  I just can’t remember now because I haven’t read them in a while.  Which is SAD.)
5. Which film versions have you seen and which do you like best?
I’ve seen the Leslie Howard version (’34) and the Anthony Andrews version (’82).  I’ve also seen Pimperenel Smith, if that counts.  And duh why is that even a question OF COURSE I LOVE THE AA VERSION AKA TSP82 AKA THE TRUE AND ONLY VERSION THE MOST.  (And I’ve also listened to most of the music from the musical.)
6. What’s your top-absolute-favorite scene in the first book? (if you’ve read it– if not, what’s your favorite scene in whichever movie you prefer?)
In the first book…  Honestly, other than the kissing-the-stairs scene, I think I like the big reveal scene in the end.  Not to spoil it for anyone who hasn’t read it *glares at those people* but I love it from the moment you hear the ‘good British-sounding “Damn!”‘  GOLLY PETE I LOVE THAT BOOK.
(And to the weirdos people who haven’t read it…  Oh my gosh. Seriously, what are you doing with your life???  I mean, I know you have a life and more important things to do, but… READ THE BOOK.  I just shoved it at a friend {*waves at Morgan*}, and I’ll do it again.  Yes, yes, yes, get your important things done, then take a break and read the book.)
7. If you could dream-cast a new adaptation of the book (a period piece, that is) who would you choose to play the roles of Sir Percy, Marguerite and Chauvelin?
I dream-cast’d this a few years ago (here) and I think I’d stick by that casting.
Chauvelin would definitely be played by Richard Armitage.  I mean, come on.  We’ve seen how villainous he can be, but we’ve also seen how much we can sympathize with him.  I love him.
I’m going to stick with my original casting of Scarlett Johansson as Marguerite.  She’s played sweet characters and strong characters.  I love her, too.
And who else would be PERFECT for Percy besides the amazingly talented Tom Hiddleston???  I’m standing by that.  *drops mic*
8. Do you think the Scarlet Pimpernel does his rescue work purely for “the love of sport,” as the narrative would tell us (and as he would often claim) or does he have more noble motives that he won’t admit?  Explain your answer.  Show your work.
NO NO NO.  He has far, far superior motives other than just the love of the sport!  He’s a guy, so obviously he’ll try to be all macho and claim that he only does it for the sport, but, deep down inside him, he does it for the people.  He wants to save people, so he does, no matter what the cost.  (Somebody wrote a blog post on this once, I think.  That, or we discussed this question on The Day-Dream, right, Amy?  I distinctly remember this being an issue, back in our Emailing Days.  *sigh of nostalgia*)
Work shown: A quote from El Dorado.
The Scarlet Pimpernel did not take it upon himself to punish the guilty; his care was solely of the helpless and of the innocent.  For this aim he risked his life every time that he set foot on French soil, for it he sacrificed his fortune, and even his personal happiness, and to it he devoted his entire existence. […]  The Scarlet Pimpernel was a personality of whom an entire nation might be justly proud.
9.  Second to Chauvelin, who is the worst villain in the book series, and why?
ARMAND ST. JUST BECAUSE HE DISOBEYS PERCY.
And then also Lord St. John Devinne.  Because he’s pure evil.
10.  What’s your favorite novel in the series (if you’ve read more than one)?  If not, which one are you most excited to read?
I’ve already said it and I’ll say it again – El Dorado.  It’s one of the only ones where we see Percy in real peril, after things go horribly, terribly wrong.  (*glares at Armand*)  He proves his worth by not letting his situation get the best of him.  And this also lets us see how the little League does flying solo.  ; )
11.  If you could change one thing about your favorite version of the movie, what would it be?
I think I’d make TSP82 longer.  Or I’d make TSP12 (remember when that was gonna happen? *cries tears*) ACTUALLY HAPPEN.
12.  Lastly… how would you convince a skeptical friend to read/watch TSP?  What is it that you love about it?
I actually just did!  Or, I’m working on her.  ; )  *waves at Morgan*  I also convinced some very skeptical guy-friends to watch it and they LOVED it.  They thought it was a girly movie (no comment), but I convinced them that it had a lot of guy aspects to it, and some amazing duels – of wit and of swords – and we got together one night and watched it.  And now they love it.  So yay me  : )
I just love Percy as a person.  He’s always been one of my favorite literary characters ever.  I normally love guy characters because they do stuff that make me swoon (*cough* Levi) or because they’re just likeable (looking at you, Gilbert Blythe, George/Alex Knightley, and Mac Campbell).  But I love Percy for different reasons – he’s so courageous and downright brilliant.  He puts his life on the line to save others, and I think that’s something to be commended.  I just *sniffs* have sO mAnY feELS abOUT HIM… *flings self down stairs*
Here’s the trailer for Masked, the reason Amy’s blog party is taking place.
*holds sword to your throat*  WATCH IT AND SUPPORT MY FRIENDS.  I KNOW HALF OF THESE PEOPLE.
WATCH IT.
 
8 thoughts on “the scarlet pimpernel blog party tag.

  1. Yeah, yeah, yeah, I know, I know. I need to start over so I can get it. And read it while I’m not half asleep. I want to get it and like it. I don’t think I’ve heard anything bad about it. But everyone keeps doing blog tours and asking me to review their books. I’ve only checked out library books once for that reason. And I’m reading The Book Thief now, which is another one you wanted me to read. But YOU need to read Anne of Green Gables still, so I think we’re even. 😉

    • You do! The general consensus of the fandom is that it’s great… if you can get through the first three chapters. If you can get to chapter five, you’re in. You just have to stick it out and acknowledge all of that information, put it away in your mind, and wait for Percy to show up. HA! You poor famous beta reader. 😄 Let me know when you’re done with TBT! Haha, yeahhhhh. I’ll get there. I want to read Les Mis first.

      • That’s what I keep hearing. I’ll start over at some point. I’ll definitely let you know when I finish TBT. I have to tell you if I cry, after all. 🙂 I haven’t read Les Mis yet, but AoGG is shorter and cleaner. Just sayin’.

        • Okie-doke. Haha. Well, Les Mis has been on My List for a longer amount of time, aaaand the content doesn’t bother me, as I’ve seen all of the musicals and the movie. SO. 🙂 I’m planning on reading both, though.

have something to say?

