single and proud of it!

f5ec691bce5b541523c85b5c3866f469I’ve been pretty blunt about my status of being single today.  It’s Single Awareness Day (S.A.D.), but I don’t mind.  I’m looking forward to the day – in the far, distant future – when I’ll be in a relationship, but, right now, it’s not for me.

This isn’t to say that I’m not completely content with being single.  I’ll be completely honest with you all in saying that there are days (especially around holidays like Valentine’s Day) when I spend an unmentionable amount of time thinking about how much I wish I could be in a relationship.  Honestly, sometimes I’m not content at all and do wish I could be in a relationship.  Once again, honestly, I have problems being content sometimes.

But I know for a fact that if I were a normal teenage girl in college, in her eighty-fifth relationship sincef863b6a27271e68598af76dd1f149042 little Jimmy from second grade, I would still have problems – just a different set of problems.  And I also know for a fact that I would be a lot more insecure and have a lot less confidence than I do today.

The main reason for this is because, as I realized the other day as I was thinking about what to post today…  I’ve never had my heart broken.  Who knows how many times the average teenage girl has been dumped (or been the dump-ee) by the time she’s reached her first year in college?

But not me.

And that’s why I’m glad I’m single this Valentine’s Day.

(P.S. Here’s a great list of What To Do if You’re Single on Valentine’s Day, written by Rachel Coker, the author of Interrupted: Life Beyond Words and Chasing Jupiter.  I’ll probably be doing a few of these today!)

2 thoughts on “single and proud of it!

  1. Pingback: love week | fictional guys i’d totally marry. | inklings press

  2. Pingback: twelve couples i’ll always be in love with. | inklings press

have something to say?

