i’m doing modern mrs. darcy’s 2015 reading challenge – and you should, too!

One of my favorite bloggers, Modern Mrs. Darcy, is doing a reading challenge this year, and I’m participating!  It looks fantastic.  I can’t wait!

2015-Reading-Challenge

Because I don’t want to be lazy, I’ve already picked out the books I’m going to read.  🙂

  1. A book you’ve been meaning to read – The Confession by Robert Whitlow.  He’s one of my favorite authors and I bought the book, like, the day it came out last August… and still haven’t read it.  #coneofshame
  2. A book published this year – The Penderwicks In Spring by Jeanne Birdsall.  Which comes out this year.  PARTYYYYYYY.
  3. A book in a genre you don’t typically read – The Problem of Pain by C.S. Lewis.  I don’t read much Christian nonfic, but I should – especially since I got three new C.S. Lewis books for Christmas!
  4. A book from your childhood – The Melendy Quartet by Elizabeth Enright.  LOVE THOSE BOOKS SO MUCHLY.
  5. A book your mom loves – The Best Yes by Lysa Terkeurst.  Mom has been reading this one lately and has told me that I need to read it, so on the list it goes!
  6. A book that was originally written in a different language – Les Miserables by Victor Hugo.  I’ve never read this – #coneofshame again – and I’m a little daunted by it, but I want to try it this year.  We’ll see.  *crosses fingers*
  7. A book “everyone” has read except you – The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky.  It feels like everyone and their grandma has read this book… and I’ve had it recommended to me by a friend several times, so… here goes nuthin’.
  8. A book you chose because of the cover – The Storied Life of A.J. Fikery by Gabrielle Zevin.  I’ve been wanting to read this, too, so it’s a good choice.
  9. A book by a favorite author – The Sacrifice by Robert Whitlow.  This is the only Whitlow book (so far) that I haven’t read (and only one of two that I don’t own), and I reeeeeeeally want to read it.  Problem is, it’s not at my library, so I have to fork out some money to buy it.  Oh, well.  C’est la vie.
  10. A book recommended by someone with great taste – Chronicles of Fairacre by Miss Read.  This is a recommendation from the mother of a family we love partially because of their amazing taste in movies and books – after all, they introduced us to Redwall (which I don’t care much for but my siblings LOVE), Pride and Prejudice (and, thus, all period dramas), Hogan’s Heroes, and Monk.  Yep, they’re awesome.
  11. A book you should have read in high school – The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald.  Technically, I did read this one in high school, but I was only twelve and a lot of it went over my head.  I think I’ll be able to understand it more this time.
  12. A book that’s currently on the bestseller list – Looking for Alaska by John Green.  Yes, this is off the Young Adult section of the NY Times Bestseller list, but that’s okay.  (Side note: I’ve read a lot of the books on the NY Times Bestseller list.)  I’m also planning on reading All The Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr because I’ve heard it’s good, so if that counts… cool.

If you want to join, click on this link for more information.  It’s going to be a blast!

P.S: I’ll be updating my Goodreads page with my thoughts on the above books, but do y’all think I should post about them here, too?  I might not be able to do reviews that are the same length as my movie reviews, but I could do blurbs…?  What do you guys think?

18 thoughts on “i’m doing modern mrs. darcy’s 2015 reading challenge – and you should, too!

  1. Pingback: year in review: 2015 | inklings press

  2. Devil at My Heels is not on this list. *sad face*

    Other than that, the list looks good. I love Elizabeth Enright!! though I haven’t read anything by her in years. Which is a shame. I picked up All the Light We Cannot See at barnes and noble the other day and read one page before slamming it shut…..I might try it, but…I really can’t stand that writing style. :-/ We shall see….

    YOU GO WITH THE LIST!!! Let me know how All the Light is, when you’re done, kay?

    • 😦 It’s on my To-Read list, though!!!! 😀 I juuuuust got two WWII books at the library – feels overload ahead.

      The Melendys were, like, my CHILDHOOD. Oh my stars, I read those books over and over and over. The last one was my first online purchase. I was probably eleven. 😛 I don’t know what writing style it is…. Maybe I’ll check it out before I read it. 😛

      Thank you, m’dear! I’ll let you know!

      • Oh okay. You’re good then. 😀

        Yes! I love her books!!! They’re the best! Well…you’ve read the Hunger Games and such a liked those. One of the biggest reasons I couldn’t get into them (aside from…other things) was the writing style. I really don’t like book written in First Person Present Tense, as I call it. So, you might not mind at all. Which is great, because it looks really good.

        • 😀

          Indeedy!

          Ohhhhhhhhhh. *blushes* The novel I’m writing right now is in first person present tense, partially because of THG. 😀 Well, I’ll let you know how it is besiiiides the FPPT. 😉

  3. Great idea! I think I’ll do this too! Or at least try. Bleh. Anyway, it’s a good idea! And i think you should do reviews of the books on here. They don’t have to be long, but just your opinion and that’s what I call a review! 🙂

  4. You should read The King’s Scrolls. It comes out this year. But you would have to read Resistance first. I’ve actually never heard of The Perks of Being a Wallflower. Or if I have, I’ve forgotten. I should read more Elizabeth Enright. But you need to read Gone-Away Lake. We have several copies in the house if you need a lend. 🙂

  5. I want you to read Lysander Turkheurst( sp?) The a Best Yes

    In love, He predestined us to adoption as sons through Jesus Christ to Himself. Ephesians 1:5

    >

have something to say?

