just keepin’ it real.

IMG_0758[1]I feel like I owe you guys an apology for going MIA so often and only returning with lame posts.  😛  I’ve been so incredibly busy, but it feels like I haven’t been doing much because I’ve been busy with the usual stuff – school, nannying, reading, slaying the writer’s block beast, etc, etc…

My family’s been going through a rough spot, too.  We’ve got some hard church stuff going on, and… Other Situations That Require Attention.  (Also, I’m trying to get my older sister married off, but she hasn’t taken my Awesome Guy Advice yet.  I keep telling her she’d better hop on certain trains before they leave the station, but… we’ll see.)

Anyway, I just started my first official college course – a fiction course from LSU – and got back my first grade a few hours ago.  (Less than great, but we’ll keep moving forward.)

IMG_0689[1]SPEAKING OF MOVING FORWARD.  Go see Tomorrowland.  Seriously, that movie was incredible.  It was full of day-after-tomorrow type stuff, and deeper than I ever thought a Disney movie could be.  I absolutely loved it.  I can’t remember the last time I saw a movie full of so much hope and promise for the future.  Gahhhh.  *insert heart-eyed emoji here*

Another thing I’ve been loving lately is my hair.  Which I got cut.  We’re talking like a foot off, people.  O_O  I haven’t had it this short since I was, like, eleven.  And it. is. awesome.  I’ve been told it’s “super cute,” and my only hesitant thought is that it’s too cute and people will think I’m younger than I actually am.  What do you guys think?

IMG_0809[1]I’ve also been reading a lot.  Like, a LOT.  My Goodreads goal for this year is seventy-five books.  I’m a few behind, but I have a life, so that’s my excuse.  🙂  Most recently, I read John Green’s Looking for Alaska (not my favorite of his books) and The Secret Diary of Lizzie Bennet (soooogoooooooood).  Here’s my stack of books that I keep beside my bed.  Most are on my To Read Immediately list, but some are just awesome books that I (a) don’t have room for on my shelf or (b) don’t want to put on my shelf because I want to keep them close to me like the total book nerd that I am.  (#noshame)  I’ve also bought a ton of books lately.  Lots of Jack Cavanaugh, John Green, and randomness.  No regrets.IMG_0810[1]

Let’s see… what else have I been doing?  Oh, I know – watching an insane amount of girly chick flicks.  My dad was recently gone for a few days on a business trip and whenever that happens my sisters and mom and I always have a marathon.  My sister and I got my mom a Hugh Grant collection for Mother’s Day (because she loves him muchly) and we blew through those.  (My favorite was Music and Lyrics.  Drew Barrymore + Hugh Grant + music + twisted backstories = AWESOME.)  I’ve also been indulging in my love for all things Stanley Tucci, which means watching Easy A and The Devil Wears Prada for the first time.  (I can’t completely recommend either, by the way, even though I totally loved both of them.  Comment if you want specifics.)  I’m planning on doing a post full of my favorite Stanley Tucci roles – which will probably end up being a list of all the movies I’ve ever seen him in BUT THIS IS MY BLOG SO THERE.

I’ve also started writing again.  FINALLY.  I finallyfinallyfinallyyyyy got over my writer’s block (which meant cutting out a few hundred words of bad storytelling but c’est la vie).  I’m pretty sure I’ve got about two chapters left, and I’m inwardly plotting a sequel (and another totally separate novel… but that’s hush-hush at this moment in time *wink*).  It’s going really well, but I have so many insecurities about my writing skills and if I’ll be able to pull it off.  I’ve got such a big vision for what The Art is going to be… and if I can’t make it work… we’ll see.  I’ll do my best and leave the rest up to God.  🙂

IMG_0395[1]In other news, I’ve also been able to hang out with my bestie a lot recently.  Isn’t she gorgeous???  I’m totally blessed to have her in my life.  Love ya, girly!

Well, I’ve gotta go now.  As it’s Tuesday night (which means date night for my parents and movie night for my siblings and I), a Monkathon is in order… after I whip up a batch of gluten-free brownies.  : ))))))))

16 thoughts on “just keepin’ it real.

  1. Pingback: year in review: 2015 | inklings press

  2. Hey Ashley, long time no speak! Church problems? Not sure what that means, but God does, so I’ll be praying it gets resolved. And your haircut looks nice! For some reason, I think it makes you look more like an the adult you are!

  3. I think I know what church situation you’re referring to. I’m sure you know a lot more about it than I. I really hope it gets resolved soon. I’ve been praying that we’ll all know what to do.

    My mom said she heard Tomorrowland had a lot of environmental stuff, but the PluggedIn review didn’t sound like it to me. What do you think?

    Curious question, would the hair cut help or hurt in the awkward Target situation a few weeks ago? I’m not sure if you got it before or after, but anyway.

    Glad you got over writer’s block! I hate that stuff. It plagued me constantly when I was writing Time Captives. But can you tell me about this hush-hush book?

    • You probably do and, yeah, I do. (Which isn’t great all the time, but it’s something we’re all going through for a reason, sooooo.) Same!

      No, it didn’t. It may have seemed like that to some people, but it wasn’t overtly “SAVE EVERYTHING AND BE GREEN!” like some movies are. (It wasn’t NEARLY as bad as The Lorax, which I couldn’t even finish because it was so preachy.) You should see it! I think you’d like it. 🙂

      HAHAHA. I don’t know. My BFF says it makes me look older, so The Unnamed Target Situation miiiiight have been a little worse. (But I think it makes me look younger, so TUTS probably wouldn’t have changed at all. *giggles*) I got it after that.

      I know! Soooo happy I’m in the final lap. 🙂 Nope. I haven’t told anyone about it yet, so you’re not alone. (“No one is alone…”) You’ll find out… soonish. 😉

      • Well, there’s always a reason for everything, we just may not know what that reason is at the time. I guess we just have to have faith that God will work it all out in His time.

        I probably won’t see it in theaters, the only reason I did AoU was because my sister wanted to see it enough to be willing to pay for my ticket (and it was awesome!), but I’m certainly willing for it to be a Netflix watch. I have no interest in The Lorax. My six year old cousin loved it, at least a few years ago, but no. I don’t even like the book that much.

        Love how you call it The Unnamed Target Situation. 😉

        I want to know. (“….Someone is on your side. Someone else is not.”) I suppose you call all times soon? 🙂

        • Exactly! 🙂

          Makes sense. I went during the bargain hour, so it was super duper cheap. That’s one of the only times I like to go… unless it’s at a later time with friends (which is what I did for AoU). Ugh, I’ve seen it a few times because the kids I babysit love it. It’s funny and has catchy songs, but it’s totally green – and not in a good way. It’s like all the tree-huggers of the world got together and wrote a script. Yuck. : P Heehee. ; )

          Oui. All times = soon. ; )

  4. Hehee, I love your haircut! 🙂 I just got my hair cut about that same length (only it hadn’t been much longer)– my sister did it on our deck the other night. So now I look like Sully in Dr. Quinn again, which makes me happy. 🙂

    That’s awesome that you’re getting over your writer’s block…that’s one of the greatest feelings in the world, isn’t it? I hope things go well with finishing up your novel!

    ~Emma

    • Aww, thanks! 🙂 Isn’t it great when it’s short? I’m having a little trouble doing hairstyles, but, for right now, I’m just enjoying leaving it alone in all it’s tameable glory. 😀 Awesome!!!

      Definitely!!!!!!! Thanks! 🙂

have something to say?

