i’m being assaulted by rainbows.

So get this.  I open up my WordPress account and pull up a new post to write an awesome post about something awesome, and this RAINBOW shows up on the top of the page.  Check it out.

Yayyyyy...

boom.  i mean, what the HAY???

I know about the Supreme Court ruling.  I just wasn’t going to write about it because other people are already doing such an eloquent job (including two of my favorite authors, Wayne Thomas Batson and Christopher Hopper).

But because of this rainbow – and other rainbows that keep popping up on random websites I frequent – I’ll say a few words and be done.

First things first: I’m a Christian.  I believe in God and I believe that every word in the Bible is true and infallible.  I believe that marriage should be between one man and one woman, as orchestrated by God at the beginning of time in the Garden of Eden.  I also think gay marriage is wrong.  Hate-comment and unfollow me all you want, but this is what I believe.  The institution of marriage, as defined by God, is too sacred to be utilized lightly and defiled by the lustful actions of homosexuals.

I don’t believe gay marriage should have been legalized.  I think the only reason it’s become prevalent in our society is because of the media – especially in recent movies and the whole thing with Bruce/Caitlyn Jenner.  Had this law been brought to the court merely thirty years ago, I don’t think it would have been passed.  After all, it was a different world then.  (Not saying that world was better… but that’s a different post for a different time.)  In this day and age, we’re told that anything and everything is okay.  All free expression is good.  (Except racism and intolerance.  People are intolerant of intolerance.)  Do what you want to do with your life.  Because YOLO.

All that said, I don’t think homosexual people are evil or anything.  They are sinful humans, just like me.  Jesus died for them, just like He did for me.  And, just like me, they are given the chance to repent and take hold of God’s grace.  Jesus says to love our neighbors.  Plain and simple.  He didn’t add, “Oh, except the homosexuals because they’re yucky.”  Neighbors = everyone.

If you’re homosexual and send me a hate-comment, I won’t rail against you.  I’m not going to argue with you.  I will – hopefully calmly – say that I believe you’re wrong and give you Bible verses that back me up.  (However, if you want to get into a theological debate, bring it on.  I’ll turn on my caps lock for ya.)

So there are my thoughts on the subject.  Take them or leave them.  I hope I’ve clearly stated my viewpoint without offending anyone (although I really don’t care if I offend anyone, just like I don’t care if I offend anyone by saying that the Yellow Jackets are the best college football team out there or that Clint Barton and Natasha Romanoff should’ve gotten together).

EDIT: And I was reminded of something by the lovely Victoria that I forgot to say.  Listen up, Christians!!!  This does not mean that God is losing control of anything.  This means that our world is fallen, and our nation is fallen, and our justice system is fallen, and all of the judges in the Supreme Court are fallen (even those who voted against the law).  God is STILL on His throne and He STILL reigns and we STILL have hope in Him!  Don’t lose faith, guys.  It’s not the end of the world.  (Although it’d be nice if that happened soon…)  This ruling merely gives us more of an opportunity to stand for what we believe in and witness to others who may not have the same opinion as us.  I Peter 3:15-18 says, “But in your hearts revere Christ as Lord. Always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience, so that those who speak maliciously against your good behavior in Christ may be ashamed of their slander.  For it is better, if it is God’s will, to suffer for doing good than for doing evil.  For Christ also suffered once for sins, the righteous for the unrighteous, to bring you to God. He was put to death in the body but made alive in the Spirit.”

Don’t lose hope.

25 thoughts on “i’m being assaulted by rainbows.

  1. Pingback: year in review: 2015 | inklings press

  2. Great post! And it’s so important to remember that God is still in control. But ugh, I hate that WordPress put that up. I haven’t gone on Blogger since the ruling since I haven’t had time, and now I’m afraid I’ll find that. 😛

  3. I’ve had a lot of gay friends over the past few years, so the entire gay rights movement is something I’ve thought about a lot. I think forcing states to legalize gay marriage is totally unconstitutional, not to mention the spiritual repercussions associated with allowing this type of stuff to be written into our country’s laws. On the other hand, most LGBT people that get married will have already been in committed lifelong relationships with their partners, all this does is give them the state’s recognition. Compared to other issues going on today, like slavery, legalized abortion, and the whole middle east situation, this is relatively tame, and I don’t think it’s what the church should focus on. People can be saved and these “marriages” can be dissolved, but nothing can be done for the millions of unborn children that have been killed in our country. Others may disagree, in fact I KNOW others disagree, but I just don’t really think that this is the most important issue for us right now.

    • AMEN. I don’t think the government should have anything to do with people’s love lives. You’re right, though – I don’t think it’s THE most important issue right now, but I think it might have potential to be pretty big. I honestly don’t see it changing much about our culture (except for the fact that the majority of Americans are heterosexual and are against homosexuality), but we’ll have to see. Thanks for commenting! 🙂

  4. My thoughts exactly! We just have to remember Who is in control and to stand up for what we believe and know is right even if the world believes different.

  5. *applauds enthusiastically*

    AMEN. Wow. I was feeling pretty discouraged/depressed over yesterday’s news, but reading this post helped put everything into perspective – especially the section you added in as an edit. God IS still in control, and that’s amazing to know. You put all my thoughts into words (and much better than I could ever do), so THANK YOU soooo much for that! 🙂

    ~Eva

have something to say?

