my life, currently…

is full of randomness.

I’m studying for a Western Civilization CLEP test (3k years of history, y’all… I feel faint…), which has been taking up most of my time lately.

I’m also finishing up Becoming Nikki, which is soooo exciting.  As most of y’all probably know, I wanted to have it done about three months ago so that I could do some publicity along with the Olympics (tomorrow!!), but that didn’t happen.  So I shall have to get it out as fast as possible and leave the rest up to God.  Then I can get on to Sneakers and another very top secret novel that I’m reeeally excited about.  (Is that sneaky or what, Miss Jane?!)

Speaking of the Olympics….  Can’t wait to see THESE people again!!  (And also Maia & Alex Shibutani, who are my new other favorites because they’re brother and sister… just like another ice dancing couple I know of….  *wink*)

 

I’ve also been getting back into Boy Meets World, the TV show I discovered during NaNo and didn’t want to tell you guys about because then you’ll get addicted.  Never fear, it’s not on YouTube anymore.  (“Weep, weep – all weep….”)  I did buy the first two seasons around Thanksgiving, though, and have been slowly going through them by myself, then with my siblings.  (My younger sister, who most of you know as Beatrice, is the vice president of the BMW Fan Club now.  I take full responsibility.)  It’s suuuuuch a good show.  Why, you ask?  Well, I’ll tell ya.  As I told someone the other day, Boy Meets World is awesome because “it’s so different from modern TV shows. The main character has a serious moral dilemma, goes to his parents, mentors, etc for help and advice, and figures it out by the end of the episode. It’s kinda like The Cosby Show, except better.”  And Girl Meets World is starting up soon, which will only deepen my love for this show.

And speaking of TV shows I love, there’s a movie coming out that I’m going to love, too.  It’s called God’s Not Dead and I know I’ve already talked about it, but I’m going to talk about it again.  My dad got two free tickets to a screening of it nearby because he’s a pastor (and he took my mom – isn’t that AWFUL?!).  He said it was “great,” which is awesome because he walks out of basically every movie we watch saying, “It was cute.”  He also came home with a bag full of promotional stuff and gave me a wristband and poster for the movie – yay!!  Sooooo excited!  I can’t wait to see it.  You guys need to see it, too.  It’s going to be phenomenal.

Also, I’ve been eating a lot of chocolate lately.  Mostly to fuel my studying, and mostly to get rid of my Christmas candy.  (What is up with that?!  Why do people give us SO much candy around Christmas that it all goes bad before I can eat it all?!  Good gracious.)

My family went to a friend’s house to watch the Super Bowl on Sunday because we don’t have cable.  *yawn*  That was the most boring, most depressing Super Bowl EVAH.  Honestly.  The next one needs to be better.

Oh, and Jessica Greyson, the author of Annabeth’s War, is hosting a giveaway on her blog!  Go check it out – she’s giving away fifteen books.  That’s something to get excited about!!

Well, Western Civ is calling my name.  (That, and Josh Groban, who is serenading me as I study.)

6 thoughts on “my life, currently…

  1. Top secret novel? How delicious! I do hope it doesn’t stay top secret for long! 😉 But I am one to talk…. I have about half a dozen of those of my own.

    Davis and White are amazing! Did you see their My Fair Lady sequence? The choreography in that one was extremely well done!

    • I know…. 🙂 Well, we’ll see about that. I’m technically not allowed to write it ’til March, but I’ve had the plot brewing in my mind, soooo… We’ll see. HA! Same here. 🙂

      I KNOW!!!! Is that from this year? I’ve been trying not to watch their program for this year – waiting for the Olympics. 🙂

      • I *think* the MFL one is from this year… possibly last year. Not sure. But it’s fun to see favorite musical songs performed on the ice. I’ve heard a couple of skaters have used Les Mis songs for their music, but I have yet to find the videos online.

        • Yes! Saw that one when they did it in Sochi. Soooo goooood…. 🙂 I love that, too! And I’ve seen a few Les Mis ones (and D&W did a Phantom one – so amazing!), but none in English.

  2. Ehehehe…I’m pretty excited for the Olympics! I have a special interest in the ice dancing this year. 😉 (And heeee…quite sneaky indeed, Skye. March is coming up faster than I expected! =))
    *sigh* I STILL have not managed to watch even one episode of BMW, though I want to–and God’s Not Dead is sounding more and more amazing.
    Ehehe…I got lots of maple candy, but very little chocolate. Which is too bad, because I do love chocolate. ;P
    I knowwwwwww…the Super Bowl was rather boring. But the Hiddles-ful ad made up for it. 😀
    Good luck with your test!! (Oh, and btw, speaking of Josh Groban…we watched Chess a week ago or so. Have you seen it? I wouldn’t really have been interested, but it was the tenth anniversary production, and the tenth anniversary production cast includes Kerry Ellis AND Idina Menzel AND Josh Groban. So yeah…I was pretty hyped. 😉 It was good; the plot was complicated and there were a few swear words and there wasn’t really a clear “good guy,” but I enjoyed it and some of the music was amazing. You’ve probably heard at least one of the songs from Chess, even if you didn’t know it was from Chess…Colm Wilkinson has sung several Chess songs on various albums, for example. 😉 Um…wow, this parenthesis-enclosed thing got longer than the original comment…time to sign off now. =))

    • YAY!!! Goody. 🙂 (Heehee…. *rubs hands like a madwoman* I know, right? Seriously – where is February going?!)

      Whaaaa?! Well, that’s okay. It’s not online anymore (for free, that is), so I forgive you. 🙂 Alsos, I KNOW. I can’t wait. It’s gonna be awesome.

      Aww, bummer. Maybe you can set up a candy store at the end of your driveway and sell your maple candy and buy some chocolate!!

      Oh, yes – GOOD GRACIOUS, YES. And the CA2 preview. *SIGH* Thanks, deary!

      OOH, CHESS!! I’ve been wanting to see that for a while. I’ve seen a few clips, but not the whole thing. And, yeah, that’s what got me interested in the first place! (Ya know, Josh really oughta be in a musical on Broadway. I’d go see him.) Hummm…. Well, I’ll have to check it out, then! Good thing I’m on a week-long break starting now!!!

      -moi-

have something to say?

