open, broken, and free.

So I’ve been trying to think of a way to adequately convey just how amazing WIT Alive was… and I find that I can’t.  HA.  My sister tried to compare it to the CPE3 last year, but couldn’t.  (The people at both were amazing, but WIT Alive was a little harder than the CPE3 because we had to deal with all of the junk in our lives.)

Speaking of, one of my favorite things was the people there.  Everybody was so honest with each other and the things that were going on in their lives that it was really easy to form deep relationships with each other.  One of the most fun things to do was guess people’s ages, because everyone acted so mature.  🙂  I had so many good conversations with so many different people that it’s hard to be overwhelmed with the awesomeness of it all!  We played speed volleyball (six teams at one point!), Ultimate, four-square, and Airplane (which somebody rightly classified as a game version of speed-dating).  Everyone stayed up ’til 2am and 3am most nights, getting up only hours later for more.  There were pizza parties and Starbucks runs and even an all-night Disney movie marathon on the last night.  One of my favorite parts was staying up ’til 3am one night praying and singing hymns (and then playing Dutch Blitz).  There’s just something about being around like-minded Christians – especially young people your own age – that gives you such a wonderful feeling that stays with you for a long time.  I loved the fellowship there.  🙂

The conference itself, however, was wonderful.  I’d heard a lot of the material before from different conferences I’ve been to, but it just goes to show that you can never look at the broken people/prideful people list too many times.  HA.  Just like surrender is a daily thing, getting rid of your junk is a daily thing, too.  We sin daily, so we need to be forgiven daily.

One of the biggest things I learned was during a session on traveling the high road versus traveling the low road.  The high road is one that is motivated with self-promotion, the desire to become someone and look good on the outside.  The low road is one that is motivated with brokenness, a continual desire to have your life be centered on Christ alone.  I discovered that I’m not traveling either road – I’m on a high road of my own making.  I’ve been burned by “perfect” people in the past, and I don’t want to have anything to do with that.  I’m not perfect, and I sometimes flaunt my imperfection and raise my faults above everything else.  I realized that I need to learn how to be broken, yes, but also cling to Jesus, not my faults, and ask Him to help me work through my issues.

Another thing I learned was that my testimony is not worthless.  That was one of the lies I realized I believed about myself this weekend.  (Here’s the full list of lies.  Work through it.  You’d be surprised at how many you believe if you’re honest with yourself.)  So many young people who were there were there were struggling with major things like sexual, physical, and verbal abuse and addictions and horrible family lives.  As I listened to all the stories, I felt so… useless.  I’m so blessed to not have struggled with anything major like that, but it felt like my issues weren’t as important as everyone else’s.  After all, an issue like pride doesn’t seem as major when you’ve got a friend who’s dealing with her father physically abusing her.  For a while, I thought that my testimony and the stuff I have to deal with wasn’t worth it and that I had no business being at that conference.  But then a girl got up and shared the exact. same. testimony, saying that she struggled with the exact same thing that I did, and encouraged everyone that even if they think they’re not going through anything as bad as everyone else, their testimonies are still precious and God can still use them.

The main thing that the Speeds want to help us accomplish through WIT is becoming open, broken, and free, because once you’re free from your junk, you can serve God better by helping others more.  I don’t mean for this to be a commercial and the Speeds didn’t pay me to say this, but if you have anything you need to work through (or if you would just like to meet awesome people and have great conversations like me), I’d strongly recommend going.  They also have a marriage conference, and separate retreats for men and women (all of which my parents have gone to and highly recommend).

5 thoughts on “open, broken, and free.

  1. Pingback: year in review: 2015 | inklings press

have something to say?

