just lately.

Hey, y’all.

I’ve had a pretty crazy life lately and I think finally – finally – it’s about to slow down.  Well, back to normal, at least.  I’m starting school again tomorrow, so that should add some rhythm into my day.

 8e10fa2dc78ac08750513df1214290d1– Reading

Lately, I’ve been reading… nothing.  😦  Horrible, I know.  I have two books – count ’em, two – waiting for me at the library, but I can’t get over there to get them.  *sniff*  I have a book I’ve been borrowing from a friend for a year and a half (#coneofshame), but I haven’t been in the mood to read it lately.  I think I’m going to read a dorky romance novel that’s downstairs in our library.  I’ve been wanting to re-read it for a while and have decided that now is a good time.  It’ll be my first completed book of 2014 – and I’m usually on book five by now, so I’d better get started.  OOH!  I have been reading Coriolanus, though… in preparation for (hopefully) going to see it soon.  Yay!

Listening –

I got Encore by Hunter Hayes for Christmas and I’ve been listening to it basically nonstop.  No, I don’t like country, but I love this guy’s songs, so….  And they’re not technically “country,” per se.  But whatevs.  My favorite songs are “I Want Crazy,” “Wanted,” “Cry With You,” “A Thing About You,” and “Faith to Fall Back On.”  Oh…  And I’ve also been listening to some One Direction.  Not a fan yet, but… I like some of their stuff.  (Feel free to comment….)

freedomWriting

Sneakers and Hot Fudge Sundaes.  And it’s coming along splendidly.  I was actually going to blog about something that happened to me last week, but found out that I really couldn’t unless I gave up a Major Plot Point, so I couldn’t.  😦  Let’s just say that I got this really great inspiration and wanted to sit down and cry because It. Was So. Perfect.  🙂

– Watching –

I’ve actually been watching a lot of PG-rated movies lately because I’ve been in charge of my younger siblings so much that the only time I can really watch a PG-13 movie is when the little ones are down for naps.  Thing is, our ClearPlay is downstairs and I don’t feel comfortable having little ones sleeping upstairs and me and my older younger siblings with me downstairs.  😦  So I’ve been watching National Treasure (1 and 2), Princess Diaries (my brother and I had a marathon the other day and we watched the 2nd one for the first time – so funny!), and old Disney classics.  (Oh, and we got to watch Captain America the other night.  SIGH.  I could watch that movie a million times in a row and never get tired.  Steve Rogers is an amazing man.)

9dfdd83f1dc19faa814b3ed237675ab8Thinking –

Pretty deep thoughts.  I was praying for a certain family a lot while their dad was in the hospital, but then he passed away, so I’ve just been thinking lately.  At the funeral, a friend walked up to me in tears.  As I hugged her, she asked me why God would allow something like that to happen.  I gave her the answer I had come up with when I first heard of his passing – it just proves that God’s ways are higher than mine.  I don’t need to know what He’s got planned all the time, and I need to be okay with that.  Also, there are just other random things going on in my family and church family that have got me thinking.  I like thinking, but I don’t like thinking for a while and not being able to come up with an answer.  But, hey.  Sometimes that happens.

Wellsies.  I’m making cookies and need to put more in the oven.  Then, I’ll probably try to go find that dorky romance and curl up in a corner somewhere.

2 thoughts on “just lately.

  1. Hello, Eowyn,
    I have been enjoying looking through your blog recently, especially your short story “The Box” and everything pertaining to LotR!
    Just a thought regarding the friend you mentioned… the reason death hurts so much is that it is unnatural. People were created for life and fellowship, and when there is a break in either, it hurts. A lot. Still, there is the comforting and joyful knowledge that in heaven, life and fellowship will both be restored in the very presence of God!
    Have a lovely day!
    ~Zoe

    • Aww, thanks so much! I always enjoy it when random people comment on my blog. 🙂

      You are exactly right. Thank you so much for that encouragement! 🙂

      -moi-

have something to say?

