daniella: nano week two recap

9dd662e003c0c16c67a68cb74e28d7d0 Wow, is it time for the week TWO recap already???

I guess it is.

This week went… okay.  I had a few things happen this week that hindered my writing, so I ended up getting caught up, then fell behind again.  Right now, I’m at *checks* 16,605 words (WOOT!), but I’m supposed to be at almost 20k by the end of the day (drat).

I’ve hit the initial bump, too – meaning I need to start brainstorming again.  This is where I always slow down in my writing.  I know the beginning, and then I figure out the ending, but the middle… is just a huge blur.  That’s where my writing quality starts failing, too – heh, heh…  Time to make some bodies drop from the ceiling, I guess!!!

I’ve mainly been listening to fanvids (a lot of THG and Boy Meets World – don’t judge!) and Night Visions by Imagine Dragons, which is conflicted and has a variety of moods, which reminds me of what Daniella is going through.  (‘I’m bleeding out!’)1a75741e1ca0c3479056d1648cb63ac9

Anywho.  Titles!  I’ve been brainstorming about a title a lot – because, as I’ve learned in the past, if I don’t come up with one in the beginning of the writing process, I’ll hate myself.  I have the possibilities narrowed down to about five, and I have one that I’m really liking.  I should have it by next week, so stay tuned for that!

Would you like an excerpt?  Of course you would.  (Kinda long, so bear with me.  It flows a little weird right now, so I can’t really do short excerpts.  Sowwy.)

I hang up and toss my phone on my bed. As I walk into the bathroom, my reflection in the full-length mirror catches my eye. I stop and stare at myself. ‘I look terrible.’ My eyes are red-rimmed and my face is splotchy and hot. I look like I haven’t slept in years.

A memory flashes through my mind’s eye. A regular school day, almost a month ago. David had been out of town all weekend and I had been sick all weekend. We hadn’t seen each other in five days. As I got ready for school that morning, I put on extra makeup in an attempt to cover up my sunken cheeks from not eating all weekend.

Flash forward to an hour later. I took a book out of my locker and checked my appearance in the mirror on the inside of the locker door. Suddenly, I felt someone wrap their arms around my shoulders and put their chin on my shoulder. David’s face smiled at me in my mirror.

“David!” I exclaimed in surprise.

“How are you, peach?”

I grinned back at him. “Doing good, plum.”

He winked, then spun me around and ran his thumb across my cheek.

“I missed you,” I admitted, blushing a little.

“I missed you, too,” he said, a little breathlessly. He looked a little surprised.

I frowned a little. “What?” I asked, thinking he was shocked that I looked so terrible.

“You’re even more beautiful than I remember.”

I stare at myself in the mirror, rushed back to the present day because I can’t stand to live in the memory any more. My eyes well with tears as I wonder, ‘What would he think of me now? What would he say to me, if it hadn’t been him?’ I close my eyes again, reaching out to feel for his embrace, smell his cologne, anything.

In a moment, I know what he’d say. He’d take my hand, intertwining his fingers with mine, and kiss me on my forehead. “You’ll be fine,” he would say, giving me a glimpse of that dazzling smile of his. “You’ll get through this because you’re strong and can get through anything. That’s what I love about you.”

I open my eyes. ‘I can do this. I have to. I have to be able to do this for David.’ I clench my teeth and turn from the mirror, determined to start anew and not dwell on the past. ‘It’s over,’ I tell myself, locking the bathroom door behind me. ‘Time to move on.’

I turn around. My back hits the bathroom door and I slide down it, all the way to the floor. And start sobbing. Again.

– Daniella

So.  What do you think?

Also, try to guess how feelsy I’ve been in the past two weeks, judging from that excerpt alone. Yep.  It’s BAD.  😀

7 thoughts on “daniella: nano week two recap

  1. Pingback: an introduction: say hello to my new novel | inklings press

  2. AAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!! *tries not to cry* That’s great. I WANT MORE. XD (I am reeeeally excited about this story, by the way…..)

    • Awww….. *blushes* SO glad you liked it. It’s terribly sad, isn’t it??? I can’t believe I wrote it. 😀 You’ll probably see more on our WRITING DAY. 😉 *does a jig* (I am, too!! I just hope I do it justice.)

have something to say?

