top five favorite books of 2014 (so far…)

My Goodreads page informs me that I’ve read thirty-four books this year.  Of course, I already knew that because I keep track on a separate piece of paper in my room.IMG_9508

I’ve liked quite a few of them, and I’ve even hated some of them.  I’ve loved a few of them, too, and below are my top five favorite books I’ve read this year.  I cried through all of these, which is the mark of a good book – in my eyes, at least.  😉

5. Dear Mr. Knightley by Katherine Reay.  This one’s a modern adaption of Jean Webster’s Daddy-Long-Legs, and told in epistolary form – letters written from the main character, Sam, to her anonymous benefactor, who she has been told to call Mr. Knightley.  The story follows Sam as she goes through grad school, struggles with being a foster child, and makes friends with one of her favorite authors.  I loved it so much that I read it twice this year.

4. The Giver by Lois Lowery.  I can’t believe I haven’t read this ’til now!  WHAT.  I actually got on a Dystopian kick earlier this year after reading Divergent (which I liked, but not enough to make it to my top five list).  This one’s in set in a future utopian society and it’s about a young boy named Jonas who learns that his world isn’t as perfect as he always thought it was.  Can’t wait to see the movie!

3. The Book Thief by Marcus Zusak.  UGH.  Can you say FEELS?  Set before and during World War II in Germany, the story follows young Liesel Meminger as she begins a new life with foster parents, learns to read, and finds new friends.  This book has honestly changed the way I think about books.  It’s incredible.  And the movie isn’t half bad, either.  But warning: Get tissues before you finish it.  You’ll need them.

2. Unbroken: A World War II Story of Survival, Resilience, and Redemption by Laura Hillenbrand.  This one’s a true story that chronicles most of the life of Louie Zamperini from stealing as a child, to track at high school, to the Olympics, to a bombardier plane, to a raft on the Pacific, to a Japanese POW camp.  He eventually finds God – through Billy Graham’s ministry – and learns the power of forgiveness.  The movie is coming out on Christmas Day – be sure to check it out!

1. The Hunger Games Trilogy by Suzanne Collins.  (Oh so controversial…)  Yes, I read these – in less than a week – and yes, they count as one because it’s a trilogy.  Hush.  Why are these three books my top favorite of this year?  Because the story is amazing, the characters are inspiring and honestly some of the best I’ve read this year, and the books themselves are so deep I feel like I could read them over and over and over and not get bored of them!  I’m planning on doing an entire post about them, so I’ll end here with slightly fangirling.  Oh my STARS, they were amazing!

So!  Have you read any of these?  Think I’m crazy for liking The Hunger Games?

4 thoughts on “top five favorite books of 2014 (so far…)

  1. I finished The Book Thief about two weeks ago and I wanted to write a review of it for my own blog, but I can’t just yet–I think I’m still in shock. It was a fantastic book and I enjoyed it immensely, but it was so hard to read at some parts.

have something to say?

